We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous food in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardens of Irini - CLOSED

Gardens of Irini
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Myself and my family visited Deirdre for lunch and had a lovely memorable meal. We ate halloumi and chicken liver pâté followed by ice cream accompanied by lemonade. It was delicious and we spent a memorable afternoon in her garden oasis getting to know her sweet pets. Hope to return next year

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Maiacam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are after a unique dining experience then make sure you visit the Gardens of Irini. On our first day in Bellapais we were exploring the village and followed the signs for the Gardens of Irini, finding it at the top of a narrow road. We were welcomed in to the lovely little shaded garden by the owner Deirdre and had a beer and a homemade lemonade with some fellow holiday makers. As mentioned in other reviews there are indeed quite a few cats living here but they are Dierdre's pets, not strays, and we found them hugely entertaining. Having had an enjoyable drink we decided to book for dinner a couple of days later and what a good choice that turned out to be.

Dierdre can host up to 12 for dinner in her little garden but on the night we went we were the only guests and it felt like we were having a private dinner cooked for us in a candle lit garden. The food was excellent, Dierdre is a top class cook, offering a small menu and making comforting, delicious home cooked food. Along with the great food Dierdre is a fabulous hostess, interested in her guests and with a life story worthy of being turned in to a film (start writing that book Dierdre!).

The Gardens of Irini is not for you if you want an anonymous luxury dining experience but if you want something unusual then make sure you give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Really unable to give a proper review as after walking up a very steep hill looking for lunch we were left some what deflated to find it closed with a small sign saying sorry for any inconvenience. Maybe a sign would of been much better displayed further down the hill saving a long trek on a hot day.
Felt very disappointed after reading some good reviews about this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eynsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth tracking down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a charming little restaurant just up the hill from the town square and Abbey. A bit tricky to find but don't give up, due to the size it is limited in the number it can seat so go early for lunch and evening meals are by arrangement only. The menu is small and you tend to have what is being cooked that day.
We really enjoyed our visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We struggled up the hill to Bitter Lemons which proved quite disappointing. Having made it there we thought we would call in to Gardens of Irini just around the corner. Very pleased we did. The shady garden had comfortable chairs and proved a little oasis. We enjoyed Homemade chicken liver pate and grilled hellim cheese. The atmosphere is so charming with a constant commentary by host Dedrie that you tend to stay far too long and drink far too many glasses of wine. Oh! if you don't like or have an allergy to cats - it may be best to avoid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mickcarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardens of Irini also viewed

Bellapais, Kyrenia District
Bellapais, Kyrenia District
 
Bellapais, Kyrenia District
Bellapais, Kyrenia District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing