We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with very friendly and amenable staff. Would go back”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with very friendly and amenable staff. Would go back”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We went for 4 nights in November 2011 for a special birthday. We had requested a mountain view and that is what we got. Spectacular views of Mt Esja from the window and the pull-out balcony. The room was fairly basic with wood furniture. There was a TV with Iceland TV, a desk and chair, bedside tables, 2 easy chairs and a small table. Large wardrobe and a luggage table.
This hotel has strange pull out balconies, where you can have a good look at your surroundings. They were easy to open, but a bit hard to close as I think some bits might have been broken! Good WC/Bath/Shower with a good jet and plentiful hot water.
There was no tea/coffee making facilities, but the owner kindly gave us a small kettle to use while we were there as I had taken tea/coffee etc. I managed to store milk on the rail outside the window!
Breakfast was a scandinavian style continental with bread/ toast/ rolls/ crackers. Ham, Cheese, Jam and mixed egg and mixed meat with mayonnaise and cereals. The coffee as everywhere in Iceland was excellent. We took weetabix and the hotel were happy to warm milk and then remembered to provide it everyday.
All staff were very friendly and helpful and would provide honest advice to places to go, trips etc. The owner recomended a restaurant on our first night. He said was 5 mins away, more like 20, through a little country park but we found the delightful Alafoss cafe/restaurant and got 10% discount.A car is necessary and there is plenty of parking. I would go there again and it was very easy to get off on our trips for the day as it was straight onto the main A1 road to wherever. I think parking in the city would have been pore problematic and also very expensive. A little gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Room 13 has a mountain view and is at the end of the corridor and so you can have your own access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    309
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
532
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We visited at the beginning of December this year .... The view from our window was amazing. Plenty of snow ... like a winter wonderland. Such a pretty place.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean.

Couldnt fault the hotel at all. Very pretty in winter with the snow.

Glad we hired a car - as the hotel is a little out of the way. On site parking is available free of charge. Breakfast is also free and was very nice. Lots of fast food places to eat nearby and a little shop.

The city is about a 20 minute drive and the Blue Lagoon about 40 mins ... same for the airport.

Would definetely return to this hotel if we visit Iceland in the future. Very pleasant stay was had by us. :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, which gave us a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keely0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The sole purpose of my 4 night trip to Iceland with my friend was to see the Northern Lights.
Our spacious twin room north facing had 3 sky light windows. The room certainly had character and was cosy, the radiators could be adjusted to your own preference and the internet access was good. The Sky Lights in the room were really fantastic day and night. Words can not describe the breathtaking views in the morning looking out at the mountains then at night either star gazing or if you’re fortunate enough like we were to see the Northern lights from the comfort of the hotel.

The hotel is located only 20 minutes bus ride from the centre costing approximately £2, Bus No15 the stop is located directly outside the hotel. We went for dinner and had drinks in the centre and found it very easy to jump back on a bus to the hotel. Actually for the excursions we did, the hotel was on-route so this was an advantage from not being located in the centre e.g. golden circle tour and laxnes horse riding. The village also has supermarkets and restaurants.

The hotel Bar was warm and relaxing and the service was excellent. I liked the Icelandic Beer called Gull along with the complementary nuts.

We had no prior excursions or activities arranged and hotel staff either at the bar or reception desk kindly advised us on their recommendations then with our go ahead they booked us in. I’d left my email address with the reception and they kindly confirmed trips during the day like the Northern Lights. Internet wireless was picked up for free in cafes and restaurants. The excursions picked up from the hotel and looked after you. We had a good group of people with us mostly from our hotel.

I would highly recommend the 'Laxnes Hotel' because you’re slightly away from the city and in touch with Icelandic scenery from the comfort of the hotel and surroundings.

I certainly with out a doubt would go back to 'Laxnes Hotel'.

Room Tip: Room with a View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights, asked for a suite with a mountain view, when we arrived we found that only one or other is possible, we chose the view. Breakfast is free each morning and consists of cereal, toast, fruit and cheese and meat. perfect for a full day. the rooms are of good size, the only thing we would say was that the pillows are VERY flat and not very comfortable - we only slept about 5-6 hours a night anyway!

there are lots of activies to choose to do although most are based in and around the Capital Reykjavik. the bus is 350isk which when we went was around £2 each way pp. the journey takes around 30-45 mins depending of traffic and conditions. (it snowed the whole 4 days!!!)

we did the northernlights trip and saw them, the horse riding trip with is hastar, on a horse through a lava field is very good, although, we were told to be at the BSI (Main bus station) by 1230, by 1300 no one had arrived to pick us up, we called the centre and were told that the bus was full so they didnt bother to contact us, they promtly dispatched a taxi (which they paid for) and got us there in time for half the safety briefing. on the way back the bus driver was dropping everyone off at their hotels, however when we told him where we were staying he was very rude and indignant telling us there was "no way" he was going there!! we got off with the first couple and found our own way back!

then the next day we did the golden circle with snowmobiling, this was AWESOME! nothing wuite like being on a mountain with 2-3 foot of snow and then flying around it on a diesel engine, not for the faint hearted but very good fun and some AMAZING views!

we also spent half a day in the capital - not alot to see or do. and we visited the Blue Lagoon - a must do

overall our trip to iceland was amazing, the weather was fantastic, snowing daily, the views were second to none.

on one last note, the Owner of the Hotel Laxnes was a star! we arrived at about 5:30 he told us that it was a good night to see the lights so we asked him if it was too late to book a trip he made 2 phone calls and we were picked up within 10 mins! we also forgot to pick up a bag from a restaurant in the capital when we returned to the hotel the owner called the restaurant and arranged for us to collect it on our way through the next day. also we were met on arrival by him and he made sure to see us to say goodbye on departure - not often service like that is seen now days! finally we asked for a place to eat and were recomended a place 12 mins walk away, turned out to be a really firendly place and even got 10% off!

would we stay there again? it felt more like a guest house than a hotel but we felt that added to the expiriance so yes, we would most definatly stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room to get the full view of the mountains take a few tea bags with you, its not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergkamen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

What more can you ask for: clean and modern, well-equipped rooms, a nice and helpful staff, fantastic atmosphere in the pub and reception area. A perfect location for all those who wish to be close to Reykjavík but who also appreciate Iceland's magnificent nature. Room rates are also absolutely reasonable - Hotel Laxnes can be highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 11 is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henningdrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We've just come back from a 3 night stay in Iceland. We stayed at the Luxnes.

Pros - friendly service; easy to find, right off the 1; opposite a KFC (?); darker than town so better for lights, great mountain views (ask for a balcony room); great communal rooms (pool table, darts, big TVs, stuffed animals everywhere); very clean.

Cons - far from town (4500 kroner in a taxi or 350 in a bus but they finish early); basic breakfast and basic room facilities.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowelfUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (UK)
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We knew this hotel was not in the centre of town, and chose it for this reason. Reykjavik is about a 15 minute drive away (we did hire a car) or you can get the regular no. 15 bus. The location, however, is great for getting out to the Golden Circle and sampling Iceland's natural wonders. The hotel itself is great. Really friendly staff and a laid back atmosphere and spotless, large rooms with good heating. Breakfast buffet is pretty good with as much coffee as you can face on a dark Icelandic morning. There are two thermal pools nearby which are great value (400 ISK) and a perfect way to relax in the early evening. Highly recommend Iceland and this hotel. Great value in an expensive country.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,554 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing