We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

BeautIful buildings in the middle of some very plain scenery. Lovely suite in the pigeonnier and a pleasant meal although atmosphere not entirely conducive to a leisurely experience.

Breakfast was disappointing. The breakfast room is small and cramped and you have to find your breakfast ingredients in a small mini fridge in the corner.

There is a very strong 'Corporate' atmosphere about this place where their emphasis appears to lean towards conference facilities.

Loved the mischievous cat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed a night at this lovely old place on our way south and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had requested an easy to access room and were allocated what was practically a suite, as it had a sitting area and a kitchenette. It was all very comfortable, with a good bathroom.

We ate in the restaurant where there were two choices for each course, so we had one of each. It was all very tasty, although my fish was bizarrely somewhat tough. I don’t think I’ve ever had tough fish before but it didn’t spoil the meal! Breakfast was good too in a room off the restaurant, with pastries, ham, cheese, yogurts and fruit. The staff were really pleasant and the place had a lovely atmosphere, so peaceful and charming, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We used this as a stop-over on the way back to Caen so only stayed one night. It is in a lovely quiet country location and the buildings have been lovingly restored but not to a high enough standard. We had the use of a family room which was large and split so the kids had one end and we were seperated by the bathroom. The toilet had been tucked under the eaves in a very small cubicle using very thin walls. We slept in comfortable beds but the rooms just felt cheap.
Its worth eating in though as the food was good, home cooked food as long as you don't mind having only two choices. But at 19e it was well priced. The breakfast was again ok, whilst I don't like waste I would like a little more choice.

There is a swimming pool but we didn't go in it as the weather had cooled down.

The hotel was fine but I wouldn't choose to go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Whilst quite difficult to find this is a gem of a place to stay for a couple of days or en route.
Charming rural hotel with bags of character and firendly staff. Great pool and lovely gardens. Very quiet. Dinner is from a small pre ordered menu- super and with a well priced and interesting wine list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Lovely peaceful setting ,building and surroundings plenty of history BUT...room was cramped & very 'chainey' . We had a cupboardy box which required careful manouvres to get around unscathed. Modern IKEA style furniture wedged in.

Evening meal well cooked BUT staff couldn't wait to scarper at 9:00pm so kept asking if we were finished minutes after delivering each course.

Breakfast - nothing cooked, nothing fresh, conference coffee

Room Tip: Don't choose 'comfort' class. It isn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
12
Reviewed April 17, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
11
Reviewed March 4, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Availles-en-Chatellerault
8.9 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Usseau
184 reviews
17.1 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
616 reviews
11.7 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#7 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#1 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
174 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#1 of 10 in Chatellerault
127 reviews
11.7 mi away
Le Clos Paille
Le Clos Paille
#2 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pigeonnier du Perron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pigeonnier du Perron

Address: 22 Lieu Dit le Perron, 86530 Availles-en-Chatellerault, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Availles-en-Chatellerault
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Availles-en-Chatellerault
Price Range: $123 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Pigeonnier du Perron 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Did you know that French philosopher Rene Descartes once lived in Poitou-Charentes, more specifically in Availles-en-Chatellerault? His handsome 15th-century residence is now a lovely, distinctive hotel from which guests can admire the square pigeon house that gave the property its name, L'HOTEL LE PIGEONNIER DU PERRON. The peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside is a boon to the 12 rooms and 2 suites. They are full of charm with their parquetry and understated decor. Many have a slightly rustic style with stones and exposed beams. But the modernity and comfort of the furniture places them squarely in our century. They are all equipped with a shower or bathtub and an LCD flat screen TV with DTT. Some also have a telephone, Wifi, air conditioning, a DVD player, hairdryer, and/or heated towel rack. The dining room is warm and also reveals signs of the past, creating a unique setting where guests savour traditional cooking prepared with seasonal products, particularly fresh vegetables. The garden at Le Pigeonnier du Perron is a splendid venue with authentic charms. You can take your breakfast here, or laze around the pool, play table tennis or shoot hoops. You will be much better off here than on the beaches of Charente-Maritime! Because Availles-en-Chatellerault is near Poitiers and Chatellerault, you will undoubtedly leave this hotel in Poitou-Charentes for long enough to visit the Futuroscope as well as the Moulin de Chitre, Chateau de Dissay, the Descartes Home and Museum, and the Pinail Nature Reserve. European Eco label. Qualite Tourisme label. Seminars. Family friendly. Access for guests with reduced mobility. Quiet destination. Car park. No pets allowed in restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Pigeonnier du Perron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing