We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I just love this shop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alafoss Wool Store

Alafoss Wool Store
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alafoss wool store is located in an old factory by the waterfall Alafoss in Alafosskvos, Mosfellsbaer. You will find a wide range of traditional Icelandic wool sweaters, knitting yarn, and other wool accessories. You can also experience this important side of Iceland's industrial history by visiting the factory building which exhibits a selection of old knitting machinery and photographs from the early days.
Scot in the US
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“I just love this shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Last year when we were in Iceland we took the bus here but this year we have hired a car and went there on our first day. I bought lots of merino pure wool multi- coloured 4 ply which I will use double as DK. It was about £2.50 a ball and I will get my tax back on that at the airport too. The staff were so friendly and even gave me a coupon for 15 Per cent off an online order but unfortunately I won 't be able to use that because of our government 's minuscule amount that one is allowed to import .I will just have to go back again to the factory!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Airmilesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    16
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than wool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I agree that Alafoss is a wonderful place to get Lopi wool either in already made garments, blankets, or yarn for your own creation but it is also a wonderful place to find a Viking style knife. The blades are beautiful with integrate carvings and the handles are hand carved from reindeer horn, whale teeth or sheep horn. You can actually watch a master carver at work. He also has an amazing German Shepard. The falls are actually right out his back door. Alafoss is small and easy to find your way around. Just park your car and walk through the village. I would recommend having time for shopping and hiking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The essence of Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

After spending two weeks in Iceland and seeing the sheep in picturesque valleys. It is a treasure to be able to bring home the wool from these adorable animals. I stopped in at Alafoss on the beginning of my trip and purchased a fair amount of wool yarn. The price is amazing compared to in the USA. At the end of my trip I stopped back and bought all my suitcase would hold. The staff was very helpfully and even tried to explain some Icelandic words in a pattern google translate had trouble with. They have several pattern books in English as well. Their store is a must see for the knitter for supplies. If you don't knit, they have a huge selection of garments and Icelandic products. Just looking at that the skills of the craftsperson is worth the coming to their store. A true immersion into Icelandic culture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could spend a whole day here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you knit, want to, or just love sweaters, you will want to go here. The selection of traditional handknits is terrific and priced better than in Reykjavik, by far. And there is all sorts of incredible Lopi yarn, the one thing that was cheaper in Iceland than at home. I should have brought a suitcase just for the yarn I wanted to buy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wool Galore!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I don't knit, or weave, but loved the Alafoss wool factory. There are so many different things to do with wool, and I think they have them all. We had felted a little, and had to be dragged away from the loose wool. The raw materials and finished products were high quality and a good price. And the staff was very nice and helpful. Plan on a lengthy visit if you are into any wool craft.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TezzaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alafoss Wool Store also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Alafoss Wool Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing