We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay Before Leaving WA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay Before Leaving WA”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B as our last stop of our 8 days holiday in Western Australia. We loved the personal touches that the owners added - such as the delicious snack treat in the pantry, homemade fruit salad at breakfast, decorations in the inner garden and the beautifully crafted tables at breakfast and the 2nd floor verandah.

This venue is located in a tranquil surroundings of a residential estate and we found it very private and peaceful - just how we like it as an escape from the mad pace of our city life.

During our stay, we had an easy drive in our rented vehicle to Caversham Wildlife Park and Swan Valley. Even though we had to return our vehicle back on the last day, there was no problem traveling by public bus to the nearby shopping malls. Bus stop for service 423 just outside the B&B takes you south to Karrinyup Mall while bus stop for service 441 (short 10min walk away) takes you north to Whitford Mall. The nearest shopping and entertainment place, Hillarys Boat Harbour, is also easily accessible by bus 423 or by taking a moderate walk for about 25-30mins.

As there were 4 of us in a family, we took both rooms on the upper floor. For a B&B, our young boys enjoyed the luxury of space in the adjoining toilet and especially in the front living area with a huge TV and a mini pantry. The whole place is very clean, fresh and well maintained. Design of the premises seemed very well thought out.

As our last day in WA, we booked the B&B for an additional evening (at a discounted daily rate) before leaving at 11pm for our past midnight flight. We thanked Clodagh and Alan for the flexibility as this gave us a good comfortable rest and a hot shower before catching our flight.
We really enjoyed staying at this venue which concluded our very relaxed and enjoyable holiday in Western Australia!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merryberry73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is more than a B&B to me. I stayed here for 4 nights with 2 friends and we enjoyed this experience very much. The house is beautifully decorated with paintings and ornaments that were bought from all over the world by the house host. I can say that it is my dream house.Besides this, the breakfast was well prepared and more than we expected, every night when we returned "home", delicious homemade treats were waiting for us. So lucky and happy are we who choose this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TINAKWOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisheyesPerth, Owner at Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you 3 ladies stay. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This B&B is far above the average. It exudes luxury and privacy, with real owners who really care about people. Thank you.

Room Tip: no need to choose - you have the entire top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I'd booked this bed and breakfast so I had somewhere to stay during a recent business trip. To be honest I wasn't expecting or needing anything much, but I was very impressed with the entire experience.

The house is gorgeous with well-maintained with relaxing gardens and courtyards. I had the entire upstairs floor to myself including a kitchenette, large TV, lounge, balcony, bedroom and spacious bathroom. Everything was very clean and well-presented but still had a cozy home feel that you'd expect of a B&B.

The continental breakfast was great, and although I'd initially planned to pay an extra $10 for the cooked option, the fruit, yogurt, breads and coffee were perfect so I just stuck with that.

The hosts were very friendly and unobstrusive. Clodagh seemed to know exactly when I was in the mood for a chat and when I'd rather be left alone. She was attentive and offered to drive me to my conference each morning (I refused because the walk was so nice). And Ieven found homemade treats waiting for me in the kitchenette when I returned at night.

The beach is only a few minutes walk away, and Hillarys (full of shops, cafes, water games) is only about 25 minutes. And the walk itself is worth it, along a new beach boardwalk and restored dunes.

I'm very glad I found this place or else I may have ended up in the Quality Inn on the corner where my colleagues were staying (same price, not so nice)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisheyesPerth, Owner at Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasue to have you as our guest. This is the perfect place for the business person/s to stay as it's only 20 mins drive to CBD and close to Hillarys Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights because we wanted a different experience this time and what with CHOGM going on and its limited access to the city by car, we reckon we will stay out of the city and near the water instead.

When we arrived, we only knew that there's only one group per stay and therefore you are not sharing the bathroom with another guest. This is nice. The room was reasonably clean save for the dusty fan above our bed. The walk in wardrobe is a nice touch. There were even bedroom slippers. The house is located near a bus stop and if you are a light sleeper, you might be disturbed. Other than the occasional motorcycle rambling down the street, the house is located on a quiet street with a short walk to Hillary Harbour and other dining spots. There is a large flat screen TV and counter space with a sink and fridge in the living room. The rooms are located upstairs of the house and might be a problem for people with bad knees.

Two of the face towels were stained in the usually soiled areas and I used them to wipe around the sink instead.

There are two sinks in the bathroom. The bathroom was large enough to accommodate more people if you are in a rush.

The breakfast was average with plunger coffee and tea. There were a few spots on the dishes and I need to clean them before using them. The tea pot really needs to be scrubbed as the tea stains were pretty obvious to me.

I would recommend if you want dinning recommendations around the area, you have to do the homework yourself. It's a hit or miss in Perth's infamous reputation in customer service.

Otherwise, the hosts were friendly and helped us with a minor car situation.

Room Tip: If you are staying as a couple, take the master room. If you have kids, you will be happy to take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matchaspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisheyesPerth, Owner at Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Issues mentioned have been rectified. We always welcome feedback from our guests which is normally complimentary. All guests can be assured of our usual high standards at all times and we take pride in the way that we run our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight, because we were going to a wedding. It was raining, and Clodagh offered to give us a lift to the wedding at hillarys boat harbour! Gorgeous accommodation, exceptionally clean and modern, walking distance to the beach, lovely breakfast, friendly and attentive hosts. It was excellent value, and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at the Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast in early August for a long four day weekend and loved every minute there.

Our flight from Singapore arrived rather late at midnight and since Sorrento is a 40 minutes drive from the airport we were quite worried about having to wake up the owners in the middle of the night. These worries were unfounded though. Cheerful Clodagh greeted us at the door and led us to the beautiful upstairs where we quickly fell asleep in the comfortable bed with electric blankets keeping us nice and warm.

We were a little worried that going to Perth in the middle of the winter would be a little too cold, however the weather throughout our stay was fantastic, sunshine and 19-20 degrees. Perfect.

We watched the beautiful sunrise through the big windows in the bedroom while lying comfortably in bed. Thereafter we went for breakfast, which was wonderful. Several types of bread, cereal, juice and of course coffee and tea were available. Further there was a huge bowl of freshly cut fruit and yoghurt, making sure you have your vitamins for the day. It was always lovely to have a chat with the hosts Clodagh and Alan. They were great hosts and were happy to cater for anything one might need.

It is only a short walk to the beach. The beach is literally around the corner, maybe 500 metres down the road and the beach is lovely. Very nearby is also Hillarys Boat Harbour with plenty of shopping and dining possibilities. Fremantle was just a short drive away from Sorrento and we experienced the weekend market with plenty to see. For those who do not have a rental car the bed and breakfast is still very convenient since there is a bus stop right across the road.

The first floor has coffee making facilities, a fridge and a nice lounge area with a big tv. This made for a relaxing winter evening after a day out in the sun. The bathroom and walk in wardrobe are very spacious. Everything was clean and tidy.

Caversham wildlife park is just a short drive North from Sorrento and the Swan Valley wineries were very nearby as well. To get to the City of Perth you can just drive to a nearby train station, park for free and then take the tram to the city. It is very convenient.

We loved our stay and will happily return. It is pretty much a no-brainer to us, Perth = Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast.

Thank you Clodagh and Alan for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
4.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
1.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
74 reviews
6.6 mi away
Joondalup City Hotel
Joondalup City Hotel
#4 of 4 in Joondalup
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Resort Sorrento Beach
0.9 mi away
Hillarys Harbour Resort
Hillarys Harbour Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillarys
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 30 Hood Tce, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you wish to stay in the Perth metro area but want to avoid the city, and you're looking for something a little different to a hotel stay, then you can't go past Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast as the perfect place for a relaxing stay. 600m to beautiful Sorrento Beach and 20mins walk to W.A.'s top tourist destination, Hillarys Marina. Privacy is assured in the exclusive upstairs guest area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sorrento Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing