We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay with dogs”
Review of Woodland Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Tracey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Cottages
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay with dogs”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We're recently back from a weeks stay in Owl, the smallest of the three cottages. We found the cottage to be homely, comfortable and well equipped with lovely views from the patio. It was clean and the linens provided were clean and good quality. We were pleasantly surprised to find the kitchen had a dishwasher and washing machine in addition to the other facilities. The grounds and surrounding woodlands offered a convenient location for morning and evening walks. Alison, the owner of the cottages was friendly and made us feel very welcome and relaxed with our dog.

The location was perfect for getting to lots dog friendly places including the local pub (The Hunter's Inn, I think) and some great walks along the Tarka Trail and South West Coastal Path. Also handy was the large Sainsbury's about 10 minutes away in Barnstaple and a number of restaurants/takeaways in Barnstaple and Torrington.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent if you are looking for dog (more than) friendly place to stay. Cottage really nice and we'll equipped. ( one of three cottages, sharing field and woods). Quiet and relaxing place, made to feel comfortable with dogs. Owners friendly and helpful (but not interfering). Only half hr from the coast, with nice walking areas. Hope to go again !

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FromCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheslyn Hay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I do not have enough time or space to write the full review of what a disaster our Xmas turn out to be. We (that's 2 couples with 5 small dogs) were really looking forward to spend the Xmas week here. But alas it last 1 night.

We were in the middle f the 3 cottages.
The walls were damp and running with condensation.
The gas fire did not work.
The one time we took the dogs out they came back covered in Diesel. That's when we found out you only had a regular shower fixed to the wall to try and wash them.
There was a notice on the kitchen table informing us of "rule changes" so longer the dog friendly location it was meant to be.
There was no welcome for the owners.
We were told there was internet - a requirement for us because of work. No way could we connect.
When we had to call them out because of the heating - we were told "what do expect, you people are used to central heating".

Now we were prepared for the bad weather but that attitude was enough to make us feel unwelcome enough to leave first this next morning.

When we arrived home we told the owners we had left and why. There was never even an offer of a refund.
Merry Xmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have stayed at Woodland Cottages on three occasions, all for three or four nights in early October. Four years ago we stayed in Swallow Cottage with our son, daughter in law and one granddaughter, making five of us in all, plus one Labrador. We found the accommodation excellent. Two years ago my wife and I and two Labradors, booked Owl Cottage, and on hearing we were going, my son and family (now four) took Badger Cottage. Again we found the accommodation excellent. This year, my wife and I tried to book Owl Cottage again but it was taken, so took Badger Cottage. Although rather large for our requirements, we again found it excellent.
Woodland Cottages are approximately six miles from the coast, so a run on any of the beaches does require some travelling, although the journey is always worthwhile with some very interesting places to visit.
Alison and Tim Williams are charming landlords and go to considerable lengths to make ones stay as comfortable as possible. For dog owners, the adjoining grounds and eight acre wood are excellent for exercising animals before a trip to see the local sights.
All in all, we have found Woodland Cottages to be extremely good and have no hesitation in recommending them as a base for visiting North Devon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Nice welcome and whilst in a fantastic location and perfect for dogs, we found it was clean on first impressions, but it really could have done with a thorough cleaning ie light switches, kitchen radiator, oven and windows etc.
We had to pay extra for linen and towels, but only got the bare minimum. Be aware that, although the website states gas and electricity included, we had to pay in addition for these.
If you have a dust allergy, this place is not for you!!!
Silly things like no soap, clocks that didin't work and vacuum cleaner blocked let down what could so easily have been a 5* stay. A few extra personal touches would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GG'n'AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothy1957, Owner at Woodland Cottages, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Our cleaners work hard during the change-over window to ensure that the cottages are presented in a very clean and tidy condition each and every time. I'm afraid it is not practical to undertake a 'deep clean' each changeover - this is undertaken when we have a cottage available for at least 24 hours. Woodland Cottages is one of very few holiday establishments that welcomes guests with any number of dogs - this reviewer had six for example. Generally, our dog-owner guests value this 'hard to find' facility very highly ( 36 repeat guests visited us again this year!) and recognise that, as well as being very well presented, the cottages also need to be dog proof week in week out. That said, we value feedback from our guests and will attend to the matters raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having just returned from a week in swallow cottage the location can not be disputed the cottage is spacious and well equiped. The place was tidy, however it was obvious that no proper cleaning had been done for some time - light shades were covered in dust with cobwebs hanging, skirting boards, under bedside tables and beds were thick with dust and cobwebs hanging down from the landing with spiders residing. However the worst thng was the kitchen cobewbs and spiders and behind the microwave someone had spilt spagetti and left it there! I too spent my first hours there cleaning and scrubbing before I could even contemplate staying. The cottage is not cheap and for that money I expect it to be clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellers421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodland Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Cottages

Property: Woodland Cottages
Address: Newton Tracey, Newton Tracey EX31 3PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Tracey
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newton Tracey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Woodland Cottages Newton Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing