We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“MR”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Living room
New patio summer 2017
Entrance
Entrance
It´s possible to see northen lights from late august to late april.
It´s possible to see northen lights from late august to late april.
Entrance
Kitchen, coffemazine, washer, toaster.
Kitchen, fridge, freezer, oven, microwave
Living room, kitchen
Living room
This is our family cabin with our personal thing´s
Toilet, shower
Autumn early october
It´s possible to see northen lights from late august to late april.
Horses in the area
Meðalfelslake - walking distance from the cabin.
Meðalfelslake - walking distance from the cabin.
It´s possible to see northen lights from late august to late april.
Kaffi Kjós, little store,restaurant,bar. 2 km away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cfillary
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MR”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We arrived quite late, but the detailed instructions emailed to us allowed us to find the cabin easily. The cabin was beyond what we were expecting with a beautiful view over the lake and mountains and all of the rooms were lovely and cosy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to come back. I cannot recommend this enough for anyone wanting to stay in Iceland.

Thank you for letting us stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Welcome anytime again. Thank´s for staying, it´s was our honor to share with you our little hide away diamond :). All the best, Lilja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Located reasonable distance from downtown. Next to the stream & lake, it made perfect vacation rentals to our family of six including 18 mos old my Grandson.

Equipped with outside hot tub and playgrounds.

Lilja (the owner) will send you complete list of visitors manual once booking procedure is complete. We'll love to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
It was my pleasure to host you and your lovely family, welcome back anytime :) Lilja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, adventurous family holiday”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We are so pleased we stumbled on the cottage on TripAdvisor. It made a huge difference to our enjoyment of the holiday and was far lovelier than staying in an impersonal hotel. During our week in Iceland, we had our fair share of some wild Icelandic weather (hailstones on a beautifully sunny day at the Blue Lagoon, gusty winds that made us want to cling onto something solid, snow and blizzards in the mountains that provided a huge sense of adventure for our kids - and some trepidation for us!). However, wherever we travelled during the day, we always knew each evening we would return to a warm, welcoming, well-equipped and cosy cottage. And having the hot tub was really fun - even on a rainy day it was wonderfully warm and a fun experience.

We are a family of five and there was plenty of space for us. The bedding and linen were warm and clean, and it was a fantastic base for our trips out each day. Lilja's instructions for the cottage and the directions and other information were so helpful.

We enjoyed being outside the urban area and into the countryside. On a clear, sunny day, the views from the cottage are spectacular.

There were lots of really great trips we went on, using the cottage as our base. Highlights include the Into the Glacier tour at Langjokull and visiting the ice cave from Husafell, driving around the Golden Circle and stopping off at Thingvellir national park, Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall, as well as the volcanic crater lake Kerid. The scenic route to Akranes (where there is an amazing bakery!) was also interesting and reminded up of the fjord-lands of New Zealand's South Island. We also had the obligatory Blue Lagoon experience, which was pretty fun. It was also fun hanging out at the cottage (the wifi, Netflix and boxes of toys were most welcome!), and there was plenty of space for building snowmen in the garden.

All in all, a truly memorable holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourist65...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cottage with hot tub and fantastic views ”
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage a little apprehensive however this feeling soon gave way to that of sheer delight. Not only is this cottage immaculate it has everything you need all at hand. The owner really pushed the boat out by hanging out christmas lights and hiding chocolate treats around the cottage for the children to find. All correspondence was swift and very professional all of which made our stay a real special one.
If your wanting a cozy cottage with a wow factor then look no further. Lilja S will make it happen nothing was too much trouble. The location is handy for the golden circle with all its treasures and only a short drive from Reykjavik and the main airport. The cottage is by a gorgeous lake and is set within its own private grounds all very private with a real homely feel.
Thank you for making our stay a memorable and special time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2016
Wonderful guests! The pleasure was all mine. Thank´s for sharing your special time in our family cottage. Welcome anytime again! All the best to you all, Lilja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Icelandic Vacation 2016”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great accommodations! Everything was just as our hosts said it would be. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was warm and cozy! We had the use of a full kitchen including dishes,coffee maker, toaster,wine glasses etc. which made our stay even better! It was like being at home only better.

Unfortunately, we weren't able to make use of the hot tub as the weather was being less than cooperative, but we were still able to enjoy the view from the large front room windows! The BBQ was also at our disposal as well as we were able to utilise the washing machine.

The instructions that were given to us allowed us to find the property without any worries. We also took the advice they gave us about the day trips and had a couple of great adventures!

A special note: our host braved the elements to make a personal trip to check on us to make sure that everything was working fine and to see if we needed anything. (That was a thoughtful touch.)

We were happy with this cozy cottage and would welcome the chance to stay there again!

Thanks again!

M&S in AB, Canada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William19...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in quiet location”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a quiet location with ample room for our party (6 adults). We sat on the deck enjoying the surroundings while the young people of our party enjoyed the hot tub. It is in a good location for day trips to see many of the sites of the Golden Circle.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
storeyfam...
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cozy cottage was exactly as described, it is slightly on the small size but the outdoor space was great and we were lucky with the weather which meant we spent a lot of time outdoors on the patio and hot tub. We had three teenagers so one to a room was ok but I would not have fancied having more to share. Fabulous location on the side of the lake, with snow on the mountains, well placed for touring around the South West of Iceland. We didn't have the tv on as only two channels seemed to work but we understand Astra to is being installed , but you don't come to such a gorgeous place to watch tv. Cooking was on the bbq which is great in good weather but only two rings in the small galley kitchen, thankfully we had prepared for bbq cooking and did a big shop on the way. We would happily have stayed longer and would love to experience a winter here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Size of kitchen area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing