We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location just outside Reykjavik”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location just outside Reykjavik”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A great location for touring north of the city. Large rooms and great staff.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    309
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
532
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week, which we booked as part of a flight/hotel package.

Rooms: we stayed in a family room, with 4 single beds. The room was very clean and had a fridge and stovetop, which were useful in storing our food. There was a TV but it only had 2 channels, so we didn't end up using it. There's no hairdryer, but you can ask for one at the front desk. Great view of the mountain.

Service: friendly and helpful staff. Our room was not made up every day, but we didn't mind.

Breakfast: this was fantastic as it helped save us a lot of money and made it very convenient to not have to go out to buy breakfast. There's a good selection of cereal, bread, coldcuts, tuna salad, fruits, and coffee/tea.

Location: Mosfellsbaer is a town just outside Reykjavik, about 10-15 minute drive away. We rented a car, so it was no problem getting around. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. There's a supermarket called Bonus, across the street, along with 2 banks if you need to exchange money.

We had our own vehicle, so we didn't take part in any of the tours, but the prices seemed reasonable. We did our own Golden Circle and South coast tour. As well, we spent a lot of time in Reykjavik.

overall, I'd definitely stay here again when I return to Reykjavik

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kagome999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Well where to start! Hotel Laxnes is a wonderful hotel, the perfect setting and amazing views. It is located outside of Reykjavik which is good as you can easily head off. It is well run with very nice staff, special note to Shaun and Max who helped us with excursions. I recommend you book the South Coast and Golden Circle that the hotel offers - they are much cheaper than the other companies and are in small groups much better and easier. Thanks to Shaun we had discount from the restaurants near by 10% off which is helpful in a expensive country and being a poor country! Visit Alafoss restaurant, fantastic Icelandic food which is fresh and cheap! Overall, fantastic holiday for the price much better than many other places! Also, blackout curtains help when sleeping in the summer with the long days, the sun does not set well I did not see it dark when I was there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night, it was a nice, quiet and clean hotel. Though it was overpriced and the breakfast was dull especially for the high price. Easy place to stay if you are heading outside Reykjavik. The hotel receptionist was very helpful and the man at the bar was kind as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving (we arrived in Iceland around 6:30 am, check in was 2:00 pm) check in was smooth and easy. The room was very warm because we were on the second floor and on the sun side with a black metal roof, easily fixed by keeping 1 of the 4 skylights cracked open our entire stay. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, wireless Internet was fast and reliable. Only had two issues during our stay, first was the shower/ bathtub drain was clogged and would fill up during your shower. We mentioned it to Marc on our way out the second day, when we returned that night it was not fixed like he said he would. The next morning we went to the free breakfast in the pub and met Shaun Roberts (manager - dark hair) mentioned the issue to him and he said he would personally fix it himself, when we arrived back that night the issue was fixed. The second issue we had was, one morning we were sleeping in and house keeping came knocked once and started to come in. I got to the door and held it shut and said "no thank you!", but they persisted and tried again. Then later while I was in the shower they tried a third time. Went to the front desk and asked for a "DO NOT DISTURB" card (check your room for one), after that there were no more issues.
The hotel is situated in a great location! Very easy access to the min highway and close to the Capitol without being to close. We rented a car and there was plenty of parking spaces. Right around the hotel is a gas station, Subway, KFC, bank,and a few restaurants. Our favorite place to go was the bakery or "bakeri" we went here almost every day for breakfast. It is a cheap and delicious way to start the day especially since food is so expensive in Iceland. Another good place to eat is the pizza shop a few blocks past the bank, real brick oven pizza cooked by wood, also the White Night a sports bar next to the bakery behind the gas station, was good and a decent price.
Shaun was super helpful and very knowledgeable about different excursions we could do, his English was very good. The hotel room was large, we reserved a double room with balcony, and clean. The location couldn't have been better for our daily excursions. The price was great for what you get and the view of the mountains is a welcome sight to wake up to.
If we ever make it back to Iceland this would be very high on our list of places to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a great place to stay as a home base for your Iceland trip. Iceland is pretty expensive and Laxnes is relatively cheap. The rooms were clean, comfortable and large enough. The free breakfast is actually very good and will save you a good deal of money considering the cost of food in Iceland. Nearby restaurants are decent as well. It's also a close 15-20 minute drive to the capital.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you've nevet been to Iceland, be aware, lodging and food is very, very expensive. With that in mind, we tried to weigh our options and find a hotel/hostel that was affordable, and if possible, included breakfast. What we found was Hotel Laxnes, which was by far the best value that we found. Not only are the rooms very nice, but it is in a quiet location, and it included a very nice breakfast. It's not a 5 star hotel or anything, but if you rent a car like we did, or are ok with taking public transportation, it is your best bet. For comparison sake, we looked at the Reykjavik City Hostel. A double room there (private with 2 tiny, uncomfortable beds) was 14,200 kronar (about $115 or so). Then, you had to pay 1,250 kronar/person for linens and another 1,200/person for breakfast. When it is all said and done, for 2 people you are paying about 20,000 kronar, for worse food, less privacy, and less comfort...basically double the price. I definitely see why someone would want to be in the heart of Reyjkavik, but if you have a car or are ok with public transport, then Hotel Laxnes is definitely the way to go.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonAndAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,561 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing