We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gardens of Irini - CLOSED

Gardens of Irini
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A unique place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in the studio at the Gardens of Irini (a couple of years ago though i could not get the date on this review). It was a fascinating place and reading 'Bitter Lemons' made you think Laurence Durrell would be dropping in at any minute. A delightful courtyard restaurant and as others say the lemonade is a must, but the lamb kleftiko is out of this world. Such a colourful character and a perfect hostess. Chat to her if you can and discover much about the Island's past. And look at the photographs and artwork. Definitely a holiday we will remember.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Characterful place with lovely garden setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited this atmospheric garden cafe/restaurant twice during a recent weeks visit to the area. It is well worth the climb to the top of the village, and is not far from Lawrence Durell's house. We only had drinks - great fresh homemade lemonade on one occasion- but understand that evening meals are made to order and are very good. A love of animals is a further incentive to visit. The lady owner, who is very interesting to talk to, has adopted stray dogs and cats. During our visits we met a recently rescued pup who had been run over and had badly damaged hips. We were told that with the help of her local vet she hopes he will recover enough to lead a reasonable quality life. Good for her and all the best to him!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

book at least 24hours in advance, and deirdre will cook you a superb homemade dinner -her kleftiko was the best we tasted, so tender. the setting is so romantic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulandozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint and pretty, great place for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed elsewhere in Bellapais, and though we'd read about this place in the guidebook, hadn't gone out deliberately intending to find it...I don't think we would have done were it not for the signs! A pretty garden with a homely feel, where we enjoyed a drink in the shade.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank emu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Lady and Beautiful Cypriot Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friendly and hardworking lady. She will share her stories of being a Flamingo dancer in her younger years. Delightful traditional home cooked food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeConciergeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardens of Irini also viewed

Bellapais, Kyrenia District
Bellapais, Kyrenia District
 
Bellapais, Kyrenia District
Bellapais, Kyrenia District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing