We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco tour on the edge of suburbia”
Review of Orange Jeep Tours

Orange Jeep Tours
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Ave Maria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eco-adventures in open-air Jeeps bringing you up close to the wildlife and terrain of Southwest Florida. Every day is a new adventure.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Eco tour on the edge of suburbia”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

While I appreciate hard working honest endevor - this tour in tomato farmland on the edge of a busy highly developed university complex is a little bit like going to a pretend theme park without the animals. We travelled 2 hours - saw little to nothing of wildlife other than heard stories of what others saw. The guide was pleasant but the trip was a bust including the fact that its pretty uncomfortable for 5 adults never mind the six they claim to be able to transport. They should advise clients that travel for an hour each way to get to them that the possibilities of viewing anything worthwhile is almost nil. But there again we did finally see one alligator inside an artificial pond in the middle of well manicured college grounds. Surely this cannot be what they term "eco tour"?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Public Relations Manager at Orange Jeep Tours, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
RaiDoc,
Thank you for taking the time to review Orange Jeep Tours. You can see from our many positive reviews and user submitted photos, the majority of guests enjoy their Eco-adventure and happily share their experience. Unfortunately, we cannot control Mother Nature and the amount or type of animals seen on each tour. We also believe this is what makes our tour authentic. We take pride in offering a great value excursion that provides a glimpse into our beautiful, unspoiled terrain.

Our friendly customer service staff is always happy to answer travel questions when visitors book a tour. I would invite you to visit us again as every day is a different experience.

Thank you
Andrea M
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of a kind tour with an excellent guide”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Family of 4(2 adults/2 children aged 10/14), visited July 11 @ 2pm, booked via Groupon ($60-$70?)We drove up from Marco Island about 1hr away, Google map it and follow the directions to get there - there are some road signs on the way indicating directions to AVE MARIA. Tour lasted aprox.90minutes

Orange Jeep tour was fun and educational. We saw birds, baby alligators, turtles & vegatation Gavin was entertaining, very knowledgeable about the environment and its history and grabs your camera to snap souvenir pictures of you every chance he gets! We would have liked to see more wildlife but understand that this is not a zoo and Gavin did his very best to show us what & as much as he could. Highly recommend this inexpensive ride, I would recommend maybe going early a.m. to beat and POSSIBLY see more wildlife.

Depending on the time of year you plan on visiting do wear long pants and bring bug spray, there were lots of mosquitos around(when stopped) but NOT ONE BITE on us. Also take a baseball cap, water, and suntan lotion. In town there are a few places for lunch, ice cream shop and make sure to check out the magnificent church.

P.S. - Don't forget to tip your tour guide :)

Johnny & Family from Montreal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jvalente_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Public Relations Manager at Orange Jeep Tours, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
JValente-CA,
Thank you for taking the time to review your Orange Jeep Tour. We are thrilled that you saw a variety of wildlife and enjoyed having Gavin as your guide. And thanks for the great tips to future adventurers- bring sunscreen and hat for our Florida sunshine and bug spray is always a good idea in the summer.

Our location in the Town Center does make it convenient to grab lunch, ice cream, and a cold beverage before or after a tour. We hope to welcome you and your family again.

Thank you,
Andrea M
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A perfect slice of wilderness”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A coworker and I had an opportunity to jump onto the Orange Jeep for a special trip through the wildlife preserve of Ave Maria, Florida. My coworker traveled to Florida from Oregon and had never seen an alligator in the wild. He did not leave disappointed. During our tour we spotted not only alligators but a wide variety of birds, deer, and turtles. On our way back to work we even spotted two Florida Panthers making their way back into the Preserve. Gavin, our tour guide, was amazing. He was very knowledgable on the flora and fauna in the preserve. I came away with a deeper appreciation of the environment and a strong desire to do whatever I can to sustain it. I will absolutely go on this tour again and will bring my family and friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysawayFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun times and good value”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This family of four, with 2 children (5 and 8), had a good time. The tour lasted about an hour, we saw lots of birds (hawks, blue heron, great egret, moorhen, swallow-tail kites), 5 gators ranging from small (2 feet) to large (8 feet). Also saw a snake (black racer) and lots of bear claw markings on trees. Our tour was at 10:30. According to the guide, dawn and dusk tours are more likely to see bears and deer but day tours are more likely to see gators. The guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and funny. He made for a good time for the trip. His name was Gavin. Also seeing the town of Ave Maria was pretty neat. We were there early and got to watch a short video describing how the town came to be. Overall, it was a fun trip, especially for the cost.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My 12 year old daughter and I went this morning at 6:30am.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a great experience! I have never been to Ava Maria and it was wonderful! OUr tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and spotted all the animals so fast! Deer, alligator, blue heron, turtles and a TON of wildlife! GREAT EDUCATION! Loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kelinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Jeep Tours also viewed

 

Been to Orange Jeep Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing