We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“and all that Jazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilberts End Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gilberts End Farm
Wythall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“and all that Jazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked via the net and phone contact, Chrissy was very helpful and we enjoyed a weekend at the Upton Jazz Festival. The building is 500 years old so a bit quirky but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was superb and we really did not want to leave. Our hostess was obliging and keen to ensure our stay was really enjoyable. we would gladly return.

Room Tip: The red room was en suite, quiet and had a huge, very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granshersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

It's on a small back road, so you wouldn't normally be passing by, but don't miss a chance to stay here if you are looking for accommodation in the Great Malvern/Upton area. The property has ample parking for guests, and makes a good base to explore the area. We were lucky enough to have the king-sized room in the old part of the house. It has a large bathroom, oak beams and timbers, a huge bed, and is light and airy. We had a wonderful stay. If you want peace and quiet and relaxation in a real period house, then look no further. If you want even more relaxation, Chrissy the host does Reiki massage. My wife came out of the session absolutely chilled out. The breakfast can be thoroughly recommended too - very tasty indeed, well cooked and with generous portions. We were given a warm welcome, and Chrissy has recommendations as to where to find good venues for an evening meal. It all made for a lovely break, and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the king-sized room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeritageHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife on our yearly escape from the kids. We stayed in the superior room which consists of a large bathroom,a hallway and a decent size bedroom. The room was really nice. It wasn't plush but it was really nice and the decorations suited the age of the building. There are beams galore and loads of quirky features to the room and the house itself. Chrissy, who runs the B and B is so friendly but genuinely so without being over the top. There were so many personal touches that made you feel welcome. Moving on to the breakfast it was spot on and tasted as nice as it looked. Will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My Mum and I stayed at Gilbert's End in October of 2013. The area in and around the property is breathtaking. The room we stayed in was super comfortable with a lovely bed and en suite shower. Chrissy is a lovely host and very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas, places to eat, etc. She helped us set up a wonderful horseback ride. Breakfast is fresh! I highly recommend one of Chrissy's Reyki treatments. We would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were at an event at the Three Counties Showground. Normally we camp, but this year at the last minute found a B&B. And what a find! We stayed in the "modern" part of the building - around 400 years old. Full of little details. Our room (the Pink Room) was of a very good size, comfortable and peaceful. A good sized bathroom, which was spotlessly clean and a comfortable bed. Nice little touches as well - like fresh milk for the tea and cakes one evening.
Breakfast is cooked to order and is good quality and large portions, so no need for lunch. Chrissy, the owner, is a mine of local information and very friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

There is nothing that Krissie couldn't do. She was very informative and helpful throughout our stay. The room was well appointed and well decorated. Little touches like fresh milk for tea and coffee making and small cakes on arrival were really unexpected but lovely. Upton on Severn is really nearby and a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianclark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I spent 5 days at Gilberts End last week while attending a course at Peter Sefton's Furniture School in nearby Upton on Severn. The farmhouse is set in a wonderfully quiet country lane within easy reach of Upton, Malvern and numerous rural pubs. The room was warm and comfortable with a king size bed. Separate bathroom included a bath and shower. Chrissy the owner was very friendly and made this a very welcoming stay. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of cooked options (order the night before). Plenty of information available for good places to eat in the area - The Duke of York in Castlemorton was definitely my favourite.
The rate was very reasonable (£55 per night for single occupancy) and I would certainly recommend this B+B for anyone looking for a base in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanley Castle
3.7 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilberts End Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilberts End Farm

Property: Gilberts End Farm
Address: Gilberts End Farm Gilberts End, Hanley Castle WR8 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Hanley Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanley Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilberts End Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character listed farmhouse set in tranquil rural location, near the beautiful riverside town of Upton upon Severn, and only 5 minutes from the Three Counties Showground. Direct access on to footpaths and only 5 miles from the Malvern Hills. Our beautifully furnished rooms are all en-suite with tv/dvd, free unlimited wifi and tea/coffee making facilities. Delicious breakfasts are served using fresh and local produce. We are sure you will enjoy the quality, comfort and tranquillity of your surroundings, offering you a welcome moment of respite and relaxation! Easy access M5 J7/8 and M50 J1 Worcester 8 miles, Tewksbury and Ledbury 7.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gilberts End Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing