We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at any price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Chaumettes
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Savines-le-Lac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'm not sure where the person stayed who wrote the recent scathing review, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't Les Chaumettes. The hotel was very fairly priced, in fact, it was so inexpensive we were a bit wary of it. The rooms are spotless, very recently updated, and very comfortable. I'm not sure how it could have been noisy unless a motorcycle convention happened to be staying nearby. The couple who own and operate the hotel both speak several languages so that was no barrier. The view from our room of the lake and mountains was spectacular. The breakfast, as noted by another review was very basic but so was the price. Not a word about payment was said until checkout and then it was merci and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake. It will be accompanied by spectacular mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Very basic, extremely noisy and overpriced. I don't know who made the good reviews in this place, but probably some friends, The host was more interested in get the money and getting us out by 11 (want to be very sure of it) lol

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GisaMota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed for one week in the hotel. At my arrival I received a very warm welcome by the owners Carine and Johan. During my stay they did everything to make me feel at home in their hotel. The rooms are all recently refurbished and mine had a great view over the lake. The rooms and the garden are perfectly maintained. Breakfast can be served in the garden with again a great view over the lake and the mountains. For the motorbike a garage is available. Johan has a lot of tips of nice places to visit and routes to explore. A hotel I can recommend to guests looking for a hotel where you as guest are well taken care off.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbr1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at this hotel in the beginning of October. Nice and very clean room with a sunny balconny.The hosts were very nice and helpfull. The hotel is situated in the nice town Savines-le-Lac in beautiful surroundings. The breakfast was good, but it could been a slightly larger selection at breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

When we arrived, I was a bit disappointed the region didn't look just like Chamonix. After a few days at the hotel with Johann and Carine and looking at the view from our balcony - onto the lake with the mountain peaks in the background - I did _not_ want to leave.

Johan and Carine were both great at providing a friendly place as well as a treasure trove of advice about activities in the region. We checked with them before we made a definitely decision to do anything in the area and were always happy to have their advice.

Our hotel room was clean and plenty spacious for two people. We had an in-room fridge and a table on the aforementioned balcony that looks out onto the lake and the mountains to the west/northwest-ish. The entire setup was perfect for us and great value for money!

I cannot recommend the place highly enough. It's a great location with great proprietors in a stunningly beautiful region. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask if the room on the 2nd floor (we're American, so perhaps it's really the 1st floor in Eu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zen2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. I stayed here with my sister-in-law whilst she was buying her new house in Chorges a short distance away. I cannot recommend it highly enough and it is a must-stay if you are in the area. Not only is the hotel clean, comfortable and cosy but the owners, Carine and Johan are probably the friendliest hoteliers I have ever met. Nothing is too much trouble, they speak multiple languages and are so welcoming and helpful. The views from the hotel are excellent and there is a lovely garden from which to enjoy them as well as from the balconies of many of the rooms.
Looking forward to coming back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A group of us travel by motorcycle to various parts of Europe every year, so have tried lots of hotels in lots of countries, the owners of this hotel are the most friendly people you will ever meet.
As soon as we arrived in the carpark the lady owner came out, moved her car from the double garage so we could put our bikes in!!, we checked in and was asked would you like a drink after a hard days ride...5 beers on the house!, we relaxed in the very smart decked area in front garden before going to our rooms, spotlessly clean, very comfy bed, and a decent size room for the price.Plenty of inexpensive places to eat nearby...to be honest we went to the first one we came to just down the road from the hotel...massive portions and good value!,
The owners have a book of local tours so if you plan to stay a few days its worth checking this out, the roads are very good and the scenery breathtaking, check out the Col Du Bonette the highest tarmac road in Europe. We will be back here soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savines-le-Lac
4.6 mi away
Les Peupliers Hotel Restaurant
4 mi away
Les Bartavelles Hotel Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Lac
Hotel Eden Lac
#3 of 3 in Savines-le-Lac
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel la Robeyere
Hotel la Robeyere
#2 of 4 in Embrun
253 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel de la Mairie
Hotel de la Mairie
#1 of 4 in Embrun
172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Lac
Hotel Le Lac
#3 of 4 in Embrun
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Chaumettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Chaumettes

Address: rue de Barnafret | quartier les Chaumettes, 05160 Savines-le-Lac, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Savines-le-Lac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Savines-le-Lac
Price Range: $64 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Chaumettes 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Chaumettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing