We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP MARKS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellapais Monastery Village
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“TOP MARKS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had a hotel room not a villa and i have to say it was spot on all round. The room was a good size with every thing that we needed for a comfortable stay. The bathroom with a shower was very clean and well supplied with toiletries and nice white towels. There was tea/coffee making facilities and a well stocked fridge. The beds were comfortable with good quality bedding. There was a large balcony that would be nice if it wasn't raining!! Slippers were provided. We had the evening meal, you chose off a menu. There was a very good slection for all three courses and every thing was done to perfection. The staff were very nice and the dining room was spotless. In the morning we had breakfast, again we were very happy with every thing. All the staff were nice, but i have to mention Mustava the maintance man who went out of his way to make sure every thing was ok for us.We would not hesitate to use this hotel again, it's one of the best that we have stayed in while in the north of Cyprus.

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel room rather than a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    155
    60
    12
    9
See reviews for
32
258
46
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in February as we were after a relaxing week away, the Bellapais Monastery Village did not disappoint. The room and view were wonderful (no bath but not a problem for us).

We wanted somewhere where the food would be good and BMV did not disappoint. The soups were wonderful and garlic mussels for starter really impressed. Also of note were the wonderful meat dishes including pepper steak which was full of flavour and deliciously tender. Mousaka was good as were the large selection of pasta dishes.

Drinks in the bar and restaurant were reasonable 6TL (about £2.20) for a beer and 30TL for a nice bottle of wine in the restaurant and nicely served. I don’t think we poured our own wine in the restaurant once! The service was wonderful, polite and informative. The cocktails in the bar were lovingly made by Mhemet (I hope that’s his name!), at 10TL (£3.70) were really good value. I would recommend the Pina Colada.

The room was nice and well equipped, ok there aren’t many TV channels but we spent most of our time in the bar! The toothpaste and toothbrush came in particularly handy as Turkish airlines didn’t put our bags on the connecting flight from Istanbul but even this was sorted out quickly and professionally by Green Island and we got them the next day.

There are some nice walks from the hotel, Bellapais Monastery is about 20 min walk (bearing in mind this was Feb) where you can have a nice drink or explore the Abbey. We didn’t feel the need to eat there though as the food in the hotel was so good. Kyrenia is about a 40 min walk down hill but the hotel runs a bus 3 times a day.

The indoor pool was freezing when we arrived but they soon switched it on and it warmed up over the course of the week. The sauna and steam room were also nice and everything was spotlessly clean.

We did a trip to Salamis (roman ruins) and Famagusta which was nice and just about right for a day trip, lunch was included for £35 each.

There is a night club next door and we didn’t experience any issues until our last night (Friday) and there were people outside shouting and making noise until 4am. We are told this is only in the winter so I would suggest a villa room at this time and not the main hotel as the hotel rooms look straight out to where the nightclub kicks out. The villas are further up the hill and so wouldn’t be as disturbed I would imagine. Although we did hear complaints they were quite cold.

All in all we had a really relaxing trip and the food and the staff really make this place. Please don’t let the nightclub put you off, I don’t know what the hotel could do about this and we were only disturbed one night. They could consider chaining off their car parking area which is where a lot of he clubbers seemed to park their cars to standby them chatting.

Northern Cyprus is a unique gem and the people are lovely, I would tell anyone considering it to book right away. BMV also lived up to our expectations and we had a really nice time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CPBisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is situated next to the local football stadium so didn't see the hotel sign post because it was obscured from view by lots of football supporters. When we eventually found it it was a nice set up. Room was comfy and plenty of bathroom comps. The TV was v-limited to 1 English channel, but we didn't exactly come for TV so no major dramas. The evening meal was excellent in the hotel restaurant, as was the attentive service. The problems began at about 1.30 AM when everything seemed to kick off from the local nightclub, 25 meters away!!! And, didn't subside until after 4 AM. This little gem of information that the 'disco' kicks off every Fri and Sat during the Winter months was the norm!! But it will be closed in the summer months....well that doesn't exactly help matters at the time. In short nice place but steer clear in the winter unless you go to the 'disco' until 4AM.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Do not stay in a twin room in this hotel on a Saturday night if you want to get to sleep before 4.30am. I read previous reviews of htis hotel and booked on this basis but there is a nightclub next door to the hotel and there are cars roaring around, people shouting and yelling outside your room until 4.30am. At 4am there was a group of people fighing outside my patio doors - I went to see reception and the security guard said he was trying to sort it out but they were customers of the club and didn't I know there was a nightclub nextdoor?? Not before midnight I didn't !!. He told me too the next morning that it was like that every Saturday night.
They start serving breakfast at 8am so not a hotel to choose if you have an early start like I did - they offer you a sandwich if you can't make breakfast and none of the rooms have a bath.
The room was large and very clean with lovely duvets and blankets but it is all wasted if you only get 2 hours sleep on the one night you are staying there.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin rooms - they over look the car park and are very noisy on a Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LCAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDSOR
Level Contributor
133 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We booked this hotel based a lot on the previous comments, and was looking for some peace and quiet, this we did find, it is in a good location very quiet and best accessed with a hire car.
The staff are a credit to the hotel, being very helpful, hard working and friendly, breakfast and dinners were always good, great service with a good selection.
The villa rooms were of a good layout,had comfortable beds, good views from the balcony and appeared to have been recently decorated inside,the reception, bar area and dining room was very clean, tidy and well presented, but the majority of the property needs a complete refurbishment as it is all very tired.

But there it ends, it advertised an "Health suite" with indoor swimming pool, mini gym, massage, sauna and steam rooms, I ask if we could use these, and was told yes and the sauna was switched on, upon entering the suite area I was greeted with animal vomit on the mats in the changing rooms, the rest beds were covered with black mould and smelt dreadful, then looking into the "Massage room" it was no more than a furniture dump, with animal diarrhoea on the mattress, there was also dried animal diarrhoea and excreta around the pool, with salt crystallisation on the edge joints of the pool, the majority of the "gym equipment" was all rusted up and useless.

The pool itself was under filled, not filtered, or pumped and freezing cold, also a poor water quality, which I also feel contributed to me contracting a serious bowel infection, and having to take an early flight home, followed by a 3 day stay in hospital in the UK, with antibiotics to rectifie this.

I believe all hotels have an obligation to provide any amenity's as advertised, unless they are not ready or unsafe and to advise accordingly.

This was not the case and completely ruined our break, if this facility was not going to be available we could have chosen somewhere else, as this was a very integral part of our break.
Whilst I accept that it might be "Out of season" we were not advised that, it was simply not fully ready for use, and as this is classified as a 4 star hotel, we certainly expected much better.
We are quiet frequent travellers and have used a number of 4 star hotels, but we most certainly will not be returning to BMV, and advise any future visitors to check with their travel agent that it is fully ready before booking.
So disappointing.

Room Tip: Best top Villas for a great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LINOLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend. The staff here did everything they could to make us feel welcome and at home. The scenery from our room was absolutely breath-taking, especially at night when all the lights of Kyrenia were lit up. Our bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, it was so cosy, we missed breakfast one morning because we didn't want to get out of bed! Overall I found this hotel good value for money and it is very rare to find a native speaking English receptionist, who always has a smile on her face :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fayevalintine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argenton Sur Creuse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in October 2011 at the Bellapais Monastery Village, we had a room above the swimming pools which was serviced every day, clean towels, floors and bed done daily, what a great time we had, Northern Cyprus is a must after the heat, October to December is when we have been there and never been disappointed. Lac, the waiter in the restaurant was always pleased to see us, the menu was OK, after 2 weeks we had been through it but it was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BonnieBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellapais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
Hotel Bellapais Gardens
#1 of 4 in Bellapais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
5.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
5.3 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Property: Bellapais Monastery Village
Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais 9944, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent sea and forest view near the Bellapais monastery Bellapais Monastery Village is a luxury hotel which is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range. It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside. Kyrenia itself is approximately 3 km. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing