We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Post House: Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Post House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deddington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Post House
Ranked #1 of 5 Deddington B&B and Inns
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old Post House: Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have no hesitation in rating The Old Post House as excellent. If you like old quintessential English charm - this is the place to stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. The bed linen, towels and toiletries are the highest quality. We had a room that looked into the court yard and we couldn't have been more comfortable. At breakfast we sat at a long table with other guests and were treated to a breakfast that was second to none. We stayed here as it was close to enough to drive to Silverstone.

Room Tip: The room which overlooks the courtyard was lovely. It is quiet. full of natural light and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkshirehorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We picked out 'The Old Post House' quite by chance when we wanted a long weekend in Oxfordshire. What a fantastic find it find it turned out to be! Christine couldn't do enough for us. Her attention to detail was phenominal, even down to noticing that my husband took hot lemon in the morning and providing fresh and finding walk booklets and maps for walking. Christine's lovely dog Harry is also a lovely little chap.
We enjoyed our weekend so much I'm sure we will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break staying at The Old Post House in Deddington and are already planning a longer return visit! Christine is a fantastic host and effortlessly looked after all her guests making us feel very welcome and well looked after.
The room we had was very comfortable with lots of attention to detail that would rival any top hotel.
The 'Excellent' rating is definitely deserved!
Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A warm, welcoming retreat in the heart of a delightful Oxfordshire village. Upon arrival we were treated to tea in the magical walled rose garden, setting the tone perfectly for a restorative four night stay.

Rooms are spacious and newly refurbished, with carefully chosen antiques complimenting exposed beams and sympathetically restored original features of this 400 year old property.

Bedroom was presented with a lovely vase containing fresh flowers from the three beautiful walled gardens. Bathrooms were spotless and ours contained a comfortable standalone bath. Beds are suitably sleep-inducing and carry fine quality soft bed linen. Despite being near the village's main road it is near silent during the evening.

Breakfasts are extensive, delicious and skillfully presented. Nearby amenities include numerous pubs and restaurants, with the Oxfordshire countryside a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fudge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have stayed at this charming B&B a number of times so it now feels like home from home. It's a characterful honey coloured ironstone house and the rooms are full of delightful antiquities and thoughtful touches. We have always opted for the lovely four-poster but friends have stayed in the others and they are equally well appointed. It's a cosy and comfortable place in the Winter while, when the sun shines, you find yourself drawn into the beauty and tranquility of the walled garden.

Christine is the owner and a knowledgeable enthusiast about the village and surrounding area. She is a friendly and welcoming host who not only dishes up a hearty breakfast from the Aga, but also turns her hand to baking the biscuits you may find in your room. All in all, this terrific B&B is a difficult place to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Man_of_Leisure66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a marvellous quiet comfortable relaxing place to stay. Our room was large and the bed so comfortable! Tea and coffee with home made biscuits,spring flowers on the dressing table. We stayed with friends and it was like having our own private country house hotel. The breakfast was MARVELLOUS all home made or local produce. The house and gardens all very well maintained and very tastefully decorated. JUST what you would hope for.

Room Tip: We had the king room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millymaryrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We arrived just after lunch and were greeted by Christine. She informed us that we were the only guests which was quite special. the room was magnificent more than we had expected. really low ceilings with lots of exposed beams. The only down side was that my husband hit his head quite hard trying to get through the door, I being on the short side had no problems at all. We loved all the little touches, towels, robes etc. We ate at Peppers and the food was delicious then thought we would spend a quiet night in the local pub, no chance the villagers welcomed us with open arms and I think it was about 2.30am when we called it a night. Breakfast was wonderful, homemade pancakes and maple syrup. We will definately stay again once we have sobered up from this visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppet210462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
0.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unicorn Inn
Unicorn Inn
#3 of 5 in Deddington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ashlea Guest House
Ashlea Guest House
#3 of 39 in Banbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post House

Property: The Old Post House
Address: Old Post House New Street, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deddington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Post House Deddington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing