We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel - Reasonably priced”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

So, before I get into the full review... there are a few things you should know...
1) This is NOT a Hilton, Marriott, Four Seasons, etc... So don't expect it
2) The hotel is NOT in the City Center of Reykjavik... So be prepared to take the bus or rent a car
3) If you want a reasonably priced place to stay for you and your family, and you want your own bathroom... this is a GREAT option.

We stayed here for 4 nights in early August... We are Hilton Honors members, but were turned off by the insane prices at the Hilton Nordica. As such, we decided to get creative and we selected this property based on the rate (about $245 USD per night) and their ability to accomodate our family 4, with each of our children receiving their own bed. We also wanted a private bathroom. Finding these types of accomodations is not easy (if even possible) within the City Center area of Reykjavik.

The Hotel Laxnes is approximately 1:15 from KEF International Airport... Note that the Reykjavik area has 2 airports. The actual Reykjavik airport is quite small and it is not likely you'll be flying in there (though note that it is only about 15 - 20 minutes from the Hotel Laxnes). Based on the recommendation from the hotel, we booked transportation through Iceland Excursions. They picked us up at KEF in a large bus (with other travelers), then drove us into the City Center (about 40 - 50 minutes from KEF), and then transferred us to a shuttle van and brought us to the hotel (about 15 - 20 minutes further to the north).

Our room was clean, but very small. There was no phone, and no seating other than 1 desk chair.

There is a KFC and a Dominos within walking distance. And, there is a small artisan village about 10 minutes away, with a cafe, and the hotel staff can direct you there. It's definitely worth having a meal there one night as it is different than anything you will experience in City Center. Be sure to walk around the back side of the building after your meal, to take a look at the waterfall behind it.

We did not leverage any of the tours that the hotel helped coordinate... though we regret not looking at the options for the Laxnes Horse Farm. We booked all of our tours through Viator, and they picked us up from the hotel each morning. We elected to turn down the complimentary return shuttle that came with those tours each day, and took the bus back to the hotel instead, which allowed us more time to walk around the City Center. The bus is quite reasonably priced... but note that you need kroners in order to ride. Don't worry if you don't have any kroners... you can walk to the Tourist/office store (right up the street from the black Iceland Adventures office/station) and you can buy something with USD, and they'll give you change in kroners, which you can then use for the bus.

All in all... if you are traveling on a budget or want to try something unique... I definitely recommend the Hotel Laxnes. We would absolutely consider staying again if we were to return to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Amjar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laxnes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

My first trip in Iceland. Pleased to have chosen this exquisite,picturesque hotel, surrounded by beauty of nature, the beautiful mountain, valley, streams, 2 golf course, and other basic facilities is easily accessible.

Very impressed with my room, spotlessly clean and comfy!
Thanks a million to Shaun and his staff who had been very helpful offering necessary tourists information.

Karen C from London.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London9992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at hotel laxnes in July. We loved our stay at this Beautiful hotel. The view from the room was spectacular. Nunu & Shaun at reception were very helpful & recommended & booked some amazing tours for us. Would love to come back & stay here again. Vik & Jules Sydney, Australia

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Vrangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at Laxnes recently, the room was comfortable, reasonably priced, but the thing that will keep us going back is the customer service we received from the manager Shaun. It was amazing. He organised some incredible tours for us. He is a asset to the company. Thanks Shaun, and thanks to the young guy who works the bar. He was awesome too.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MissHurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Myself and my sister stayed at the Hotel Laxnes for 5 night in early March.
Room: we had a large spacious room, two beds, 3 door wardrobe, desk with kettle and complimentary tea and coffee, coffee table and sofas (which was a nice touch), TV with mainly news channels which was fine as we weren't in the room too often, bathroom was spacious with a bath tub, a balcony overlooking the mount Esja - amazing views and fresh clean towels provided everyday. The rooms were always very nice and warm when we came back from a excursions. Overall had a nice comfortable sleep on all days.
Hotel Staff & facilities: breakfast was provided with the usual tea, coffee, juice, yoghurt, porridge, toast, cheese, salads and fruit. Not your full English breakfast so would be great if fried eggs, veg sausages, hash browns could be introduced. The area where breakfast is served is very nice and on some days where there are sports showing a projector is put up on the wall. Their is a little lounge area where you can sit on the sofas and a pool table as well (at a cost). It's very cosy there and gave me a very nostalgic feel to when I went on a countryside trip in the UK. The staff were all very friendly! They helped us with sorting out any excursions and also kindly put out notices of when the Northern Lights tour would be running.
Local area: Their is a KFC and dominos pizza nearby which we went to a couple of times. Also two local supermarkets in the area too, one is called krona and the other has a pink pig sign (can't remember the name) but it's basically the equivalent of our Tesco etc. in the UK. It was helpful as we brought some snacks over to the room to keep us going. We had a few days off so we asked the hotel manager if there was anything to do in the local area. He gave us a few walking trails which led us to a mini hot spring and also to the Alafoss village which had a very nice café/restaurant there and as the name suggests, a gorgeous waterfall just outside it. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you to downtown Reykjavik (city centre) in about 20-30mins. You do need exact change though for the bus, I believe it was about 5 Icelandic kronas.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room facing the mountain, it's absolutely gorgeous!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Miss_SB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Large room and bathroom with an actual bath, which is unusual in Iceland. Plenty of local facilities nearby - shops, food outlets, bakery, filling station. Free parking. Close to Reykjavik.
We totally failed to understand why this hotel has such good ratings. It was nothing more than OK in every way, certainly nowhere I would return. Located in a commercial area by a busy road, so noisy that it was impossible to keep the windows open. Hotel details show guests enjoying the hot tub - this did not seem to be in use while we were there. Breakfast was served in the bar which was a bit smelly and seedy. Breakfast options limited and lacking in fruit and decent bread. Could not get wifi to work at all.

Room Tip: We had a very large, light room on the first floor.. I do not know how this compares to other rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi eewatts, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn´t have a better stay with us and make use of the hot tub and the wifi, which if asked, we could of assisted you. We will certainly learn from your comments re. the breakfast and see what we can do to improve. We are here to make your stay better, it´s unfortunate we missed that opportunity. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I recently got back from a stay in Iceland.I stayed at hotel Laxnes in Mossfellsbaer near Reykjavik.In a small town with plenty of places to eat nearby,some fast food like KFC and subway but also a wonderful cafe/restaurant at Alafoss which is also an art gallery a few minutes away.The hotel is very comfortable with a cosy bar where you can mingle with other guests in the evening.Also they show sports on a big screen which brings in the locals,it was the world cup while i was there.The staff are friendly and Shaun the manager is very helpful,he will give directions and maps,will give trip advice and arrange it for you,bus times and trasport advice etc.All in all i had a fantastic time and even had a couple of sunny days!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,709 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: $196 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing