We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, fantastic hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Moeraki
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place, fantastic hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We will definitely return here. The lodge was lovely, our room had a view of the river and beautiful native birds visiting the kowhai trees. The food was to a very high standard and the often disappointed vegetarian in our group found their meals to be excellent as well.
Gerry and Ann, the founders of the lodge, were truly amazing hosts, a fountain of knowledge, passionate about the star of the show, the nature, as well as being extremely accommodating and very easy to get along with. We were there at the end of September and saw penguins and the resident sea elephant. It was still low season and while the rainforest was getting it's fair share of rain we managed to take our trips during sunny breaks between downpours. It is definitely worth staying at least a couple of nights so you can be sure to see some sun. The sandfly population was mercifully low at this time of year. This is an experience not to be missed, an expertly run tourist operation in a spectacular part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajeranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    29
    5
    8
    1
See reviews for
23
152
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

West is best even in the rain! This was my second holiday at Lake Moeraki and won't be the last, (although I may take a break and visit Arthur's Pass next time round). Four comfortable and fascinating days proved to be a good amount of exploration and relaxation time in this wonderland World Heritage area. Gerry, Anne and Michael were most generous with their knowledge and time as hosts and guides and chef Stephen's cooking was delicious. I feel I have been entertained, educated and inspired. While the tawaki were definitely the stars of the coast (Humphry the elephant seal was out of reach due to spectacular high seas) the energizing peacefulness of the forest and the lake painted a blissful smile on my face which even outlasted the irritation of a weather affected flight home from Queenstown.
Thank you to the welcoming Wilderness Lodge staff for a most memorable break. The programme you planned for me has saturated my senses and refreshed my love of nature. We live on a wonderful planet and the passion you show in caring for things worthwhile is inspirational.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kereru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Although the lodge is not completely in the wilderness it is remote but this is one of the beauties of it. We stayed at the Lodge in early May and were one of only two couples but this did not limit the activies on offer. Gerry and Ann, founders of the lodge, are commited conservationist and keen to share their passion and knowledge. Complimentary activites included many first for us, such as eel feeding, glowworm spotting and kayaking. We opted for one additional activity the beach walk, which although not cheap, turned out to be a memorable experience. Gerry guided us along the beach sharing his knowledge and expertise. However, the highlight was lunch, mussels straight from the sea and cooked on a drift wood fire!

We had a garden room with a nice outlook which was well appointed. For us ,on a month long trip, the free laundry facilities were also welcome. The main lodge is spacious, with lounge and dinning area. The lodge employs a chef who produces food of a very high standard.

Given all the wildlife that has chosen to make the Wilderness Lodge their home Gerry and Ann are obvioulsy getting things right.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, MD USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Rooms were very nice with great views great and had everything we needed. Hosts were very informative and friendly. We were there during the off season, so it was quiet with only one other couple. Food was great. We enjoyed our nature walks with Gerry who is a fountain of information along the way. Seeing the giant eels was a real treat. There is a tree that is over 900 years old. Everything including boots, was provided forr our kayak trip on the lake. We got some great pictures!
As far as the sand flies go, they had a little spray bottle of repellent that worked perfectly so we were not bothered. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Wilderness Lodge is in the most remote part of New Zealand, on the west coast of the South Island, several hours drive from Queenstown. The environment is absolutely pristine and the surroundings, flora and fauna are stunning. The owners are passionate about nature, preservation and teaching about this place and Gerry himself (who is a botanist) leads many of the walks and hikes, several only known to and accesible to lodge guests. The bird life, including black swans on Lake Moeraki right next to the lodge, is incredible even if you are not a bird watcher. It is a place for active people who don't have physical limitations because all activities are outdoors and some quite challenging. The facilities are appropriate for the location and the food also very good. The service is informal and friendly. We only wish we had been properly warned about the sandflies at the onset, they practically ate us alive; so coat yourself with DEET based insect repellent including areas accesible under clothes (ankles, neck etc). They were a major hassle, very painful and itchy, and their bite marks last for weeks to months. Otherwise this is a one of a kind experience in a location of beauty that is hard to describe.

Room Tip: We had a rainforest view room, which appeared identical to the lake view and not that different in v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AradTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We visited here 5 years ago and loved every moment. The setting is incredible with the wonderous snow-capped Lake Moeraki and a beautiful river out your door. We had incredilbe guided activities - kayaking aplenty in the lake, by the Tasman sea, watched the innkeeper feed eels and find morepork owls at night. very memorable!

Room Tip: we loved our room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a wonderful place to escape into wilderness, thanks to the amazing co-owners, who have organized a remarkable eco-lodge, protecting the very old trees in the acres around it. Gerry, a PhD biologist and experienced conservationist, runs superb hikes every day and has others on the management team also lead groups. His wife oversees the management of the place. The chef is remarkable, the rooms glorious, with vistas over the garden and forests. This is a world class place for conservationists.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painted_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Moeraki
14.9 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
14.9 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
17.8 mi away
Mahitahi Lodge
Mahitahi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mahitahi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
18.3 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki

Property: Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Address: State Highway 6 | 30 km north of Haast, Lake Moeraki, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7842, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Lake Moeraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Moeraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wilderness in comfort and style at New Zealand's premier nature lodge. Established by dedicated conservationists, Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki offers an experience like no other. Walk from your room into a natural paradise of ancient rainforest, kayak pristine lakes and hike rugged beaches. Enjoy fresh local food, fine wine, and warm hospitality. Join naturalist guides to discover spectacular wild landscape and search for penguins, seals, and other rare wildlife in the heart of Te Wahipounamu World Heritage Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki Hotel Lake Moeraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing