We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal base for walking in Derbyshire”
Review of Mount Tabor House

Mount Tabor House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Tabor House
Ranked #2 of 3 Crich B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for walking in Derbyshire”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We chose Mount Tabor on spec as a base for a walking weekend, having never visited Derbyshire before. It proved a perfect choice.. Armed with several walks from the internet ['Walks round Matlock'], we explored the lovely countryside. Mount Tabor was so comfortable and welcoming, a perfect place to return to. Though we are not "jacuzzi types" it provided a marvellous end to a 15 mile walk, and the breakfasts really set us up!
Fay and Simon were so friendly and helpful, and we would strongly recommend Mount Tabor to others.
Bryan Stevens, Highbury, London N5

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcsbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Isles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Set in the Peak District is the village of Crich which has a long and interesting history . Mount Tabor House is no exception. Built as a church by the local quarry workers in their free time and has been converted over time to a house and now a excellent place to stay and to get the atmosphere of a histroic village.
We have now been staying at Mount Tabor House when in Derbyshire for the last 3 years and visit the area about every six weeks.
We have always had a frendly welcome and find the accommodation to a very high and comfortable standard. The food is excellent also. My wife who is disabled and walks with cruches finds the place very easy to get around.
I could say more about Mount Tabor House but it rates as our No1 from a long list of places that we have stayed at over the years.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorWesternIsles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach CA, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Staying at Mount Tabor has been a great experience for both me and my 34Yr old son. I truly enjoyed the feeling I got in this re-vamped old chaple. And what a delight was The owener Fay , who in every way added to our comfort and satisfaction. Rooms , clean and inviting. Food, excellent. It was my second visit . Why would I go anywhere else? It's all here.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at Mount Tabor two nights. The room was decorated nicely with a wet room with very modern fittings, although one of the first things i noticed was the cheap white very stained rag rugs. Which I felt In my own house would have been in the dustbin. The room was cleanish, the window ledges were very dusty along with the toiletries provided in the bathroom and the leaflets had all seen better days. We were welcomed with a swift 'your room is downstairs', we later got more assistance with directions for a local walk.
One constant companion of the stay was their dog, who did not seem to respond well to any instruction. At breakfast it was constantly up at the table, although other guests as well as ourselves made it clear that this was not welcome when we were eating.
The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit and a cooked option, although as another guest commented 'A good breakfast takes all day', which it seemed to.
Car parking was difficult as there was hardly room for two cars, although you could choose to park on the roadside.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2008

This converted chapel is a fascinating place to stay. The bedroom was as good if not better then some 4* hotels I've stayed in (wet room en suite!). We had a traditional breakfast of high qualty fresh local produce in an impressive open plan communal area where we could relate to other guests. Visit the National Tramway Museam nearby!

  • Liked — The building (and the sausage)
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Stayed two nights with bed, breakfast and evening meal. Very comfortable downstairs room with king-sized bed and en suite bath. Hospitality tray. Friendly welcome. Evening meal was delicious three course home cooked meal to very high standard, which meant really good food without the hassle of a restaurant. Wine available, and coffee or tea afterwards. Full English cooked breakfast was so good I could not eat it all, and there was a choice of cereals, etc, as well as fruit. Extremely quiet and peaceful. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — High standards, friendliness, quiet, good food
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Lovely building with fab open plan living, breakfast area on first floor. Breakfast taken at shared table and quality of food was excellent. We had a large ground floor room with very comfy bed and excellent shower room. Check out seemed to be whenever you were ready which was much nicer than being turfed out by 10am like most larger hotels.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crich
3.7 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
1.3 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#1 of 3 in Alfreton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Farm B&B
Park Farm B&B
#1 of 3 in South Wingfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Tabor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Tabor House

Property: Mount Tabor House
Address: Mount Tabor House Bowns Hill | Crich, Crich DE4 5DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Crich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crich
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mount Tabor House Hotel Crich
Mount Tabor House Crich, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing