We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing Hotel to Chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellapais Monastery Village
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing Hotel to Chill out”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We needed a break to recharge our batteries and this place hit the spot. OK, I would not consider it an international 4 star rating but after a while you can forgive any little annoyances and enjoy your stay.
As other reviews say the staff are fantastic and seem to be in a good mood all the time, not just with the guests but laughing and joking with each other.
We were there for 14 nights HB the food was good the staff very attentive on the couple of occasions we could not finish out meal , the portions are rather large, the head waiter was there offering to cook you anything you would like in case there was something you did not like about the food.
The pool was a nice place to be, loads of sun-beds in sun or shade and if you fancy some exercise a walk up to the monastery is a must and will take about 30 mins, the first 15mins being uphill.
For night life you could go into Kyrenia which was just over 4 ponds in a taxis or you could just sit back and enjoy the view sipping a cocktail at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    155
    66
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
263
46
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GroomsportNorthernIreland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Definetly hire a car,it can be a bit of a climb in places.July wrong time for us to go, as temperature soars into the 40's. Forget the trip to see the wild Donkeys watse of time as it is a very long drive. Anyway Kyrenia harbour is fantastic just to watch the world go by with plenty of places to eat, shop around though as you can bargain the owners down on price as restaraunts are plentiful.
Staff in hotel first class helpful and friendly will be back again to the village loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This is a fantastic hotel and well worth the visit unless.... your idea of heaven is an Aussie Backpackers 24/7 fosters fest, in which case please leave this great hotel alone and ruin your liver elsewheres..!

The morning starts with a saunter down to breakfast in the covered dining room by the pool, breakfast [0730-1000] is served at your table and freshly cooked so no three hour old warm congealed fatty bacon here ;-) The two pools glint in the sun as you dine and are warm, clean and great for swimming or just lazing around - never a shortage of sun beds with one side reasonable shaded and the other a temple of worship to the great skin gods - sunburn and cancer.

Didn't try lunch but did meet a few starving people between 1700 and Dinner starting at 1930 [until 2230]. You dine in the open air restaurant immediately above the pool area under the stars, very pleasant with distant views down to the beach [4kms] and Kyrenia Ports and Castle.

You will almost certainly need a car if you get like me stir-crazy staying in the same place and I'd suggest smuggling in some fruit and drinks fort your room [Refrigerator provided]. Word of warning like most Cypriot hotels tea and coffee making facilities does NOT equal Tea and coffee supplied - so either pack a few sachets of coffee, sugar milk etc and then grab the hotel minibus [3 times a day except Sunday] into town and do some shopping.

Not sure the hotel does all those weird 4* services like laundry but I've yet to meet anyone who has ever used them...! Wifi works but only close to reception and is relatively slow [c0.5mb]. There is no communal TV lounge and the room TVs pick up a selection of local stations plus BBC world Service - so if you need entertaining its either a taxi into Kyrenia [aka Girne] or rent a DVD for your laptop.

We went to see Carmina Burana at the Amphitheatre in Kyrenia - absolutely stunning location and acoustics - the performance wasn't bad either :-)

The trip from Ercan Airport is a relatively simple scenic 40 minutes through the Five Fingers Mountain Range. If travelling on Cypriot Turkish Airways [6 hours all in from Heathrow] be aware that there is no in-flight movie [think Ryanair but where luggage is free and meals are edible] - so pack a good book. On the way back there were long queues for the loos caused by them being press-ganged by one traveller into a mini-mosques [it was/is Ramadan] so this might be exceptional.

All in all; great place to stay, you will need to rent a car if you want to explore independently and pack a few supplies for your first day. Would probably stay again if in Northern Cyprus. Finally, if you do go back say hello to Jeremy for us [the hotel cat].

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fujimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed at Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel for 10 days this August. After a long haul into Ercan and some lost baggage later, arrived at hotel by Taxi. We were greeted by a smiling receptionist and escorted to our rooms. The room was spacious even with the bed setee laid out and we unpacked for our stay. The next morning we were greeted by intense heat and made our way to breakfast. I have never seen such a choice and could have eaten a different breakfast every day of my stay. Lunches were also good and plenty but the icing on the cake was dinner, we upgraded to half board for 13 .00 a head and had a different a la carte for every night we chose to eat there. The steaks were fillet and portions were more than enough and were extremely delicious. The waiters were superb, very attentive and couldn't do enough for you ( as were all the staff ) We ate out a few nights and I would reccommend Kebele in Bellapais if only for the views and a very upmarket Patina with free taxi pick up ( the setting for this restaurant out of this world ) I reccommend a car to take you to some of the remotest beaches and also a visit to Kyrenia which you can do free from the hotel . Overall a very peaceful relaxing holiday with no rowdy children and an atmosphere that is positively sublime.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littledevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a week in July as part of a large group.

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and I was pleased to be greeted by sandwiches and drinks which the hotel had put on for us.

I stayed in a room near the pool and I loved the fact that it was on two floors and the balcony bedroom, though I was slightly worried that I might fall out of bed and over the balcony:-)

I didn't have any problems climbing the steps, nor did I feel that there were that many, but I did stay near to the pool and only went down one set of steps to reach it.

The pool area was very clean, with a pool bar which stocks everything you might want to drink, I didn't swim in the indoor pool, but some of the group did and enjoyed the experience.

The restaurant offered a large variety of food and with good service, there was nothing to complain about. I recommend visiting the restaturant on Friday evening for the live music and belly dancer, it certainly will keep you entertained.

The bar in the Reception area stays open as long as the last guest is there and again stocks all drinks you could want. I particularly liked and used the free wireless internet connection which is available in the Reception area.

I did walk into Kyrenia and I think it was a bit of a crazy thing to do as it took over an hour and is 4.5 miles, most of it is unshaded so we were shattered when we reached the harbour. I also walked to the monastery, recommend visiting it, but walking at night rather than during the day. However, please be aware it is mostly uphill, so at times a difficult walk.

I would recommend visiting this hotel for a holiday and will visit it again at some point.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reading_Traveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

A small hotel, big on staff friendliness. Good snack food available all day. Evening meals in their rooftop open air restaurant - very good and prices on par with other restaurant, (Pepper Steak 30 TL £13.10 / G&T 10 TL £4.37)unless you want a more humble supper of kebabs and these are readily on offer in Kyrenia.
Some holiday makers felt it was a little out of the way and quiet, but that is exactly what we had gone for. There are two evenings of entertainment during the week, other than that you seek your own and there is plenty on offer in the surrounding area. Or you can sit and be waited on in their bar/terrace area.
No public transport in this area. Shuttle 3 times a day or Car Hire/Taxis.
Bellapais Village a steep 40 minute walk up and downhill 20mins.
A lovely village with good restaurants, be sure to visit at the beginning of your holiday as most people like to revisit. The restaurants in the village offer a taxi to come and collect and drop back at no extra charge. Bella Moon/Kybella to name a couple, the latter being in the grounds of the Abbey with beautiful views over Kyrenia and the Turkish Mainland.
Beaches are not great in this part, although some hotels offer a sunbathing decking area with access to the sea.
The harbour is charming and full of bars and restaurants, but you are hassled with deals and the food is 'touristy' and you do need to be careful. A fishbone in the salad being an example of one bad experience. There are better ones to be found away from the harbour The Grand being one and what I class as a 'proper' restaurant with fresh ingredients and professional staff. Their patisseries are homemade and excellent. Frequented by Turkish Cypriots is always a positive sign, but some may feel 'too modern' if they were seeking something authentic. I understand the Kebab House opposite the Dome Hotel to be very good.
Northern Cyprus can be extremely hot, dusty and their street and beach cleanliness not as good as it could be, but it is a step back in time and retains a charm that so many European resorts have lost due to becoming too commercialised with their neon lights, disco/bars etc and inevitable troubled drinking zones.
It is a place steeped in history, with plenty for the 'culture vulture' to enjoy....me I was too relaxed....maybe next time.
My holiday motto ...don't expect too much and then you won't be disappointed and most times you will probably be pleasantly surprised...holidays are an adventure....enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RelaXfactorMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We have been to BMV several times. All staff are hand picked and do their very best for you. If you have any problems with the room they are dealt with promptly that day. Staff go the "extra mile" to make your holiday memorable. Food there is always excellent but the service was slower than usual in the evenings this year due to a higher number of guests. My only concern was the pool area. There are some broken slabs with weeds growing between slabs and, in my opinion, the small pool and surrounding areas could be kept a bit cleaner. I noticed dead insects floating in the small pool most days and never saw anyone cleaning it. There are no shops anywhere near this hotel,although there is a supermarket within walking distance [downhill] we needed to get a taxi back. Some nice restaurants in Bellapais, they will pick you up from your hotel and bring you back free of charge. We will definitely be returning to BMV.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EssexSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellapais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
#1 of 4 in Bellapais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 31 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
5.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
5.3 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Property: Bellapais Monastery Village
Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais 9944, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent sea and forest view near the Bellapais monastery Bellapais Monastery Village is a luxury hotel which is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range. It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside. Kyrenia itself is approximately 3 km. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing