We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely shop”
Review of Alafoss Wool Store

Alafoss Wool Store
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alafoss wool store is located in an old factory by the waterfall Alafoss in Alafosskvos, Mosfellsbaer. You will find a wide range of traditional Icelandic wool sweaters, knitting yarn, and other wool accessories. You can also experience this important side of Iceland's industrial history by visiting the factory building which exhibits a selection of old knitting machinery and photographs from the early days.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely shop”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This spacious shop is brimming with beautiful knits and knits-to-be. The prices are incredible compared to prices in the US. However, I found the prices at Handknitting Association in Reykjavik to be a little better and those at the department store Hagkaup to be even better.

If you're looking for Plotulopi (unspun Icelandic wool), this is probably the best place to get it. Hagkaup simply doesn't carry it, and although it's a bit cheaper at Handknitting Association, Alafoss has a WAY bigger selection.

I was at Alafoss just before closing time, and although the clerk was friendly, I didn't want to keep her from closing the store, so I didn't end up purchasing anything.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank knitcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    17
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun outlet for Icelandic sweaters, lopi yarns”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

There are some very good deals to be had at this outlet just outside of Reykjavik. All kinds of outerwear, needles, yarns, hats mittens, etc etc.
very happy to have gone there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelersrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Knitter's paradise of Icelandic tradition”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Alafoss shop is also partly a historic attraction and a cafe. Here you can buy hand-knitted lopapeysa (traditional jumpers), socks, hats, scarves, and all manner of other gifts and souvenirs of Iceland. The hand-knitted items have the names of the people who made them on the labels - a lovely touch.

You can also buy the wool and patterns to knit your own, and of course the shop specialises in the local lopi wool in several grades. They have introduced mail order for anyone who has travelled to Iceland and does not have suitcase space to take lots of reasonably priced wool home with them! Look out for first order discounts on online purchases, if they still apply.

We visited this shop as an unexpected extra on a tour trip, because there was not enough daylight to go straight up to the advertised destinations, and I am so glad to have seen the store in person. There is a bit of a history at the back of the shop about the building the current store occupies, which is interesting.

If you are in Iceland, near Reykjavik, and love knitting, this shop is a must-visit spot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank YorksClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant customer service from Online Shop”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Just wanted to share my incredible experience with ordering some goods from the Online Shop (from Australia). I visited Iceland in May this year (what a beautiful country with wonderful people!) and bought 3 gorgeous little woolen elves as gifts. After I got back I wanted more and so did a Google search and came up with Alafoss. They replied really promptly to my email and even tho they did not stock the elves they quickly sourced them for me and I was able to order 3 more online. I was amazed at the quick response. Then unfortunately the parcel got lost en route in Australia (no fault of Alafoss) and there ensued many emails back and forth between Alafoss and myself. They always replied very promptly and Lara at Alafoss was absolutely fantastic. She ordered more elves for me and they arrived soon after. Lara was such a delight to deal with. I can honestly say I have never had such excellent customer service before from any business! I thoroughly recommend them to anyone else wanting to purchase goods online from Alafoss.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place to shop for wool sweaters!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's a great quick stop if you're planning to do the Golden Circle route! They have a ton of sweaters, most of which are hand-knitted (and are therefore on the expensive side). However, I purchased a beautiful (non hand-knitted) sweater for approximately $30. And on cold days, I'm so glad I did!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EB83Phila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alafoss Wool Store also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Alafoss Wool Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing