We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently great food and too service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengal Spice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bengal Spice
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Deddington
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and too service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having been a regular for over 10 years at this restaurant I have nothing but praise for the food and service. Having lived in India as a child I love good curry and struggle to find anywhere close by that matches the quality of this restaurant, the staff are always friendly and polite. I have only just started using trip advisor and appreciate that everyone has different tastes and ideas of what is a good meal, but this is good , authentic, quality food. Don't be put off by bad reviews. I love it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieMac888d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the worst "eating" experiences of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

As new people to the area of South Banbury, we thought we would try the Bengal spice in Deddington. We fancied a change from our usual (excellent) curry house and decided to drive there, order our food and wait for it to collected it. The service was terrible... We waited for almost TWO HOURS for them to bring us our food. They were busy with a party and we could see other people waiting over 40mins, but we could see that we were being past over for regular customers, who ordered after us and good their food well ahead of us. When we challenged the staff on several occasions to the whereabouts of our dinner, we were always told it would not be long!! We almost left several times but they kept insisting its arrival was imminent! When we finally got the food it was average at best. If your are not local - best to avoid or find a night when they are not having a party

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A few drinks and a curry on a Saturday ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Got there around 10.30 and only a few people in so got seated straight away , we ordered just 2, lamb baltis and nann breads the breads were very nice but the meat was cooked tandoori first then In a sauce so made it very red which to me is not a balti and also not very spicy , shame as read good reviews on this place , will try again but will be more clear on what I want next time . Have to say I can't stand cobra beers or kingfisher , why can't they sell beers other than Indian beers on draught

Helpful?
1 Thank Sammani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The locals are lucky to have this restaurant on the doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are regular customers at Bengal Spice. My only criticism is that nowhere else comes close to the quality of food or the service. This impedes our enjoyment of other restaurants of this type! Long may this standard continue :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordshireChicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great curry house in picturesque Oxfordshire market town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Great food, normal person portion sizes, very good service.
Slightly on the pricy side though - meal for 2 with drinks, no starters is approx £50.
That said we have been twice and would go back. Probably best to book on Fri or Sat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Treaders76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Spice also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Bengal Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing