We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unicorn Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Deddington B&B and Inns
Hereford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had a lovely stay with my family. We were visiting Banbury for a Christening and had a lovely overnight stay in at the Unicorn. Its quaint and quirky and the service was great. The village is pretty and pleasant and it is somewhere we would go back too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eunicelouise658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    15
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
26
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked a room for my parents at the Unicorn as we were staying in the Deddington Arms down the road for a wedding and they had kindly volunteered to do some baby sitting. My booking confirmation said the room would be available at 2 but when my mum tried to check in it was not ready so she returned to our hotel where she stayed until later that evening when we got back from the wedding.

On finally gaining entry to the room they were appalled by the cleanliness. There were dirty towels left on the bedside table, the floor had not been hoovered and the bathroom not cleaned. The bathroom window was boarded up, the shower didn't work and the toilet didn't flush unless my dad refilled the cistern with the kettle.

On the positive side the bed had been made with fresh linen and was clean and comfy.

In the morning my dad complained to the staff and manager. While waiting to complain he heard another guest also complaining that their shower didn't work. A staff member told him the room had been vacated by the chef as they had overbooked despite my booking being made a month in advance and with no mention of them being full at the time.

To top their stay off at breakfast the next morning the glassware and crockery were also filthy. When they tried to order the hot breakfast I had paid for in advance they were told that it wasn't available as the kitchen was getting ready for Sunday lunch. This despite it being before 9am.

I am awaiting my requested full refund for the £77.95 stay including breakfast supplement.

To try and finish on a positive note, my parents said the bar area downstairs was nice!

Room Tip: Avoid room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deddington hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Being a local I know that The Unicorn Inn has had its fair share of temporary managers/staff over the last few years but at last the permanent Landlord/Lady and bar staff are in place at what a difference. My family and I ate there yesterday, we had the fish and chips, red thai curry, nachos and beef etc and it was stunning. The food was absolutely delicious, the presentation amazing and the Chef was charming - as are the bar staff.

My husband and I are regular bar-flies here but will definitely, definitely be working our way through the well thought out menu over the next few months.

Well done!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

At the last minute I decided to stay in Deddington to catch up with a friend whilst enroute for Yorkshire. What a find, great value, and this is a a real village pub, not a bland gastro chain pub. The room was large and even had two double beds (RM 1) and the staff and locals could not have been better. On a cold Wednesday night in Oxfordshire this place really was the ticket. Marti and Lucy were just the best host and hostess you could have wished for and the atmosphere was fantastic. Both my friend and I had a brilliant time and will be back for sure. With new owners in place, and a new and intersting menu on the cards I'm sure this place will soon pick up the pace and get back on track. As for the sound of the church bells, come on people, it's quaint, it's the English countryside and it's what these beautiful old villages are all about. As someone who travels all over the world for business it was a breath of fresh air to be in a proper village pub with some real characters. I wish all the best of success and thanks for showing us such a good time. Regards Sue.

Room Tip: RM 1 - large and two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have considered staying here before however not for £80 a night so when a 2-night B&B ‘deal’ came up I booked it straightaway. The deal specified breakfast included however we found out the first morning that this consisted of juice, cereal and toast. On the second morning my husband asked if a cooked breakfast was available and following a sharp intake of breath was informed there was an extra charge (apparently this is specified on web site but I specifically looked and couldnt find it) however he was offered a bacon and egg sandwich. As a non-meat eater I declined. Apart from this the room was so cold we had to borrow a duvet from my daughter (luckily she lived near enough). We were in a ‘superior’ double – hate to think what a standard double was like. The shower was just a mixer tap over the bath. On Saturday morning we were woken up at just gone 6 a.m. by the farmers market being set up. In their defence Marty the chef seemed pleasant enough and he did say ‘they’ had just taken over the business and had improvements planned. He was trying to run everything himself and had been let down by staff not turning up so as well as being host he was also the cleaner. He did take my comments on board and did agree with them. Before staying again I would ‘drop in’ whilst passing to see if improvements had been made.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back if there is a farmers market planned
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandG8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, Oxon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Unicorn overnight. The bar area is lovely, the rooms clean and comfortable (but a bit on the small side). The breakfast was basic (toast, jam and cereals). I wouldn't make a habit of staying here but perfect as somewhere to crash (we were going to a party being held in the village). Apparently a new managers is starting there w/c 25/02 so things may improve , so keep an open mind

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerryKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wasn't able to refer to Tripadvisor before this, my first visit for lunch. The barman was polite and welcoming but the food disappointing. My companion was supposed to have a baguette with cheese and onion marmalade; no marmalade, no acceptable alternative so, he settled for plain cheese - which came in a pannini. My soup was essentially tarted-up chopped tomatoes in juice served with a baguette (!) and spread, no offer of butter. The first choice of beer was unavailable as the barrel needed changing but the second was OK. According to staff the premises will be changing hands (again?) so let's hope a fresh pair of eyes will see the deficiencies. There's plenty of choice in Deddington; I'd need some persuading not to go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forgergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
0.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castle at Edgehill
Castle at Edgehill
#6 of 39 in Banbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Inn

Property: Unicorn Inn
Address: The Unicorn Market Place, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refurbished Unicorn Inn in Deddington. The Unicorn is a stunning 17th century country inn oozing with character that has an incredibly diverse offering. Not only does the Unicorn have a charming bar area and snug both complete with open fire places, it also has a contemporary restaurant, large garden, function room, relaxing coffee area and six mythical bedrooms. Johnny Parke (head chef and co proprietor) has assembled an exciting menu combining the best of traditional English and European cuisine with modern cooking techniques. All the food is locally sourced where possible and everything prepared onsite. Chris Brewster (manager and co proprietor) prides himself on his well-kept cellar. Providing great quality traditional ales and bespoke international lagers. The wine list has been assembled to cater for those who like the odd glass in the evening and for those foodies who like to match wine with their favorite dish. The Unicorn aspires to bounce back at the heart of the local community and be a warm and welcoming public house catering for families, couples and corporate trade alike. Chris, Johnny and the team look forward to welcoming you here at the Unicorn soon. Within easy distance of historic England's Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick as well as the Cotswolds, Bicester Village and Silverstone. Advanced bookings are recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Deddington
Unicorn Inn Deddington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing