We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Laxnes. The first two nights of our vacation, we had a spacious suite on the second floor which had a nice view of the surrounding hills. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We were only a 15 - 20 minute drive to Reykjavik and about an hour from the start of the Golden Circle route. An adequate, Icelandic style buffet breakfast was included in our price. On the last day of our trip we came back to this hotel and we had a room on the first floor, facing the parking lot. We found the Hotel Laxnes to be quiet and the front desk people were helpful answering our questions. The only slight negative was we were told that we could have an early breakfast a 7 a.m. because we had an early flight to catch. The buffet normally opens at 7:30. We were at the doors at 7 a.m., and no one showed up until 7:25 a.m.. To improve this in the future, the people at the front desk need to communicate with the breakfast staff this change in time.

Room Tip: I would request the corner suite on the second floor facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    287
    88
    10
    7
See reviews for
194
481
62
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Came to Iceland on a fly drive, B&B basis. First thing that gets you it is a good 3/4 hour drive from the airport to Reykjavik this was my first shock as last time we flew into Reykjavik the airport was in the city. The drive in is fine though with good direction signs.
The hotel is about 15 to 20 mins from the city centre traffic depending but should the urge take you, use the no 15 bus into town the stop is outside the hotel. The hotel is well situated to tour the south west corner of Iceland but other areas outside are a bit far for day trips and Pingvillar Is only 3/4 hour drive.
Accommodation is fair to good we had a studio with a fridge, two ring electric hob and TV but this was only on ones or twice as we where not in Iceland to watch TV.
Breakfast is again ok but I would like to see a bit more variety on offer.
Your welcome is fantastic and nothing is a problem to the staff, and I would recommend the little bar to relax after your day out, as the staff go out there way to make you fell like it is your local. But as with all things in Iceland beer is expensive, but there is a pool table and games to keep you occupied.

I ask my self would I stay again well yes I would thanks to the staff for a good holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J_G61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff at the Hotel Laxnes when we stayed in August 2012. We had a beautiful room overlooking the mountains which was large, clean and had a lovely en suite bathroom. The breakfast was really good, plentiful and freshly prepared. We were able to access internet to message home on the hotels computer in reception and we never felt hurried or pressured to be be quick when doing so. The staff were helpful with regard to recommendations of places to visit and restaurants to try.

We would love to visit Iceland again but will possibly head closer to town just because some of the organised trips will not pick up from Laxnes which made it difficult at times to get into town to meet the transport. We loved our stay with Hotel Laxnes and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

OK, Hotel Laxnes is a fifteen minute ride of downtown Reykjavik. That's about the only downside. The hotel is small, very clean and very straightforward. Nothing fancy, just a great place to sleep. you should be on the go most of the time you're in Iceland, not lounging around the hotel. If you want to be walking distance from downtown, this isn't for you although the city bus stops right across the street and will have you downtown in a few minutes. ALL the tour operators will pick you up at Hotel Laxnes. There's a cool little village (Alafossi) that's a 10-minute walk away with a sweet little bistro and the area is quiet. One of the great reasons to book this hotel is Shaun, the British-born and very friendly guy who will take care of everything you need in terms of booking fun trips--and making sure all the arrangements are handled. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Laxnes and never regretted that we weren't in the mix downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cracker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for your compliments and yes its all to do with location and that personal touch needed along with our cozy bar tavern to enjoy a drink in the evenings.I love my work with tourism and its my pleasure to share my experiences with you all .Number 1 is to keep the hotel clean and to offer a great service and to guide you everyone to our local trails which take you to hiden waterfalls in the area !We are happy to be able to ofer the best of both worlds being close enough to Reykjavik City and almost in the country side .Best Wishes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

the hotel is a little like a motel, with the rooms across the car park from the main building. It also serves as the local tourist information office. the rooms were warm. the staff were really friendly. the lounge area is cosy, with lots of books and a pool table. views out of the windows are great. And there are lots of good walks from here.

it is a half-hourly bus ride from the middle of Reykjavik. the bus takes about 25 minutes. The Iceland Excursions buses treat it as a Reykjavik hotel, so do not charge extra to pick up.

It does an evening meal between 7 and 830 pm, but we really liked the Cafehusid Alafoss, a short walk away

Room Tip: ask to overlook the hills - most do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I brought a group of high school students to Iceland to study the geothermal and hydroelectric power of Iceland and worked primarily through the staff of this hotel to set it all up. They were excellent in finding information and putting me in contact with the people I needed to talk to. Once we arrived they bent over backwards to help us get around and make all of our goals come true. The rooms were very comfortable and we always felt safe here. We were able to hike right into the mountains from the hotel, as well as find groceries, gas, bakery and other amenities within a short walking distance. I would recommend Hotel Laxnes to anyone!

Room Tip: Our group had rooms upstairs and down and we liked them all. Some rooms lead directly outside while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fantastic friendly hotel in a great location. Fantastic staff always willing to help or answer any questions. The lobby is well stocked with information leaflets and has a computer for free internet access. There is free WiFi in the rooms and it is close to some fantastic local amenities such as the local bakery, swimming pool and supermarkets.

Room Tip: room nine is the suite and has fantastic views to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#13 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing