We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel that exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great hotel that exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in November. We chose this hotel mainly because it would give us a half hour-or-so headstart on our Golden Circle driving trip the following morning compared to Reykjavik and we thought it may offer more hope of witnessing the elusive Northern Lights, as it seemed like a smaller, more remote (and we hoped darker!) location.

Both of these factors turned out to be true, but this alone would under-sell the hotel. The location was excellent. While the hotel appeared more like a motel from the front, the quality of the rooms exceeded our expectations and the views of the mountains to the North were striking. Our room had a full length picture window (that turned into a small Juliet balcony as it happens) looking out over the mountains and, by no mistake I’m sure, allowed us to sit in the warmth of our room looking for the Aurora. Which we saw, and which was totally amazing! Our first floor location set us above the nearby streetlights and we saw amazing Aurora activity (I’m sure it would have been more impressive in a completely dark location, but it’s not bad from your bedroom window!).

The hotel was a few minutes walk from a nearby supermarket and a pub/ restaurant, which was also excellent. The gentleman checking us in was very helpful and recommended each of these locations plus other options. The breakfast provided by the hotel was perfectly adequate and set us up for the day ahead. I would have no hesitation in staying here again or in recommending the hotel to others.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi C.Weeks, thank you for your review of Hotel Laxnes during your stay in November. Wonderful to read that you experienced the best of what the hotel and local area have to offer. Many thanks again and Happy New Year to you and your family. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    307
    99
    14
    7
See reviews for
218
523
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here with my fiance in August. I thought i already wrote a review, but I unfortunately just had to write a bad one and realized i never got around to writing this good one! Or maybe I wrote one on yelp instead....

Anyway, The hotel, while more like an inn or motel, was very cozy and comfortable. What made this experience absolutely phenomenal was the staff. Shawn, at the front desk, did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. He really went above and beyond and helped us with our car from sad cars which broke down (SAD cars is a nightmare, but thats a whole other review) and My lost luggage (Delta was another nightmare) Shawn was able to call everyone we needed to call to get our problems resolved. He was great at recommending places to visit, and gave us discounts for local restaurants (The white knight (hviti riddarinn) was really good and there is a bakery right across the street that we ate breakfast in every morning. It was so cheap and good, I highly recommend it!

We took the rental car (Once we finally got a working one) and did the golden circle tour, a puffin sightseeing tour, the blue lagoon, and 2 days we went to Reyjavnik. Parking and traffic were a real pain so the second day we took the bus downtown, which was pretty convenient and really inexpensive. If you do not have a rental car, the tours can be expensive, but we discovered that the rental car was more trouble than it was worth. So, if you don't have a rental car, just ask at the front desk and they will set up any tour for you with a smile!

I would recommend hotel laxnes to anyone looking for a quiet, safe, inexpensive, and friendly and comfortable place to stay! Thank you Shawn and the rest of the staff for making our trip memorable :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mel131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi mel131, thank you for thinking of us from August and taking the time to write a review about Hotel Laxnes. We´re pleased to have assisted you to make your holiday flow abit more smoothly. Happy New Year to you and your fiance. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week and I have to give credit to Max, Albert (the owner) and NuNu who made it so welcoming.

We had two rooms next to each other, 3 kids in one and had beautiful/stunning views to the mountains. Rooms were warm, nice and tidy and cleaned every day except at weekends. Max was more than happy to help with anything we needed to make it comfortable (extra pillows, hangers, duvets etc).

Breakfast buffet was the same every day but there is a great bakery just around the corner along with KFC if you are desperate - ok I admit we went in there on the first night as the kids were starving and the sports bar wasn't opened yet and we hadn't booked a car - but the kids had fun as they have big indoor play area with slides etc and it was a great start to a great holiday. There's also a great pizza place 5 mins walk and another tradional Icelandic restaurant not too far either. You also get 10% off. Bargain!!


Went on the Northern Lights tour next day and then hired a 4 x 4 out for the rest, drove to the mountains and saw them 4 days on the trot, along with shooting stars, meteorite showers, beautiful star constellations and the milky way..., heaven!!

Went on the golden circle tour, a must!!! And had a brilliant family holiday.

Will definatley return and can't wait to return,

thanks especially to Max and Albert!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jammiepammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Jammiepammie, thank you for your family review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Great that your family enjoyed the stay and all the delights that Iceland has to offer. Happy New Year to you and your family. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Four of us stopped at this hotel for three nights in December what a wonderful experience. The staff could not do enough for us. The rooms are clean and the location was perfect for exploring the countryside. We would like to say a big thank you to Albert and Alex for making our trip so memorable. This is a must stay hotel if you go to Iceland. Thank you for the Icelandic insinuation with the shark !!! Many thanks Daniel mcallister

Room Tip: Back rooms on top floor. You can see the northern lights from your bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Daniel, thank you for your review of Hotel Laxnes and we are pleased to hear that the trip was memorable. Happy New Year to you and your family, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Read a lot of accommodation reviews to choose where to stay and so glad we went for this one! Great service started before we even got there, on email - got our choice of room and lots of handy info. We arrived 2am on 23 Dec and still got a warm welcome. Our room was pleasant and the very sufficient heating was appreciated at that time in the morning! Views were stunning and location is great-even though everything was closed for Christmas. Albert is a lovely man and the staff are happy to equip you with anything they are able to. We had a kettle in the room and were able to get tea/coffee/milk from bar. Breakfast was fresh and well stocked. Room was clean and we even had a bath which properly warmed me up after those cold, cold outings. Hot water and heating is permanently available. This is a great spot if you're on the Golden Circle full day tour as it's on route back so you get dropped off first! Enough services within a stones throw of hotel, including bus stop right outside but we didn't get to try out anything as it was shut down on Christmas Eve and Day. I would definitely go back to stay there if I return to Iceland.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanies80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Beanies80, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Laxnes. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time over the Christmas period. Happy New Year to you and your family. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from an amazing 5 day break at the fabulous hotel Laxnes it was far more than we ever expected. The room was comfortable and warm with the best views imaginable always a pleasure to return to after our busy days out seeing the sights. Breakfast was great nicely presented with a good selection the porridge set us up for the day. Evening meal we had at the sports bar local to the hotel it was very good and reasonably priced. Nu Nu at the hotel booked our daily activities to the golden circle, south coast, horse riding and northern lights tour, we thought all the trips were good value for money and the guides were very informative. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Iceland especially for hunting the elusive lights, we witnessed an amazing display above the hotel, it was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitoldbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi fitoldbird, thanks very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes. We greatly appreciate it, concise and to the point. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We are currently staying at the Hotel Laxnes. The hotel is great, the staff are SO helpful in everyway and the view from our room amazing. We haven't been able to see the Northern Lights but have had a really lovely, relaxing, time trying.

Room Tip: We are staying in room no 9, it's on the first (top) floor, is huge and has great views of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi Nicola U thanks for writing your first review on Hotel Laxnes, we´re honoured. We´re please to hear you had an enjoyable & relaxing time. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing