We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

For our first trip to Iceland we decided to stay a little away from the city center and get in touch with nature. Hotel Laxnes is amazing! It is surrounded by beautiful hiking trails and streams, extremely close to mountains. The morning view is absolutely amazing. It is also only a short city bus ride to Reykavik center and we were able to go every day and come back to the peaceful town of Mosfellsbaer. The breakfast was healthy and filling and the staff was amazing!! The hotel manager Shaun is so knowledgeable of the area and Iceland and never led us in the wrong direction. I will definitely be back and stop by this hotel just for the great experience again. I would recommend to anyone who wants the highlights of Reykavik with being able to sleep in silence. The only thing is there are few restaurants, so plan your night where you eat downtown or come back early enough to eat before everything closes down.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are slanted and have amazing beds with a great mountain view. Higher floors have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    306
    99
    14
    7
See reviews for
218
521
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel Laxnes was perfect for our needs on our recent photography trip - the ideal `launch pad` to hit the road early in the morning and get into the interior (north, South or East) with the minimum of hassle. Coming back at night (or the following day depending on Aurora activity) we knew we would have a warm room and comfortable bed to look forward to. Helpful (but typically Icelandic `gruff`) staff looked after our needs perfectly. For the one night we couldn't get out due to weather we spent a fun night in the bar on the pool table.
On the day we was due to fly out to Iceland Sean called me up to let me know the procedure for letting ourselves into our room as it doesn't have a 24 hour reception and we was due to arrive very late at night (2am) - a nice personal touch. I would certainly recommend this hotel to other photographers & explorers planning an expedition to this most beautiful of countries - Thank you Hotel Laxnes!! Hope to see you all again soon..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkSimmsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This basic B&B certainly makes up for its out-of-town location with friendly staff and great service.
Rooms are simple - but you don't come to Iceland to hang out in your room.
Breakfast is buffet style and hearty enough to set you up for a day's exploring.
Lovely staff member (sorry, didn't catch your name Mr Helpful South African Accent Man) shared loads of tips for exploring, trips and directions which really came in handy.
The bus leaves from right outside (no 15, twice an hour) and takes about 20 mins into city centre, and there's plenty of easy parking if you have your own car.
All in all, a successful stay if you're planning on being out and about - but maybe there are better locations if you're up for Reyjavik partying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose the Hotel Laxnes because of the good reviews on Trip adviser. It is a Budget style motel with fantastic views of the mountains to the North. The room were fine although a bit hot for the first couple of days. Sean and the rest of the staff were great and helped in advice and tours. We chose the 4x4 grand tour with snowmobiles up the Langjokull glacier, Gulfoss waterfall..Geysers. A fantastic day out and this made our trip. We'd hoped to see the Northern lights but in the 4 days we were there they not visible. We'd hired a car from the airport which we parked outside our room and used to drive up the southern coast to Vik via the many awesome waterfalls and EYJAFJALLAJOKULL the famous volcano. A great day although the weather changed from wonderful sunshine and blue sky's to driving snow and gales..all in the same morning. An absolutely fantastic island and one which we will return to again.
Recommend Icelandic air for travel. top notch budget airline.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We spend a wonderful week at Hotel Laxnes. Shaun was fantastic in recommending trips and tips around Iceland and Mosfellsbaer. The hotel has a great view of the mountain range (ask for a mountain view room) and there are plenty of walks in the area. The room was a little basic but comfortable. The hotel bar and breakfast area are spot on. Tasty breakfasts made a great start to each day. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Hotel Laxnes is a lovely clean budget hotel with friendly staff and complementary breakfast and WiFi. We rented studio rooms which were large with a nice view. The hotel is located in the outskirts of town but next to a bus stop which allows you to be in town within fifteen minutes. There is a convenience store across the street to pick up drinks and snacks and there is also a Subway inside if you just want a quick inexpensive meal. We had dinner at Kaffihusio Alafossi, a short walk from the hotel, which offered simple yet savory meals. If you go you have to try the Skyr pie. We rented an SUV through the hotel, which was extremely convenient, and toured the Golden Circle. If you plan on renting a car Hotel Laxnes is in a great location for making day trips and they offer free parking. They also made airport transfer reservations for us which included a stop at the Blue Lagoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marayga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here April 2013 for 4 nights, perfect hotel, this was our second time to Iceland, stayed at Hotel Cabin first time last November, these hotels cannot be compared, the Cabin Hotel was extremely basic, rooms very hostel like, but the Hotel Laxnes was much better by far, very friendly and helpful, breakfast porridge was just what you needed on a cold morning. We stayed in one of the balcony type rooms with a velux balcony, room was large and the balcony looked into the snowy mountains. I wanted to stay out of the city centre this time so if the northern lights occured we could just look out from the balcony, as the hotel is in a quiet area not much lit up from the back towards the mountains, whereas last time we drove out every night away from city lights and when the lights dont appear it starts to get very boring , sitting in a cold car for hours, this time we could sit in the bar or in our room having a drink and staying warm and cosy ( they didnt occur mind, will just have to go back) and if we do return we would definately stay at the hotel Laxnes. Also we ate twice at the bar up the road next to Kronan supermarket, the bar was called White Knight and the food was superb.

Room Tip: upgrade to the balcony velux room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing