We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday evening family meal.”

The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to PuddingFace Do you have a penchant for pies? Puddingface offers a whole host of pies including traditional meat and vegetarian, fish and game, as well as some less conventional recipes. All Homemade!Lunch times bookings are taken Monday to Saturday 12-2pm and Sunday 12 to 2.30 Please call the pub to book. No evening reservations/bookings taken, come along have a drink at the bar, let our staff know you wish to eat and we will seat you as soon as a table comes available or will endeavor to keep you informed on how long the wait is likely to be.Largest single table we are able to accommodate is for 8 people due to the size of our pub and the nature of our business baking pies to order we are not really suitable for larger groups. If you insist ...Larger groups will have to be treated as individual smaller tables and your food order taken as they come available during the evening.Due to licence restrictions young children (under 5) can not remain on the premises after 7.30PM and all children (under 14) past 9pm Telephones are manned pub opening hours (not office hours)
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Saturday evening family meal.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family has lived in Deddington for several generations, and I`m sorry to say this was our first visit to this establisment.

Genuinely could not find a single fault!

Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graham_r_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    114
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pies!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Having been here a few times, I always want to bring someone new to the experience every time to
Show off how good they have got it here! Pies are EXCELLENT and at a fair price. Always a winner! Thumbs up!!

Helpful?
Thank Onnie4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Catch-up with friends”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a meet-up place half way between Leicester and reading. We were very impressed with the quality of food and how accommodating the staff were. Would definitely recommend the food, location and atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antlouhay, Owner at The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, despite not being there on the day I am pleased my staff looked after you, It was me you spoke to on the phone to make the lunchtime booking while desperately trying to get the pub open after our mini refurbishment.
Hope you can visit us again next time you meet up halfway.
Happy New Year!
Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Multiple reviews in one go I am afraid !!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Being a villager I should have reviewed before - apologies !

The Pie Pub is an absolute gem and consistently offers fantastic food and top notch service. The Pies are imaginative and well prepared and the Sunday Roasts are superb too.

I have seen reviews about "tinned or pre processed" vegetables before - rubbish as I obten walk past the Tuns early in the morning and am greeted by a huge pile of fresh vegetables waiting to be taken in !

100% reliable on getting what you want when you want. Superb Hooky and the best Pub House Red I have ever encountered.

Keep it up !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baldricksvalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not a traditional pudding”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We made a special side trip to come to this pie house based on the reviews on trip advisor and I wish I hadn't bothered. The steak and kidney pudding was served with a short crust pastry with gravy on the side, rather than a suet crust and the gravy inside. There was an option for filo pastry but not suet. When the gravy was applied to the crust it predictably went to mush so I put in on the chips. The vegetables were good but only lukewarm and there was water in the serving bowl which ended up on my dish when I scooped them out. The service was good and friendly with a real fire but there must have been a door open at the back of the pub because there was a cold draft and we had to move tables.
On the whole a real disappointment. I would not recommend to pie lovers.

Glass of juice, beer and 2 pies - £27.95

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctaylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antlouhay, Owner at The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I am sorry you found your PIE not to be a traditional pudding! (puzzled)... you ordered a steak and kidney PIE made with shortcrust pastry,SHORT as in crumbly to soak up gravy and glorious meat juices when spooned out of the pie dish onto your hot plate with a side of steamed vegetables (moisture included) and chips or freshly buttery mashed potato oh and not forgetting jug of rich gravy

we do not have a suet pudding on the menu or have a filo pastry pie
why have you criticised us for something we don't do? we don't do pizza either! our menu clearly states all pies are made with puff pasty unless otherwise stated and the steak and Kidney PIE states shortcrust

you mention 2 PIES and drinks for £27.95 I assume your partner had no issues?

Please a message to all readers please understand we try our best.. I will defend my business from what I and many others consider unfair comments please know all the facts before posting reviews if you get it wrong then you are messing with my hard built business and all the hard work that goes into running it in these difficult times as well as the considerable hurt the staff feel having to read them
All my team will do whatever is necessary to correct anything that we get wrong but please tell us at the time and if you must write a negative review of us please keep it relevant and fair to what we do, we are only a small family owned pie pub with a second newly opened pie pub in Banbury not some national chain
Please Consider a tripadvisor type site where your anonymous customers, competitors, peers and all others etc could freely comment on you truths and untruths !
HAPPY NEW YEAR
Anton Hayter
Puddingface the pie place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing