We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wakedon cottage

Secluded Cottage, set in acres of garden and open countryside, overlooking the Derwent Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded Cottage, set in acres of garden and open countryside, overlooking the Derwent Valley.
Secluded Cottage, set in gardens surrounded by open countryside, overlooking the Derwent valley.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Secluded Cottage, set in acres of garden and open countryside, overlooking the Derwent Valley.
Secluded Cottage, set in gardens surrounded by open countryside, overlooking the Derwent valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Crich, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David M
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved our stay there, very comfortable, and in a lovely setting, we are recommending the cottage to all our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Thanks David.
Hope to see you again some time soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay for piece and quiet.”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were made very welcome by Keith. Cottage was very clean and tidy and had everything you might need. We sat outside in the garden when it didn't rain. Take the short walk across the road to see the views. If you want to walk to the village there is a good path along the roadside. We would recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review, and thank you for caring for the cottage.
Sorry it rained so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic place to stay for a few days. Very secluded position, very quiet. The local walks are good and can be challenging but then you are in the peak District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
Thank you for your kind review, and for being perfect guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara04...
Reading, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage with views of the countryside”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was everything we could have asked for. It was very secluded surrounded by woodlands, fields, lawns and gardens. It was so lovely to wake up and only hear the birds singing and the lambs baaing in the nearby fields.
The cottage had everything required for a self catering stay, although we did not intend to do much catering - coffee, tea and toast was about our limit. Perhaps at this point I could suggest that another set of mugs might be useful - only having four meant we were constantly having to wash up. However there was an abundance of everything else, and it was extremely clean, well decorated and very comfortable and cosy.
There were plenty of eating places in the area, local pubs, restaurants and cafes. All in all a lovely place to stay, and Keith and Daryl were very welcoming owners, who made sure we had everything we needed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Hi Barbara,

Thank you for the lovely review, and thank you for being perfect guests.

We love helpful suggestions, in future there will be extra mugs available.

Our kindest regards,

Keith & Daryl.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPigg...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful private secluded cottage.”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Wakedon cottage in April, on arrival a warm welcome was given by Keith and his bubbly wife Daryl. Wakedon cottage was a delight to stay in with the all the amenities you required.

The views and seclusion and privacy ticked all our boxes and I have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful private secluded cottage to fellow travelers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2017
Hi David,
Thank you for your kind words.
It was a great pleasure having you stay with us.
Keith & Daryl.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Hi Geraldine,
Thank you for a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and the surrounding area.
Kindest regards,
Keith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda980
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful country cottage”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here for a week and used it as a base for exploring Derbyshire by car and on foot. Despite a wet week, we enjoyed it. The cottage was delightful. It was clean, spacious, comfortable, warm (yes, we needed heating in June!), well-furnished and contained everything we could want (even a supply of books and DVDs). The owners were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

We recommend the fish & chip shop and the bakers in Crich village, and the local pubs for local atmosphere and a pint. Highlights for us were the Monday cattle market in Bakewell (but not Bakewell itself - touristy and v small), Chatsworth, the Tram Museum, Masson Mill, walks on The Roaches and Tissington Trail, Ashbourne, Sunday lunch in the Tavern at Tansley, the wonderful flowery hedgerows and a cream tea in Hartington.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you could want in a country cottage
Liked least: Rather dark inside because of small windows, and the noise of rain on the skylights.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Hi Jim,
Thank you for your review.
We are so glad you managed to enjoy your stay when the weather was so far from being at it's best.
Your review was full of useful information for people visiting the area and we really appreciate such information.
Our kindest regards
Keith & Daryl.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing