We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Tabor House

Mount Tabor House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Tabor House
Ranked #3 of 3 Crich B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms are well appointed - even to the selection of teas and bed-time chocolates. Fay and Simon made us feel welcome and, with Fay's tasty breakfasts, well-prepared for our day outings. We stayed here three nights. We would stay again, without hesitation.

Room Tip: The sleigh bed is 7 ft long - perfect for a tall person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst working in the area. The house is really beautiful with stunning views through the old chapel windows, the surrounding village is very pretty. I received a very warm welcome and felt comfortable and relaxed during my stay. I had a lovely bedroom with a large bathroom and huge cosy bed.
Molly the dog is full of character and I didn't mind her scampering around although others might.
Faye was very relaxed and laid back, the atmosphere is definitely 'family home' and the service is personal. I didn't feel rushed or made to stick to a routine, on the whole it was a really enjoyable week - thank you Faye!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

One of the nicest B&B's we've stayed in. Fay is the perfect hostess and Molly is the dog is just adorable and of course the room, breakfast and hospitality were top notch. We loved the very informal, laid back approach. We arrived late but it wasn't a problem. The room was lovely, very clean, warm and quiet. Extremely comfortable king size bed and a lovely large wet room, there was even 2 bathrobes. Breakfast was great, plenty to eat would. We thought is was well worth the money. Would highly recommend and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheUnwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed here one night recently and the hosts were very welcoming without the usual signing in and you must be out by such and such a time which was nice.
We had a downstairs room with a very comfortable bed and a wet room although we were not provided with bath towels which I am sure was just an oversight!
Breakfast was very good in an upstairs communal area with local meat etc and a nice selection of unusual jams etc.
As another guest said, the dog sort of takes over and it can be a bit annoying but apart from that we enjoyed our brief time there and it is handy for a stop-off on the way to the peak district.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

This is a B&B that is certainly NOT run of the mill! It is a converted chapel that has retained almost almost all the "church" windows. It is, at first sight, a bit pricey ~ we were charged £80 for a double room with breakfast when the 'going rate' in the area seems to be about £65 ~ but we don't regret it at all.

Parking is a bit of an issue; there is space for only two cars and a very narrow access to reverse down in the morning! Much better to park on the street outside!

There was a very friendly reception and a large room with a settee, plent of coffe/tea drinks, and a magnificent bathroom with a wet area rather than the usual poky shower. And the bed........ it was huge and very comfortable so we had a superb sleep.

Breakfast was a delight, with plenty of fresh fruit and a big range of cereals and cooked food, very nicely presented.

Would we go back again? YES, CERTAINLY!

And don't forget to visit the excellent Tram Museum in crich while you're there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalriada-Cardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just had a lovely couple of days at Mount Tabor. A beautiful converted chapel in the pretty village of Crich. The owner, Fay, couldn't have been more welcoming and her little dog, Molly, was an absolute star. Large double room with sofa, huge wetroom with underfloor heating and even a corkscrew in the bedside table - who could ask for anything more! Great place to stay for exploring Derbyshire and we were made so welcome. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

A wonderful break. The B&B is in an old converted chapel, with stunning stained glass windows. We had the downstairs double; with en suite wet room. The breakfasts were delicious, plentiful and very tasty, and with newspapers to read. Fay made us delicious afternoon tea, with home made cakes and sandwiches, which was just what we needed after a full day's walking. There are several places to eat nearby, and Fay was very helpful; there was also a big folder with suggested walks.

It's about a half hour drive to most of the walks around Matlock.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crich
3.7 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.3 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#1 of 3 in Alfreton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Farm B&B
Park Farm B&B
#1 of 3 in South Wingfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Old Shoulder of Mutton
#1 of 4 in Winster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mount Tabor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Tabor House

Property: Mount Tabor House
Address: Mount Tabor House Bowns Hill | Crich, Crich DE4 5DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Crich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crich
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mount Tabor House Hotel Crich
Mount Tabor House Crich, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing