We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Icelandic horseback riding”
Review of Laxnes Horse Farm

Laxnes Horse Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.41*
and up
Icelandic Horse Riding
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Laxnes Horse Farm is a family run business and the oldest tour operator in Iceland. Founded in 1968, the farm offers horseback riding tours all year round for travelers interested in the gentle Icelandic horse.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Icelandic horseback riding”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We finished up our 5 day trip to Iceland with a horseback riding tour at Laxnes Farm. Every aspect of the tour was excellent, from start to finish. We were picked up at our hotel, and driven a short way outside Reykjavik to the Laxnes farm. We had some help picking out protective clothing as there was a light rain that morning, then we were out to the stables. The staff did a great job matching us up with horses appropriate to our skill level (my wife and I are both novices). The horses were friendly and easy to manage, but with a ton of personality. My wife's horse was named Princess, and she definitely lived up to her billing! It was great to see these wonderful horses in their natural surroundings.

The guides were wonderful and very helpful. One of the tour members fell off his horse and into the (very cold) river, and they helped dry him off so he could enjoy the rest of the ride without his teeth chattering. We finished off the ride with some wonderful coffee and pastries back at the farm. Overall, it was a very memorable experience, and I would highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SethSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    52
    17
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing adventure for 4 non-riders”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Feb 2013 riding adventure in very close proximity to reykovik in beautiful farm setting with rollings hills and a number of water crossings. Amazing horses which were very calm and easy to ride for us non-riders. We enjoyed the outing despite rainy weather. The owners are amazing and it's clear they really care fore there animals. Cute dogs that help herd the horses make this experience even more special. We left our bag with all our camera equipment and they offered to bring it to us at our hotel in Reykovik. Would highly recommend them. Also complementary snakes (coffee, cake, soda, water, beer, etc$

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gclabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful horses and guides”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great horses (don't dare call them ponies!) with a very unique temperament. Because of their height, you ride an icelandic horse slightly differently and do a seated trot. The guides are all young girls who a pretty good and very friendly. A great day for all levels.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Thoroughly entertaining!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked a sunrise morning horse trek, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff there were extremely friendly. Helping everybody put on the outfits and choosing the right horses according to ability. We trekked through the beautiful Iceland wilderness whilst enjoying the nice sunrise. Occasionally the horses came across streams that had a layer of ice, to my surprise, the horses proceeded to stamp their way through, which was a thill in itself! All in all had a really fun day riding a horse, and enjoy some natural scenery.

Helpful?
Thank Zahid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, I wish I could rate it with 6 out of 5!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is without doubt my favourite memory of Iceland. The team at the farm let us take our 2 small children on a short walk within the farm on their friendliest horses, as they were too young to do the standard lava field trek. They absolutely LOVED it, as did we seeing their happy faces. The team were so friendly and welcoming, the nicest people we met on the island. The backdrop for the farm is spectacular and if we ever return to Iceland we will definitely return & hopefully do the main trek.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank familymacUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laxnes Horse Farm also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laxnes Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing