We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here.”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Got back this afternoon and already thinking about going back. Brilliant hotel with excellent views of mountains in a peaceful location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great view of the Northern Lights from the hotel and lots of wonderful trips from Reykjavik which is only a short bus ride away. Thank you to the staff for making our trip so enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi Linda B, thank you for review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Loved the first line: "back this afternoon and already thinking about going back" that says it all for us, and we look forward to welcoming you back! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laxnes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel had everything we wanted for a few days stay and the rooms were comfortable, clean and most importantly lovely and warm to get back to from a cold night/day trip. We loved the pool table and little bar and the staff were really helpful. we didn't have a mountain view room with balcony etc but didnt need it as we had so much packed into our 4 day trip we were barely there. We saw a beautiful display of Northern Lights out on a trip, I would highly recommend The Blue Lagoon, and the Golden Circle. I would definitely stay at hotel Laxnes again. Tip: Try the bakery thats a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, it's lovely (you need to take a ticket with a number on your way in, we didnt realise and stood in line for no reason!) My only disappointment was that we only had 4 days, looking forward to going back! On our last day we noticed a hot tub out the back, which we never saw in use, not sure why it was never in use (may only be open in summer) but it would have been an added bonus of guests are able to use it, and if they are, we weren't told about it

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi Tara L, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Yes our local bakery is a treat! As for the hot tub, when its open, we´ll definately take your word and let everyone know. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights 8-11 March 2013 and would definitely recommend it. The hotel has lots of character and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We liked being situated outside of Reykjavik and we took a local bus into Reykjavik. The bus stop is 1 minute walk from the hotel and they ran twice an hour. There are also supermarkets and fast food outlets nearby whilst still being quite remote and near the mountains. We upgraded our room to one at the back of the hotel so that we had lovely mountain views and the floor to ceiling window enabled us to look at the Northern Lights whilst still being in bed! The room was very spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi Karen J, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well what can I say - we arrived back from our stay at the hotel Laxnes in Iceland yesterday and I already want to go back!

We saw some beautiful and fantastic scenery in Iceland – waterfalls (including gullfoss where we saw a wonderful rainbow over the waterfall!), geysers (which had us mesmerised as they bubbled and then propelled into the sky), a wonderful glacier (my favourite thing - so blue and completely breath taking!), volcanoes, lakes (including the wonder of pingvellir - the most picturesque location you can imagine....), snow topped mountains, lava fields, the awesome and powerful black sand beach, the tranquil and mysterious milky blue lagoon….and not forgetting the Northern Lights - which we saw for 2hrs straight, over the mountains from pingvellir national park - the dancing patterns and movement was beautiful to behold and we were also treated to further displays above the hotel itself when we returned from the national park - we couldn't have planned it any better! …. the entire trip was exhilarating, awesome and I highly recommend a visit...

Not only this but we did it all from the brilliant location of this lovely friendly, warm hotel in Mosfellsbaer - just 15 mins from Reykjavik. Our large and cosy rooms overlooked the snowy mountains and had a wonderful mini balcony and windows facing skyward in the roof perfect for watching the Northern Lights as we were lucky enough to do from the hotel itself!
The bar area/breakfast room was homely and a lovely place to relax and enjoy breakfast in the morning before a long day out exploring and a perfect place to chill out with a beer (gull of course!) in the evening and exchange stories with other guests before heading out in search of the lights...

Parking was a plenty (perfect if you have a hire car like us) and there are 2 supermarkets nearby within a few mins walk and a lovely bakery. We ate a lot of fast food from the local dominoes pizza, subway and kfc in the evenings as we were always on the go and had no time to sit down for a meal (this also saved money on expensive restaurants)....
The walk to Alafoss from the hotel is very pleasant and not too far at all so you can pick up a bite to eat at the restaurant there (with a waterfall view) which we did for lunch on arrival and find local souvenirs and plenty of woollen clothing items.

I also recommend paying a trip to the local swimming pool in Mosfellsbaer, heated natuarally of course and featuring plenty of open air hot tubs - it was a lovely way to spend an evening looking up at the stars and floating our muscle aches away....

My only recommendations to the hotel of how the trip could have been improved for the future would be: by providing fluffy dressing gowns in the rooms so they can be used in the night whilst peering out of the open window in hopes of a Northern Light sighting....And we like to take breakfast fairly late sometimes and would arrive at the breakfast room at 9.30-9.45 some mornings (breakfast is advertised as being served until 10am) by which time you had to ask for most things to be brought out as supplies of certain items seemed to run low - so if breakfast is advertised until 10 then the items should be more readily replenished and you shouldn't be made to feel hurried along (which we were on one ocassion)....However these are small gripes and merely a recommendation from our perspective of how to improve the hotel even further for guests - We had a FANTASTIC time and would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip to Iceland (which we do hope to make soon!)

THANK YOU HOTEL LAXNES AND ALL STAFF

Room Tip: Choose the roof top rooms facing the mountain with the mini pull out balconies - we had room 10 and...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi Sarahbells, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Your Iceland holiday sounds like it was all and more you had hoped for and we are pleased we were a part of that. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

only stayed here 3 nights,but were made very welcolm.our room was on the first floor. very warm and comfortable.lovely view over the mountains.unfortunately while we were there we had the worst weather for 10 years and all roads into reyjavic were closed.the hotel staff and owners put on food for us as it normally is only b&b.did manage to go to burger bar across road for one meal.everyone could speak english and were very friendly.breakfast very good,even had a kettle in our room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiecheslynhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi maggiecheslynhay, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. It was an intense weather storm! Thanks again for your review. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The girlfriend & I stayed here from the 8th Till the 12th of March, the hotel was slightly awkward to find at first as we had hired a rental car from Budget International at the Airport, we had the address but the Sat-Nav we had been given did not know of this exact address and instead took us down the road a little farther and seeing we had never been here before we couldn't find it straight away, after a quick call to the hotel and a brief word with Nu-Nu we found it in no time (roughly a 45 minute drive from airport).

Upon arriving we entered the reception which is also the main if not the only tourist information center in Mosfellsbær, we rang the bell and within a few minutes we were greeted by a very happy & polite gentleman who was the hotel owner (can't remember his name -_-) he guided us to our room which was Number 25, the room was very spacious and felt very homely, it was very clean and had a few good views from various windows which allowed for the room to be very light and airy.

Upon awaking In the morning we spoke to Nu-Nu about re-arranging our Northern lights tour aswell as what other things we should do while we were there, She was very helpful as were a couple we met at the hotel, they both suggested The Golden Cirlce route which was about a 6 round trip (taking into account stopping at Geysir, Gulfoss & for eating and general stopping in lay-bys for photographs) also recommended was travelling down the South Coast to a place called Vik (takes roughly 2 and a half hours including stopping at Skõgafoss, aswell as some other smaller waterfalls in that area).

All in all this was an incredible holiday that started at a very nice small Hotel/Guesthouse, all the staff are very friendly and helpful aswell as all speaking English which is very handy!

Also if you find yourself not knowing where to go to for the best spot for the Aurora Borealis then look no further than Pingvellir National Park (We saw them twice at this location as well as through the sky light in Hotel Laxnes!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrStevenBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi MrStevenBrown, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Your Iceland holiday seems like it met all your expectations and we are pleased to have been a part of that. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, wish it could have been more. It's about 20 minutes from Reykjavik, quite easy to find by car as it's just off the main highway 1.
It's located on the edge of a local retail park. There's a KFC nearby, a Dominos, a bakery and associated restaurant plus supermarkets and a petrol station. Being well away from the city there isn't a great deal of choice of places to eat. The hotel staff advised that they could recommend places to eat but we were happy with the local offerings so are not sure what else is available outside of the immediate area.
The hotel staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They booked a tour for us and gave us travel advice when we requested it.
There is a cosy bar and a large pool table available. Breakfast was adequate and consisted of porridge, cereals, meats and fruits.
The ambience of the hotel is just perfect. This is so not a chain hotel. There were examples of art deco everywhere which was a really nice touch. So many hotels are sterile but not this one.
We had a room overlooking the mountains at the rear. View is simply wonderful. Definitely worth asking for one of these rooms.
Hairdryers are available on request
We would stay here again in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountain/valley
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikeyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi bikeyspice, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Thanks for recommending the hotel and all it has to offer. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: $196 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing