We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arches Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Brotton B&B and Inns
sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was our second visit and although it was not as good as our first, we had to have our room changed they did so without any problems. There was less choice at breakfast. Jean and the staff are very helpful and we would probably go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed for 1 night as we were attending a function at the golf club whose attached hotel was full We paid an extra tenner for the 4 poster room which housed a super-king sized bed- very comfy. The room also had a bathroom with a corner bath/shower and two windows with views over the golf course. The room was very chilly when we arrived but we switched the electric heater on and it had warmed up when we returned from our walk along the cliff path. There's a deserted beach within about half an hours walk but its down some steep steps so its not for the infirm (or faint-hearted)! We had the continental breakfast which consisted of the usual suspects-cereal, muesli, fruit- plus warm croissants and toasted crumpets as well as an assortment of pre-wrapped cheeses and also home-made jam which was OK. You could pay an extra £5 for a full cooked english. The welcome was very friendly and if you want somewhere to stay whilst visiting the beautiful North Yorks coast then you could do worse than this place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brotton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our wedding in August 2011 at The Arches, Brotton. The Birkbeck family, namely Chris, Linda and the marvellous Jean and staff created and hosted the most wonderful wedding reception for us. They allowed us to decorate the wedding reception room with our own decorations, creating a wonderful setting but the rest was down to them. The atmosphere was wonderful, the setting, simply beautiful and the food provided to our guests was simply amazing. I have high standards and never could I have imagined such a wonderful, fabulous array of food. Simply excellent. All the guests commented on the fact this was the best celebration buffet they had ever tasted. Jean's salad dressing is still being talked about and the care and love she and her staff put into the creation of the food cannot be put into words. Husband and wife, Chris and Linda, could not have been more friendly, supporting and accommodating. Nothing was too much for them. Throughout the evening they ensured everything was just as we wanted it. All our guests found their accommodation superb and their breakfasts just beautiful. Your wedding should be one of the best days of your life and, largely thanks to this family, that was certainly the case for us. I cannot recommend The Arches enough, for simple bed and breakfast or for a celebration. Myself, my husband and my family have very fond memories of a wonderful day, largely due to the exceptional efforts of this lovely family. We shall never forget what they did for us and for such a very, very reasonable price. Exceptional. Claire and Richard Bagley.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have never felt inclined to write a review on any of the many UK and overseas establishments we have stayed in, but I just wanted to feedback what an excellent place this is.

Mrs Birkbeck couldn't have been more welcoming, the 2 rooms we had (numbers 2 and 6) were furnished to a high standard and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was excellent, both continental and English.

We would highly recommend The Arches, it's great value.

P.S The Ship Inn @ Saltburn by the Sea serves good food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

You won't stubble across this little gem by mistake! Hidden away behind a golf course is this charming, family run oasis.

The welcome is warm and genuine, the accommodation is well presented, we had the standard double room, and there are other options available.

Breakfast had a choice of Continental (included) or Cooked for an extra £5 pp. The selection of items available for the Continental was more than adequate and a nice touch to have the choice of Fresh Ground Coffee in Cafetiere.

There was also a fridge in the room, but we could not find the key? Having arrived late, we did not bother asking what was inside.

The Coffee & Tea making facilities in the room was well stocked, the only downside would be the location of the plug to plug the kettle in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Very friendly, clean, comfortable welcoming hotel.
The owners family run it themselves and the staff are very helpful.
Only drawback is that you need a car, it is quite some distance into the village, through the golf course.
The North Yorkshire Moors and Seaside are beautiful and worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Delightful hotel set in the depths of golfing country.
Excellent service and really terrific friendly staff.
Very quiet and peaceful even during the day
Thoroughly recommend to anyone who likes the 'quiet' life and would definately stay there again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaptinJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brotton
2.1 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,448 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
508 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches Country House

Property: The Arches Country House
Address: Low Farm | Saltburn, North Yorkshire, Brotton TS12 2QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Brotton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brotton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arches Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches Country House is an independent, family owned and run accommodation located not far from Saltburn in North Yorkshire. We pride ourselves on our relaxed and informal atmosphere. We attract a wide variety of guests, from businessmen looking for a comfortable stay, without the noise and impersonality of a large hotel chain, to ramblers exploring the Heritage Coast Trail and Cleveland Way Walks that passes our door. Victorian Seaside village of Saltburn is 3 miles away with the oldest remaining water-balance cliff lift in Britain and Pier. We are just 6 miles from Redcar Race Course, and 15 miles from Whitby and Heartbeat Country, some of the most spectacular views of the North Yorkshire coast line. The Arches is owned and run by the Birkbeck family. The main building was originally a working farm dating back to 1876. It was sympathetically converted into guest accommodation in 1998, retaining many original features including the line of old stage coach archways that give us our name. We are located just half a mile outside of Brotton, Adjacent to a golf club. Indeed many of our guests take the time to enjoy a game while staying with us. We have eleven twin, family and double rooms, all en-suite and with the option of a four poster bed. In 2006 we were awarded a four star rating by the English Tourist Board and a five star rating for health and hygiene. All our rooms are en-suite with tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV and wireless internet. Our prices include a continental breakfast, or a full English breakfast can be ordered the evening before at a cost of £5.00 per head. Dogs are welcome in certain ground floor rooms and are charged at £10 per dog, per night. ANY DOGS MUST BE BOOKED IN ADVANCE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Arches Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing