We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Unicorn Inn
Nearby Hotels
$196
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
$108
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Aston House(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
40
15
18
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
15
18
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat pubcooked freshchurch bellson arrivalold buildingone night staycomfy bedvillagelandladycerealcharacter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 93 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have been visiting this delightful pub for the last ten years with my family. Are most recent visit was a real shame as the property has been taken over by new management whom, have not got a clue. The food offering was abysmal as was the customer service. There was always a warm welcome but our experience this time was decidedly frosty.

How can an award winning pub & restaurant go down hill so quickly? What a crying shame!!

Will not be returning in a hurry

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgfDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerefordFoodie, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

A surprising review as all the guests that stayed in May so far have been an absolute delight to serve After redecorating upstairs we have had nothing but compliments on the comfort, character and cleanliness of the rooms. Everyone I spoke to said they would stay with us again. Indeed we have just been awarded 5 stars for cleanliness after a surprise inspection by Cherwell Council.

I'm always amazed that if these complaints are genuine why are they not brought to our attention at the time?

The reviewer might like to know that when he stayed here last year under the previous Owner's Regime - the rooms andespecially the kitchen were far from award-winning as they had only 1 star for cleanliness from the Environmental Health Officer. The photographs of mould and neglect on this page are from that era. Not mine.

We take great pride in what we do here and our customers appreciate it .We will always try to correct any errors - we want our customers to come back and bring their friends.

However, don't expect Michelin style service - just very good food at reasonable prices, and always carefully prepared by hardworking honest people.


Our homemade Burger with cheese and chorizo is a real winner as are our regular specials. We are currently serving a South African Potjie Stew of Springbok and Kudu meat which has been a big hit .

On 7th June we are having a French Bistro Night- three courses for £25 with live Gypsy Jazz music - call us and book a table - we would love to see you : 01869 338838

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at this Inn for one night and I found the place to be full of Character. The owner was there to meet us and was very friendly. Room was great and quiet and overlooked the square. Breakfast was not too large which in my opinion is a good thing. Would definately stay here again

Nick

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerefordFoodie, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Many thanks for the good review. It is a real pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their visit and have taken time to post a review for us. The photos on this page are from last year - before I took over the business. We have spent £51 000 on repairs and refurbishments since !st February and the Unicorn is a very different place now. It is a great shame that these old photographs remain - they are impossible to remove and cause so much unnecessary damage to this new business.
The Unicorn is a really friendly place with helpful staff and young enthusiastic chefs creating exciting new dishes full of flavour. We have Tapas as starters - calamari, koftas, whitebait,delicious sticky ribs, olives, hummus, chilli chicken wings - all great for sharing with friends and family.
On 8th May we have a South African Food Night - £20 for three courses. The villagers are really looking forward to- trying out Tempura Crocodile, Springbok Potjie and Bobotie to mention just few of the dishes. We are always trying to make a visit to the Unicorn special so that our guests return.
We are friendly and unpretentious - so are the locals. Deddington is a warm and friendlyvillage and The Unicorn is a relaxed and comfortableplace to meet. Come and try it for yourselves - we would love to welcome you. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Food quantity poor. An 8oz steak was thin, more like 4oz and overcooked. Prices of desserts were far higher than other restaurants. Coffee was very weak, with little taste. Service was reasonable. Overall cost for main course, with wine and coffee at £40 per couple was poor value. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Max270243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerefordFoodie, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

This gentleman ordered a smaller 'Lady Portion' steak - it is a thinner ribeye steak and costs £14.95 instead of £16.95. He asked for it to be cooked 'well done'. This makes a steak tough and dry and is not recommend. There are lots of options on our menus; we also have gammon and chips, sausage and mash, lasagne and a homemade pie all at a very reasonable £8.50 (please remember £1.20 of that is vat and goes to the Government – not us) available lunchtime and evenings. Our desserts are handmade and cost £5.95. The other guests had our Cape Malay Curry and said it was delicious - a frequently heard comment from our very happy customers. We have a very comfortable bar and restaurant and a large sunny garden which is very popular at weekends. We will soon be hosting a South African Food Night which is booking up fast – why not visit and see for yourselves? We are a friendly bunch and we love feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have been visiting this pub for years, Many faces old & new, different times of the year, and of course, new managements. Talk about change! From what i saw the pub has recently undergone a refurbishment, changing the outside colour of the building from white to 'Battleship Grey', very dull and no representation of a Unicorn, which lays on the arch above the front door. As you enter through to the bar, a blackboard reads 'Saskia and the team welcome you'... The Lady behind the bar was pleasent enough and was doing a great job for someone who was on their own. It was a Friday evening and as you can imagine, quite busy. I wont go into too much detail about the food as i am still very angry about the price i had to pay in relation to the quality i recieved, to highlight, The Burger was raw,The Steak overcooked, not once, but twice, the chips were undercooked and the Loch Duart Salmon's taste had definately expired! Our meals were 'warm' and served to us on cold plates. By this time, we wanted out, so left our meals and went to pay. We must of waited at the Bar for atleast 10 minutes, our waitress was unable to take our payment as she was new and did not know how to use the till, after asking to speak to the manager to complain about the food, i was told that no one had seen her and that she does not usually work of a weekend. This pretty much sums up the 'New Management' up in one! To my disappointment I paid the bill and left. I will not be returning to this Pub again as it was a disgrace, Poor value for money, Poor Quality and No Manager!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mysteryguest101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerefordFoodie, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

You will have a very different experience from now on - as the new owner, from 1st February, 2012 - I have started a refurbishment programme. We have a great team providing a warm welcome and always striving to achieve the very best levels of hospitality. Our food is getting great reviews and the rooms are well on their way to achieving the high standards our customers deserve. We look forward to seeing you! Regards, Karen Baines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

well,stayed here last week for 1 night and 1 night only.

there was Mould spores on the walls in the bedroom and bathroom,no tea or coffee in the bedroom and pubic hairs on the bed cover.

the food was OK in the pub but over priced for the quality and presentation of ingredients etc

will not be going back again,lots of nice places to visit in deddington and stay/eat instead.

Room Tip: try for a room looking over the market square at the front and not the kitchen extractor fan,it is very loud.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purple b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews