We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly Average”

The Duke of Cumberland's Head
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Deddington
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional 17th century coaching inn, beautifully restored. Traditional features include an inglenook fireplace, wood burning stove, beamed ceilings. The inn serves good food with a large range of real ale. There is an adjacent campsite with electricity hook up, water, grey and chemical waste disposal, indoor showers and toilets. There are also 5 individually designed en-suite king-size bedrooms and one family apartment which sleeps 4 with kitchen.
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I came here with a group of friends for a meal on a Wednesday evening ( burger night). I order the chicken burger and when it arrived and was out in front of me it looked lovely but... It went downhill. The onion rings were overcooked to within an inch of their life and tasted burnt, the chicken in the burger was very dry and tough to eat and I would have probably enjoyed eating the sole of my boots more. Having said that a couple of my friends enjoyed their meal. The atmosphere in the pub would have been very flat if our crowd hadn't been there. If your hungry and not to fussed about what you east then this is the place for you but if you enjoy really good food, give it a miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A GOOD VILLAGE PUB”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are regulars here and recently have been rewarded with consistently good grub; some of it is excellent - the roast pepper soup for example. Never quite sussed why it seems to be quiet at lunchtimes, but it's to our advantage. Good menu showing skills but not showing-off. A good range of food, all well cooked and much of it sourced locally. I do wish that the locals visited the pub more often, they will be the first to complain if the pub closes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teitei13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Gulf
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Lunch - very quiet though”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

For an office luncheon outing, we came to the pub on a Friday lunchtime expecting a host of locals sat beside a roaring fire have a wonderful time. The roaring fire was there of course but we were the only ones in the pub for some time beofre one couple sat for a meal and 2 guys popped in for a drink. Couldn't quite understand it, the pub is a lovely period piece, well suituated with a good choice of beer. Where are the people?

I had fish and chips, the others had baguettes and a chicken burger. The burger comprised a whole breast and was quite filing. My fish was a good size, crisp and perfectly cooked but the chip portion was a little skimpy as was the mushy pea puree. You know the sort, a teardrop of puree as featured in many chefs programmes. I actually expected a few tablespoonfuls - not to be. Very well kept beer.

To conclude, good food, well presented but confused between pub and restaurant. Atmosphere was surprisingly dead - maybe we went on a bad friday (is there such a thing?). Will certainly go again in the hope the atmosphere is better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richie-In-Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get a grip”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This pub b+b is famous in these parts for its inconsistency and irregular offering. It's a lovely building with terrific features and has such potential but it the people running it have forgotten how to do the basics well. Hence the Great Western Arms up the road is almost always packed.
They need to work out what they want to be and tell the locals and then stick to it. Owning a pub in a rural setting is a privilege and there is a responsibility that goes with that. Also don't forget your locals. The last couple of times we went with the intention of having lunch we were turned away as it had been hired for a do. This is a Public House not a private one. Quite annoying when you have trekked miles across the fields to get there and need to turn around and trek back hungry and thirsty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Man_of_Leisure66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived without a booking and they squeezed us in on a very busy Saturday night. Charming staff, excellent food, good beer. We had a very nice evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke of Cumberland's Head also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Duke of Cumberland's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing