We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding Lodge”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Gettysbur...
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing location and view, but not without issues”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I stayed in Brekka for 7 nights. It is a modern cabin with a superb view of Iceland. The view really is quite exceptional; it took my breath away when I first stepped inside and looked out the windows. Sitting in a hot tub while watching clouds change over snow-capped mountains is not something I will soon forget. The property is located a convenient distance from some of the best areas in Iceland, yet is in a remote area such that it is hard to believe that Reykjavik is only 45 minutes away. Although I only spoke to the owner via email, he was extraordinarily friendly, and the online description of the cabin was completely accurate. Everything was very clean and ready for our stay. My wife and I now have some very nice memories of Iceland thanks to this place.

However, reviewing the cabin itself, with respect to other rental properties that we have stayed in both inside and outside of Iceland, we found this cabin to be about average. I hope the owner will not be insulted, and take my review for what it is: an honest attempt to provide useful feedback about the property. We had five issues, outlined below. At the end, I have some recommendations to address some of these.

First, there is an outdoor privacy issue. The cabin is indeed in a remote area, but it is situated with a few other cabins on a hillside. From the main room in the cabin, there are blinds covering most of the windows, but one door is uncovered, and there is a straight view from one cabin into Brekka's main room. Especially at night, we felt exposed to the other cabin. By the hot tub, there is a privacy wall, but two other cabins can still see people in the hot tub. We were so excited about the remoteness of the cabin, only to be disappointed that others could see us (and that we could see them), especially when some minor alterations to the cabin during construction would have fixed this problem. To be clear - we are not complaining about other cabins nearby. We are complaining about the fact that they could easily be blocked from view, but they are not.

Second, there is a floor space contention issue. The cabin has many small bedrooms that are suitable only really for sleeping, plus a bathroom. All of the other space, including the loft, is essentially one big room. However, the floor space is arranged in such a way that the amount of useful area is limited. The entryway space is only good for leaving/exiting. The main area (shared by a couch, kitchen table, and kitchen) is cramped a bit by the stairs. The loft space has a low sloped ceiling with a couch in the highest space, so one can only really use a small part of the floor, unless sleeping. We were only there for a day when we tried to do yoga indoors and we realized that it was remarkably difficult to find a spot that worked for both of us.

Third, there is a bed comfort issue. None of the beds were comfortable at all to us, and after two nights, we took the mattress covers of two other beds and moved them to our beds in an attempt to soften them up. We still had a lot of problems sleeping. My wife and I travel quite a bit, and the worst beds we have ever encountered have never caused this much of a problem. We also just came from another Icelandic rental with beds that were very comfortable and caused no problems, so this did not seem like some sort of cultural issue. It just seemed like not-so-great beds.

Fourth, there was a heat issue. The cabin has radiant heating, and when we were arrived, the floor was nice and warm for our feet, and we thought "This is great!" However, halfway through the trip, with three nights to go, our bedroom became very hot, and it was hard to sleep. The next night, we turned the heat down in the evening for all rooms, and opened a window, yet our room seemed even hotter. The last night, we had the heat set to low all day, and we opened even more windows, and our room was even hotter! I don't know if this was a quirk of the weather, the wind, the heating system, or all three, but I'm just reporting what happened.

Fifth, there's a occupant capacity / indoor privacy issue. This was big for us - for others, I guess it depends on how well you can stand being in close quarters around friends and family. We originally planed for more people to join us on our trip, but they could not. When we first arrived, we were sad that our family couldn't make it, but by the end of the trip, we determined, at least for us, that we wouldn't have been able to handle our family in the cabin, and possibly not even another couple. Here's why: we would spend all day close together driving all over Iceland, and be exhausted in the evening, and want some space to ourselves. But there isn't really any place anyone can go to be private. As mentioned before, the bedrooms are really only suitable for sleeping, floor space is limited, and everything is essentially one big room. I would have the tv on, and the sound would overlap with my wife watching Netflix in the bedroom. The kitchen table is small, and the coffee table is even smaller, so if even one person sets out a bunch of maps, or wants to play a board game or card game, it's going to interfere with someone else wanting to eat, or use the table for something else, etc.

Here are my suggestions for the owners to address some of the issues:
- Put blinds on door facing other cabin. Build new privacy wall near hot tub. Make it so both of these block views to other cabins.
- Have more bedding options. Provide thick pillow top pads that could be optionally placed on hard beds to make them softer and/or consider buying new beds.

Again, I hope this feedback is helpful. We really appreciate the hospitality and we had a wonderful time in Iceland!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you very much for the time you've spent for to write this detailed and reasonable review. I appreciate it, constructive critics do give us the possibility to improve our service.

There's though one thing we have to bear in mind reg. the very most of the vacation cottages in Iceland: they're originally not built to be rented out in tourism, but to being privately used in the personal leisure time. Therefore most of them may not fulfill the utmost tourism standards, just the personal ones. And reg the size of our house (which is approx. 50% bigger than many of the cabins for rent), we believe we're doing quite well there. This is the reality in Iceland, we really don't have the american sizes in Iceland, and we try to take notice of this fact by the price, which is reasonable compared to the prices of hotel accommodations , but of course totally uncompetitive in matter of such prices in other countries, like so many other things here in Iceland...

Still, what we'll do right on is to fix the blinds on the door and since it's a summer now up here, finally, we'll turn the heat of the whole house manually down so that the floor heating will react quicker, other wise it can take up to 24 hours to react. What I'm though wondering about, are the beds. We have reg 4 of the 6 beds downstairs just bought new quality beds from a specialized Icelandic company. They score high in the tourism here in Iceland, and have always done. But the somewhat more exclusive double bed in the biggest room, there the mattress may be getting a bit tired. We'll check this out, simply try this out, "we'll sleep on it" by other means! I will not replace the privacy wall for the tub, but may consider extending it. Nobody has made this remark on it hitherto, probably also because there are very rarely any people in the other cottages, all owned by foreigners.

Again, I'm grateful for your effort and the push you've given us to improve our facility (facilities), and I'll start working on it very soon -to let these exceed the common Icelandic standards:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James53
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lodge”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lodge is very clean, well laid out and furnished, with everything you need in it and more . Hot tub was very popular.Outstanding views and good location to tour the west of this beautiful island.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Many thanks for this review. We've laid our soul in all our holiday houses, and I'm happy to see our guests notice the good work we've done there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travels12...
essex, england
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow - This place is amazing”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful lodge. It has been a pleasure to deal with Jon and he has been very responsive in answering emails.
When we arrived we were all speechless, the lodge is exactly as you see it in the photo's. We were 5 adults and there was plenty of space. We made great use of the hot tub, especially at night when it started snowing. This place is definitely 10 out of 10 and I would not change anything about it. It was mesmerising looking out from the large windows, snuggled under a blanket and watching the ever changing weather and the snow covered mountains, I even got up early each morning just to sit in awe at the view. Highly recommend this lodge and will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Wow -what a review! Lots of thanks for these kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_1_pi...
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a very special place!”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Brekka, simply put, is amazing. We traveled throughout Iceland for 14 days and Brekka was by far the highlight in our accommodations. Have you ever stayed somewhere that you didn’t want to leave? That was our experience. Yes it has everything that you would expect, and then some. The owners were so kind to us, answering questions and offering advice (and we were very grateful we rented the 4x4 Jon). The views are amazing day and night. Do yourself a favor, stay at Brekka, it is amazing.

Did I mention that that there is some good bird watching for all you bird nerds?

Safe travels..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Many many thanks, Todd & Katie. You sure enriched the -in between quite a big- group of wonderful customers. And for somebody who might read this, having an interest in bird watching, just look up Nordic Lodges in the Facebook and you'll see the most beautiful photographs of the rare white tail eagle, made by Katie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol N
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Beautiful home in spectacular location”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From the moment we stepped out of the car, we knew that Brekka was a special place. Our favorite activity was looking out the windows onto the fjord. The view changed from minute to minute with the light and the movement of the clouds.

The home had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and some details that made it extra special. We used the hot tub every evening. The rainhead shower, heated floors and heated towel rack were nice touches. With 3 bedrooms and a loft, there was more than enough space for the 5 of us. The beds were warm and comfortable.

Jon was helpful and attentive from booking to directions to suggestions of sites to see. He and Auja even dropped off a chocolate egg as a gift on Easter Sunday.

I can't recommend Brekka highly enough and we hope to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Many thanks for your review Carol. Brekka will be ready for you when you'll be ready for Brekka again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Many thanks for this positive review -but apparently many people would agree with you... :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane M
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Out of this World”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We went to Brekka lodge as a family of 5 with 3 adult children from 16 onwards and when we arrived we all got the wow factor and were so excited to be staying at this lodge.
It was immaculate,beautiful design and outstanding views containing everything you would wish for. A lot of thought had been put into every day needs by the owner.
The hot tub was a brilliant sociable way to relax at night.
I cannot highly recommend brekka lodge enough. Thankyou for a wonderful place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you very much, Steven and Jane. We're happy to have provided the "wow-factor" to your visit. -Thank you for being there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing