We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for view, stay for the service.”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
“Come for view, stay for the service.”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The rooms are big, clean, and with plenty of natural light.
And yes the beds are really comfortable.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
If You need anything just talk to Shaun, the manager. He can book the airport pick up, the whale watching tour of give you advice about the best places to eat near the hotel or in the Reykjavik area . Plus he has a personal knowledge of the best bars and clubs in the Reykjavik area.
Hotel Laxnes, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicalLatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    309
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
532
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We had a great experience staying at the Hotel Laxnes. Large rooms, friendly staff, and outstanding location. My only complaint is that there was no shampoo provided. Everyone approved of the hotel and the morning breakfast was a great way to save money on the expensive food in Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We flew into Reykjavik and rented a car. This hotel is probably about 35-45 minutes from the airport. We arrived early in the morning, and the room wasn't ready, but the staff invited us to sit down for breakfast. The hotel is located right off the main road, and has easy access if you're going on to Gulfoss and the Geyser. We were probably 15 minutes from Reykjavik, and it was nice to have a parking lot for the car. Although it was daylight throughout the night, the curtains blocked out the light and you could get a good night's sleep. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen7505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My college-aged daughter and I spent 5 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a little studio which was perfect for us. The hotel's very friendly and helpful manager, Shaun, and a driver, met us at the Flybus station and brought us back there at the end of our stay. In between, Shaun was a wealth of information, arranging for a rental car for us, giving us wonderful advice on places to visit and how to get there. Our room was quiet, spotlessly clean and large, overlooking the snow-capped mountain range. The breakfasts were huge and kept us filled for hours. Although there are not a lot of restaurants in the area, there are grocery stores and a couple of fast-food places right outside the door. Shaun told us about the Alafoss bistro, a great place where we ate dinner 2 nights - the food was great, the price was right, the atmosphere friendly and it was a very pleasant 10-minute walk from our hotel door. It's very easy to get into the city center on the bus right across the street, so you really don't have to have a car. We rented one for a couple of days to take day trips and the rest of the time we used the bus to get into the city. All in all, this hotel is a real bargain and if you want to avoid the noise and bustle of the city center hotels, go to this one!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed for three days on total, at the beginning and end of our trip in Iceland. Hotel Laxnes is in a great location, 20 mins drive from downtown and close to many natural sites. The rooms are spacious, clean and with an amazing mountain view where you can also see northern lights at night (if you are lucky with the weather!). You also get free wi-fi connection. They offer breakfast but no restaurant. The manager was really nice and helpful, he also suggested us an amazing day trip off the main tourist routes. Definitely a place to stay if you plan to explore Reykjavik and neighbouring areas but also a strategic place to start/end your on the road trip in Iceland

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picchio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed at the Laxnes for one night at the end of my trip around Iceland, wish I'd come across this place sooner. Great value for money. Every room has brilliant view of the mountains with a French balcony. A very peaceful atmosphere and Reykjavik, Keflavik and Alafoss are all nearby.

There is a large car park on site and also a bar with music & sports. The bathroom has a shower and a bath. Staff here are very friendly and helpful and good selection of breakfast is also provided.

A fantastic place to stay, I will be returning!

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank olitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This hotel was very clean, the rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The price was good and the location is perfect for visiting Thingvillir or the Alafoss mill. The only downside is that there is no restaurant yet (they do serve a nice breakfast though).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10102011o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,557 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing