We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel Laxnes is perfect if you like to be away from the city. It is about 15 minutes outside the city but with the local bus stopping just down the road and all the organised trip companies happily coming to pick you up and drop you off again its no problem at all. The hotel is very clean and the staff welcoming and helpful. We were on our honeymoon and on arrival we were upgraded to a suite. This was a huge room with double bed, a three piece suite and coffee table and this still left plenty of room, there is also a big balcony to take in the view from, very pleasant indeed. We had a kettle in the room and the staff are more than happy to provide tea, coffee and milk on request. The breakfast is basic but pleasant enough to start the day with, there was fresh tea/coffee, cereal, fresh breads, ham, cheese, yoghurt, porridge. We found Iceland very expensive but a tip for anyone staying here would be to pop over the road to the local supermarket, here you will get fresh sandwiches, pastries etc great to have a quick lunch with or to take out with for the day.

Room Tip: We had room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lakeland1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hi lakeland1966
Thank you for writing a review we really appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and wish you both the best. Many thanks Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hotel Laxnes is a great hotel to stay in. It has fantastic views and is 20mins to Reykjavik using the bus (number 15) The rooms are big and clean. The staff are first class. They will book all the trips you may want to go on. The trips are excellent value for money. A must are the Northern lights. We saw a spectacular display that lasted nearly 5 hours. The blue lagoon is a great place to relax. Every one is nice and they all welcome you to Iceland. Food can be on the pricey side. There is a world renowned bakery next to the hotel and two super markets, KFC and swimming pool nearby. Thanks again to all the staff. For door to door service Use "IGTours" phone +354 6155416 They can provide all the tours.

Room Tip: Rear room/suite overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTWinfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi DTWinfield, thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Laxnes, we very much appreciate it. Some great tips in your review. And thanks for your complements about our staff. Many thanks again Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is located east of Reykjavik but the trip from the airport by car was no problem. The hotel has lots of parking. Staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The owner offered to wake us if the Northern Lights put on a show and one of the staff gave us some good tips on what to visit and how to get there.
The room was spotless and roomy. The widows were operable so the fresh Icelandic pure air was very welcome. Wifi was the best we had in Europe so it was good to catch up. There was lots of hot water and soft soap but if you prefer a bar of soap make sure you have one available. Towels were excellent as were bed linens.
The bar is a really funky place with lots of atmosphere. Breakfast was presented there and it was outstanding with lots of meat and cheeses, porridge etc.
All in all this was a great experience after being on the road to 2 weeks and we will certainly return and stay longer.We will also be recommending this hotel to friends and encouraging them to visit Iceland as a destination or short stopover courtesy of Iceland Air.

Room Tip: We had room number 2 and it was realy good ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raymondocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hi Raymondocanuck many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes. We´re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel itself is clean and well-run. The rooms were a generous size and parking was convenient. It's a good 15 minutes to the city centre which, given the price, was something we were happy to accept, and it is convenient for the 'Golden Circle'. I've seen others describe this as a traditional-style hotel. Well, it has a stuffed arctic fox munching on a ptarmigan in the pool room, incongruously displayed amongst African effigies and wall-shields donated by South Korean government delegations. It is also plonked in the middle of what resembles an industrial estate or truck-stop, also known as Mosfellsbaer, next to a KFC (but given the aesthetic appearance of Reykjavik's suburbs and most Icelandic settlements this may, indeed, be a modern take on what is considered 'traditional'). Couldn't fault the owner (Oli) or the staff - although it would've been nice not to hear the Polish kitchen staff swearing every breakfast time (some of us do understand Polish you know). A word of caution, avoid the hotel's recommendation of the local restaurant Kaffihusid Alafossi (see my review for details).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank El_Caudillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi El_Caudillo thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Laxnes. It seems in general your stay met your requirements and we´re grateful to hear that. The decor, yes is a mixture something that reflects the owner´s taste, it is a privately owned hotel (certainly not a chain/franchise feel here). Mosfellsbaer, is indeed a reflection of the general Icelandic suburbs, which may seem industrial or ´not so pretty´to some, understandable. It is true we are neighbours with KFC, but to add to that as we are located in the central town centre we have easy access for our guests for buses into Reykjavik, food shops for self catering, banks for money exchange and gas to fill up your car for self drive. In addition, what we are proud of most, which is reflected in most of the reviews is our breathtaking mountain and valley views (which most of our rooms look onto), something I feel may be missing in your observation of this area. As for the local restaurant, that is something we will look into. Again many thanks Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I satyed at the hotel/motel in April the staff are simply great, very helpful and friendly. The views are fantasic.
The breakfast is limited but can't complain pancakes everyday :-) They don't serve evening meals which is a shame. TV is limited as no sky but the owner said he would be getting this during the year, but then not there to watch TV anyway. Would recommend car hire to get around as away from Reykjavik.
This hotel made the holiday more relaxed and a pleasant comfortable place to return to after a day sight seeing.

Room Tip: has 2 floors, top floor for the views although you can't miss the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reachelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Hi Reachelle, thank you for remembering us from April and taking the time to write a review. We´re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and shared some of your pictures of the hotel and area. Many thanks again, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved our trip to ice land and Hotel Laxnes provided a perfect base to explore from. We hired a car which I would certainly recomend, and parked it easily in the hotel car park. The room was very good value, and the view from the windows was fantastic. We found the self service breakfast more than enough to set us up for the day, unfortunately there was no evening service but the very friendly staff were more than happy to direct us to some very nice restaurants near by (that give a 10% discount if you show your hotel key)
There are good local services within walking distance and the bakery round the corner is great for stocking up on picnic treats. I can't comment on the bus services but if you have a car the location is perfect, only 15 mind from the city and very close to route 1 for seeing the rest if the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fi_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hi fi_webb, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes, we really do appreciate it. Your review was enjoyable to read as it certainly highlighted what the hotel and the area can provide for guests. Many thanks again, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon in mid-September. We loved our stay here, it was so nice to be a little further out of the city, which meant that we could see the aurora from our balcony without the city lights! All the staff were very helpful with bookings, and nice to talk to, including the owner who treated us to some shark and Brennivin on our final night!

General points:
- Most day trip operators will collect you from Hotel Laxnes, often you'll be the last to be picked up so less time on coaches.
- There are two buses to the centre which go every 15-30 minutes. One bus goes to Egilshöll (~5 mins away) where there is ice skating, bowling, cinema in a single complex.

Room Tip: There are quite a few different types of room available, depending on the website you book through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ojdyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hi Ojdyar, thank you for your review we greatly appreciate it. Thank you for chosing Hotel Laxnes for your honeymoon to be a part of that very special memory in your lives. All the very best, Hotel Laxnes Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,748 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
604 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: $162 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing