We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good a place as I could wish”
Review of The Old Post House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deddington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Post House
Ranked #1 of 5 Deddington B&B and Inns
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As good a place as I could wish”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Christine provides an excellent example of what a decent B&B should be. Wonderful comfortable bed in a lovely well furnished room with ample things to read ( and a telly if you want.)

Lovely relaxing old world drawing room is at your disposal.

Marvellous breakfast and even if you have to think about breakfast the night before I am sure that Christine can accommodate minor changes in the morning.

I hope that the previous report from 30Ali30 will not put people off this very charming house and its splendid owner.

Room Tip: try and get rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chickenfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful house, beautiful gardens and the pool is a delight, however I do object at being asked what I want for breakfast the next day the minute I arrive. We had no milk in our room, and unable to locate Christine could not have a hot drink before retiring to bed. We were made to feel uncomfortable by our host. The room was ok, the shower room perfectly acceptable, but the beds were very uncomfortable, not the standard we are used to. Also we were in the front of the property overlooking a reasonably busy road and were much disturbed by the traffic. We stayed 2 nights and on the second night not only resorted to purchasing own milk for a drink, but informed immediately again upon our return again what did we want for breakfast and what time were we leaving as our host had an appointment at 10.45am. We beat a hasty retreat at 9.00am after our preordered breakfast. Sad, as the area is beautiful, but we would not experience B&B again.

Room Tip: Room at the back I imagine is less noisy from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 30Ali30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a find The Old Post House is, I would recommend a stay here for everyone. Nothing was to much trouble for Christine. We were greeted with afternoon tea and homemade cakes in the courtyard and the rest of the gardens are stunning. The room we stayed in was amazing the only downside to it was we only stayed one night. We shall definitely return and stop longer next time. Just make sure you have the breakfast because you could not ask for a better breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The title says it!! Truly magnificent in its comfort and style. Christine gives great attention to every detail from the table settings at breakfast to the preparation of your room every evening. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented with the use of the best local products. We felt that we wanted for nothing! The guest lounge is extremely comfortable and fire lit on cold evenings. Harry, the terrier, is clearly a favourite with all guests and we were no exception. The village of Deddington has much to offer and all the Cotswolds "spots" are within easy reach. A "must" for all visitors to this area - and we will stay here again when we make family visits!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rfp2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Such a gem! We had a wonderful time. The room was incredibly cosy. The breakfast was delicious. We felt right at home. The village is charming and the house is in a super location. All in all a fantastic stay! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachaelGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have no hesitation in rating The Old Post House as excellent. If you like old quintessential English charm - this is the place to stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. The bed linen, towels and toiletries are the highest quality. We had a room that looked into the court yard and we couldn't have been more comfortable. At breakfast we sat at a long table with other guests and were treated to a breakfast that was second to none. We stayed here as it was close to enough to drive to Silverstone.

Room Tip: The room which overlooks the courtyard was lovely. It is quiet. full of natural light and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkshirehorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We picked out 'The Old Post House' quite by chance when we wanted a long weekend in Oxfordshire. What a fantastic find it find it turned out to be! Christine couldn't do enough for us. Her attention to detail was phenominal, even down to noticing that my husband took hot lemon in the morning and providing fresh and finding walk booklets and maps for walking. Christine's lovely dog Harry is also a lovely little chap.
We enjoyed our weekend so much I'm sure we will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
0.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
512 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
427 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post House

Property: The Old Post House
Address: Old Post House New Street, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deddington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Post House Deddington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing