We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, though a bit dead in March” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alafoss Cafe

Alafoss Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $45
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: T
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, though a bit dead in March”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We loved our meal at Alafossi on a recent trip to Mosfellsbaer. The meals were well prepared and the fish seemed fresh. The atmosphere in the restaurant is really cool -- almost like a craft shop or an art cafe. The staff is quietly positive and friendly in that classically Icelandic way. I will say it was kind of dead in the restaurant on the Friday night when we were there...but the restaurant still served us with enthusiasm. We will definitely return next time in town. (I had a great Cod dish which was fresh and perfectly seasoned.)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank evanowenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    65
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southend On Sea
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This small cafe style restaurant was recommended by our hotel Laxnes. They give 10% discount to this hotel's guests. It is 15 minutes pleasant walk along the small Varma river, but it seemed much longer in heavy snow as the roads were very slippery and we had to ask directions a few times. It is best to write down proper instructions to reach this place and (or) go by car. But it was well worth the effort as the staff was so friendly and welcoming just like all the Icelandic people.
The local food, the service and the ambience was great. Five of us tried different dishes and they all tasted lovely. Lamb Ribeye, Icelandic Lamb soup and salmon were so fresh. They kindly made open sandwich for me which are normally served only for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and the environment ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is one of my favourite place, really quiet, the food is simple but really good and the overall experience is quite positive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KGeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“the BEST lunch I had in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

this little traditional style cafe had a wonderful smoked salmon dish which I would fly back to Iceland just to have again....great soups and wonderful staff. Right next to a little waterfall and stream and the remains of the old wool mill....across from the Alafoss woolen outlet. Delicious!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelersrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good venue in Mosfellsbaer area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Recommended by out hotel, Laxnes. Very good food, good value for Iceland, good service. Also an interesting ambience. Simple, comfortable with a traditional feel. We also got 10% discount by showing our Hotel Laxnes room key.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank titchUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alafoss Cafe also viewed

Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Alafoss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing