We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!”
Review of Alafoss Cafe

Alafoss Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $45
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: T
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved this restaurant, has a fab atmosphere and the food is delicious. As like most things in Iceland, it is a little pricey but it is certainly worth a visit. We went back on three occasions and never had a bad meal. The Kjötsúpa,which is the traditional lamb soup is amazing and I wish I could have another bowl of it!

The restaurant is very arty and we bought back a wooden sculpture which was made in the workshop just across the road. Lovely staff who all spoke good English.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChantalandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    65
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant, friendly, arty, with a waterfall outside the window: what more can you ask for?”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed nearby and found that we came often to this café. the food was great - a choice of just a few main meals, simple, but cooked beautifully. and the cakes were out of this world!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Dinner for 16”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

With a reservation in hand, the food was excellent and timely! The staff was friendly and spoke English and the place was clean with a great view of a waterfall out back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good choice of food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Loved their traditional icelandic soup, was nicely done and good place to relax after whole day trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KamLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The lamb soup was OK”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ate at kaffihusid Alafossi on our first night in Iceland this May. The restaurant is quite attractive and comfortable. However, we thought that their prices were expensive, so we opted for just their lamb soup. The soup had a clear broth, lamb and vegetables. It was good, but not all that favorable. We had lamb soup later in our vacation that was far better and much cheaper....but taste is a personal thing.....So others may like this soup far more. It was served with bread that was good. All in all, the restaurant is OK, but I'm not sure that we eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alafoss Cafe also viewed

Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
 
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Alafoss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing