We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Tabor House
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$145
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$112
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
21
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb and bfaymollydogchapelfabhousebreakfastderbyshireviewshostsgarden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 26 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2011

This is a B&B that is certainly NOT run of the mill! It is a converted chapel that has retained almost almost all the "church" windows. It is, at first sight, a bit pricey ~ we were charged £80 for a double room with breakfast when the 'going rate' in the area seems to be about £65 ~ but we don't regret it at all.

Parking is a bit of an issue; there is space for only two cars and a very narrow access to reverse down in the morning! Much better to park on the street outside!

There was a very friendly reception and a large room with a settee, plent of coffe/tea drinks, and a magnificent bathroom with a wet area rather than the usual poky shower. And the bed........ it was huge and very comfortable so we had a superb sleep.

Breakfast was a delight, with plenty of fresh fruit and a big range of cereals and cooked food, very nicely presented.

Would we go back again? YES, CERTAINLY!

And don't forget to visit the excellent Tram Museum in crich while you're there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalriada-Cardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just had a lovely couple of days at Mount Tabor. A beautiful converted chapel in the pretty village of Crich. The owner, Fay, couldn't have been more welcoming and her little dog, Molly, was an absolute star. Large double room with sofa, huge wetroom with underfloor heating and even a corkscrew in the bedside table - who could ask for anything more! Great place to stay for exploring Derbyshire and we were made so welcome. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondeatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

A wonderful break. The B&B is in an old converted chapel, with stunning stained glass windows. We had the downstairs double; with en suite wet room. The breakfasts were delicious, plentiful and very tasty, and with newspapers to read. Fay made us delicious afternoon tea, with home made cakes and sandwiches, which was just what we needed after a full day's walking. There are several places to eat nearby, and Fay was very helpful; there was also a big folder with suggested walks.

It's about a half hour drive to most of the walks around Matlock.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and we will certainly return.The house is stunning and the rooms nicely furnished and very comfortable.The breakfast-eaten outsde on the balcony with beautiful views-is exceptional,and Fay and Simon could not be more accomadating and welcoming.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We chose Mount Tabor on spec as a base for a walking weekend, having never visited Derbyshire before. It proved a perfect choice.. Armed with several walks from the internet ['Walks round Matlock'], we explored the lovely countryside. Mount Tabor was so comfortable and welcoming, a perfect place to return to. Though we are not "jacuzzi types" it provided a marvellous end to a 15 mile walk, and the breakfasts really set us up!
Fay and Simon were so friendly and helpful, and we would strongly recommend Mount Tabor to others.
Bryan Stevens, Highbury, London N5

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews