We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to PuddingFace Do you have a penchant for pies? Puddingface offers a whole host of pies including traditional meat and vegetarian, fish and game, as well as some less conventional recipes. All Homemade!Lunch times bookings are taken Monday to Saturday 12-2pm and Sunday 12 to 2.30 Please call the pub to book. No evening reservations/bookings taken, come along have a drink at the bar, let our staff know you wish to eat and we will seat you as soon as a table comes available or will endeavour to keep you informed on how long the wait is likely to be.Largest single table we are able to accommodate is for 8 people due to the size of our pub and the nature of our business baking pies to order we are not really suitable for larger groups. If you insist ...Larger groups will have to be treated as individual smaller tables and your food order taken as they come available during the evening.Due to licence restrictions young children (under 5) can not remain on the premises after 7.30PM and all children (under 14) past 9pm Telephones are manned pub opening hours (not office hours)
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great pies”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

excellent pies ,lovely service made a lovely night out with friends ,i hope the banbury one is just as good

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariawebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    119
    21
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great pies I had turkey and stuffing which was just like Christmas dinner and it certainly wasn't all gravy no meat like some other places I have been. Be assured you would never leave here hungry. Lovely relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff made for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We go here quite regularly, it's a favourite of mum and dads. The pies are truly scrumptious and come quickly. The staff are always friendly, the local beer is on offer and the puds are delicious. A perfect filling meal for a dreary rainy day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really nice lunch, pies and puddings excellent, felt a little like an up market cafe,with the choice of tables they had in there, but would go there again.
Deddington is such a beautiful place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a Fray Bentos in sight”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Husband and I found ourselves childless once again on a Saturday night so took ourselves off to the Posh village of Deddington where husband had spotted this.temple to all things Pie on a previous visit to the Indian restaurant here. We have Puddingface in Banbury we realised later.
Without a reservation we were blown through the door by the nippy wind to find the place heaving, and were told a table would be about a half hour wait and to go into the small bar and wait, this we did for a little while to be served a drink, and peruse the blackboard menu. Then were told that a table was free but it was right near the door, which turned out to have a knack of opening itself for no reason to let more of the wind in. I was hungry by this point so decided to risk it by keeping my coat on.
And there we sat for even more time before our drink and food order was taken. So order finally taken and we settled in to listen to the conversations around us, mostly dominated by the small shreaks of two young boys in a large birthday party, and the penetrating voices of the monied set who live in Deddy. Not that interesting but annoying.
Food arrives in one good sized portion pie dish which you serve yourself onto your own plate. Mashed potato in separate dish smoothish but not buttery enough or hot. Vegetables to share all mixed up in a little dish, not over cooked but did not get the benefit of a salted water boiling.
Husband had sausage bacon and leek pie under puff pastry, lots of sausage good rise to pastry and hot. Mine Beef, mushroom and some leek in a red wine sauce, not so good shortcrust pastry oddly dry and not crumbly enough. Meat was cut too small at prep, which resulted in hardly any good sized pieces making it through the cooking process, resultant slush was tasty though.
House red wine was harsh, husband had a good range of Hook Norton beers to chose from.
Prices ranged from £12.50 per pie
Have just scanned other comments from diners and one mentioned pastry was not made with butter, well that explains the lack of flavour in it.
Service from a young staff was welcoming but not super slick, don't mind that as its supposed to be a local watering hole not Nobu
Good luck to owners will return in the summer and see if they have. much of a garden.
Take a walk round the village after and nose through the windows of some very lovely homes !


.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22honeybees22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antlouhay, Owner at The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Oh my, more chips on your shoulder than in my restaurant!
Inverted snobbery of the highest level ,may be a night in with a Fray Bentos pie watching recorded re-runs of Jeremy Kyle would have suited you better.
Not sure if this is a review of my Pub restaurant or a dig at the good folks of Deddington who I will defend just as much as I would my business.
Some other useful info for you.
Deddington has a very good neighbourhood watch should you wish to return and stand nose through peoples windows,
You felt the wine was harsh, that will be the tannins in the red wine you chose, there were 3 other House red available including a beautiful soft Rioja with mellow undertones of autumn fruits.....OR maybe if we stocked Blue Nun or Liebfraumilch this could have been avoided.
Deddy people (monied or not) are in fact known as Deddingtonians.
It s not just Deddingtonians who frequent my pub and neither passports or credit checks are necessary.
Finally yes we have a wonderful garden not too sure it’s your thing though..... being full of classy furniture with soft furnishings (cushions), parasols (umbrellas) gazebo (shed with no sides with or without roof) pergola (shed with no sides and no roof) but we do have a gnome you might be quite fond of ! oh and weather permitting some lovely posh monied Deddy people with their penetrating voices that you find uninteresting and annoying.
Maybe I should behave now as MPs with bicycles have lost their jobs for less but I must ask what is Nobu?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Crown & Tuns - Puddingface, The Pie Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing