We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class places to visit for conservationists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Moeraki
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“World class places to visit for conservationists”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I suppose someone has put together the 100 best places in the world to visit if you are interested in wilderness and conservation. Well this would have to be on that list.
Gerry is clearly a national expert on conservation, and will happily explain the pros and cons of 1080 (for eradicating rats), and indeed the whole history of conservation in New Zealand, since much of it revolves around his life-long efforts. But he has also put together some fabulous wilderness walks which really give you an insight into New Zealand flora and fauna. Anne is the most courteous hostess and there is a relaxed atmosphere about the whole place. When we arrived the weather was lovely (but about to break) so without ado they suggested that we took kayaks up their river to the lake. No gratuitous silly stuff about "Do you know how to use a Kayak?" Just get on with it and enjoy! How refreshing. The walk down to the sea is one of the most beautiful I have done in my life. A forest floor of moss and ferns, then vertical pillars of epiphytes on the lovely old trees. What a treat. The short walk around the lake is the kind of thing that Gerry and Anne seem to specialise in. We had experienced one of their walks in their other lovely property at Arthur's Pass. Discrete numbered pegs in the ground take you to the relevant place in a short guide which you pick up at reception. The result is that you can learn about the forest and how it works in your own time. I loved that. The food was lovely too.
Feeding the eels was extraordinary. I have never seen a live eel never mind fed and touched one, and the night time walk to see glow-worms was quite eerie.

Room Tip: One with a balcony looking over the river, but I think they all have that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    29
    5
    8
    1
See reviews for
24
153
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights at this lovely lodge. I had no expectations about the food as the lodge is in a very remote part of New Zealand. Wow, the food was amazing! Fresh, local and innovative. The nature guide was delightful , the tours are well worth the price!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
At both Wilderness Lodges we think great food is just as important as exciting wilderness adventure trips, comfortable accommodations and a lovely location. The Lodges feature the best of local fresh fruit, vegetables, sustainable sea fish and meats. These include our ownlamb from our sheep farm at Wilderness Lodge Arthur’s Pass. Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki Head Chef, Steven Donaldson, loves our location close to the gardens and orchards of Central Otago. This is the stone fruit capital of New Zealand, famous for apricots, nectarines, fresh vegetables and now Pinot Noir wines. An avid trout and salmon fisherman, Steven particularly loves cooking fish and game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

In order to experience the NZ flora and fauna we planned for 3 nights at the Wilderness Lodge and we are still reveling in the experience. Gerry and Anne are gracious hosts who made their wonderful vision come to life at the lodge. As many activities are dependent on the tides, wind, etc., in order to make the most of a time try to at least map out your itinerary with Gerry/manager early on in your stay. It is relaxing to linger in the lodge, but the walks, self-guided hikes (Monro Beach, Rimu/interpretive) and a guided trip (especially secluded Knights) are a must. Our guides Niall and Gerry were enthusiastic and knowledgeable and both helped us plan additional treks off-property (and for our time in Queenstown). We also enjoyed a fun afternoon kayaking; viewing the eels, brown trout, and the birdlife. The comfortable accommodations (room #1), good food and service topped off our stay. A real treat!

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a river view room, which includes a deck, nicer in-room sitting area and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a relaxing, fun and interesting getaway at the Wilderness Lodge and were lucky the owners, Gerry and Anne, happened to be there at the time. The riverside room upgrade is a must! Good food (but could improve on coffee/tea service and options). Fun, interesting walks sometimes with the 'professor', Gerry to fascinating forests, to see eels, glowworms, etc. Friendly table-side hospitality by Anne.We loved learning how they make this conservation option work. Loved the kayaking and beach walks viewing dolphins and looking for penguins. Popular with Americans...especially cyclist groups...so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Go for the riverside upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBISeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Staying at Lake Moeraki (late Dec) was certainly a special treat, in the year of our 10th wedding anniversary. We were stunned by the beauty and diversity of the forest and beaches. Our highlight was the walk to Munro beach, we were completely by ourselves and we were lost in the natural beauty. it was one of the best days of my life. The room was spotless and quiet, the food was fantastic and Gerry and Ann were so kind and helpful. We didn't do the guided walks, because some of the other guests we were at the Lodge with were definitely not our type!

Room Tip: all of the rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl and Stew... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Lake Moeraki Wilderness Lodge has been described to me as a view with a room. After staying there on a recent vacation with Backroads, I feel this description does an injustice. The Lodge is amazing! The rooms are very comfortable, the beds are luxurious after a long day of hiking, the food was delicious, and the service was attentive and friendly. What really makes a stay here incredible though, is not the comfort of the hotel but the beauty of the surroundings and the fantastic guides who show it off. I would recommend a trip half way around the world to experience this Lodge!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukonjack_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

What a lovely place - the rooms are huge, nicely equpped - no TV but there is Wifi. Really good food -you can table share if you want to - lovely bar for a drink - all with fabulous views of the river. Super staff to help too. There are walks you can do yourself with cheat notes in the various plants and trees or go with Gerry and really learn about NZ and its native species - he was so interesting - we even started bird watching! Plus there are kayaks to go out in the lake - which is like a mirror and utterly beautiful - yes its expensive but we budgeted a few cheaper motels before and after to justify the expense.

Room Tip: Room 5 to 10 are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodneythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Moeraki
14.9 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
16.0 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
17.8 mi away
Mahitahi Lodge
Mahitahi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mahitahi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
18.3 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki

Property: Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Address: State Highway 6 | 30 km north of Haast, Lake Moeraki, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7842, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Lake Moeraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Moeraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wilderness in comfort and style at New Zealand's premier nature lodge. Established by dedicated conservationists, Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki offers an experience like no other. Walk from your room into a natural paradise of ancient rainforest, kayak pristine lakes and hike rugged beaches. Enjoy fresh local food, fine wine, and warm hospitality. Join naturalist guides to discover spectacular wild landscape and search for penguins, seals, and other rare wildlife in the heart of Te Wahipounamu World Heritage Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki Hotel Lake Moeraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing