We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff”

The Duke of Cumberland's Head
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Deddington
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional 17th century coaching inn, beautifully restored. Traditional features include an inglenook fireplace, wood burning stove, beamed ceilings. The inn serves good food with a large range of real ale. There is an adjacent campsite with electricity hook up, water, grey and chemical waste disposal, indoor showers and toilets. There are also 5 individually designed en-suite king-size bedrooms and one family apartment which sleeps 4 with kitchen.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Came here for an organised private function. Staff were excellent and attnetive, Whole atmosphere was very good with excellent food.
Good real ale choice and plenty of seating

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Great Value”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had an early evening meal here with friends and our kids. Had gorgeous fish and chips which I would highly recommend. Great value and a very big portion. The kids meals were also great and the service was super although not in your face which is perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Were we invisible or are they really that useless?”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

From outside it looked delightful. Inside looked good too. After that pretty poor. We had a table reserved. Sat down. No menus. We had to ask. They gave us plenty of time to make our selections - we had to call them over - bear in mind we were not tucked away in some forgotten corner! The menu looked good and interesting so we made our selections. Eventually we had to call the waiter over to place our order. The drinks were low but no offer was made to get more. We placed the order and three specific requests to adjust the main course offering were made and accepted and written down. When our glasses were empty we went and got our own drinks from the bar as trying to get attention was almost embarrassing. The starters arrived and to be fair they were delicious. Then we waited, and waited and waited and eventually the dirty starters cutlery etc was removed. The main courses arrived and they were not as ordered. One steak was accompanied by the vegetables rather than salad as requested but the other one did not - this was returned without fuss and corrected. One fish dish arrived with salad with caesar dressing instead of balsamic vinegar and olive oil as ordered. The customer was getting fed up and simply ordered some olive oil and balsamic vinegar. No steak knives were forthcoming and rather than trying to get the attention of the disdainful waiting staff we just ate the meals which were mediocre at best and the steak was definitely not the best. We had to wait quite a while for the table to be cleared and following that we eventually had to ask for the dessert menus. Two cappucinos were ordered and two desserts, all to come at the same time which they did not. The coffees arrived 5 minutes after the desserts. When we were done the waiting staff moved the fastest we had seen them all evening - that was to bring the bill. We paid, leaving no tip as the service was atrocious overall and left. The staff there need to be aware that they were not doing us a favour but that we were paying for a service and meal. What a rubbish place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fit for a Duke!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Found this wonderful pub on our way home from a day in the Cotswolds. After lots of walking a good meal was in order and we got a fantastic one!
Impressive beer selection, warm, cosy atmosphere, friendly welcome & chat, tasteful background music, clean & spacious, modern yet traditional local pub feel, excellent service, imagine the outdoor seating area is great in warmer weather, as for the food...
Quality, freshly cooked to order, perfect combinations, beautifully presented & absolutely delicious! Portion sizes spot on. Thoroughly enjoyed out goats cheese & red pepper ravioli starter, roast pork and roast chicken mains.
So pleased we chose to stop here with our toddler & quickly found that as the sign stated 'families welcome' that this was certainly the case. Excellent feeding & changing facilities.
Nothing too much trouble, wish it was our local!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NicNic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Last Saturday my husband and I and friends had a meal at the Duke of Cumberland, it was a very pleasant experience. The meal was delicious, I would recommend the liver, which I had, but everyone enjoyed their meal. The staff were attentive but not imposing and the lovely fire made the whole restaurant feel very welcoming. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke of Cumberland's Head also viewed

 

Been to The Duke of Cumberland's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing