We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special house, tranquil spot”
Review of Le Chateau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Pierre-Brouck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chateau
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Special house, tranquil spot”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you have a long drive back to the coast (we had travelled from the Mosel) and need a night's rest before the ferry home this is a real find.
thanks to other TA reviewers we were not disappointed by Le Chateau; the entrance hall makes quite an impact and the rooms (bedrooms and lounge/dining room) are full of period detail.
Very nice breakfast, a friendly welcome, and decent value compared to some places we stayed.
We ate at Cafe de la Bistade, around 5 minutes walk away, which is a very characterful, down to earth French village cafe serving nice uncomplicated home made food, more than you can eat, for a very fair price, and the locals will make you very welcome. The cafe owner says Le Chateau has been used for filming and you can understand why.
Our rating for the location may seem modest but this merely reflects the fact that local amenities are limited but for a rest-stop ahead of travelling onward (most likely back to the UK I think) this is not really a big deal.If you wanta bit more sophisticated dining choice, Bourbourg is only a relatively short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

What a fabulous B&B in a countryside location yet so close to the Chanel crossing points.We were made most welcome and the room was so comfortable breakfast was very good. We ate at Cafe Bistade and the food was home cooking very good and only 32 euros for 2 including wine etc.Only down side the weather was awful so did not get to look at the lovely garden.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed just one night on the way back to England. Huge bed, beautiful room very high ceilings. Excellent shower. Only down side was it was very windy and one of the shutters banged about a bit making it difficult to sleep. Kettle in room for a cup of tea and minibar.
Friendly owner who was keen to help us in any way she could. Breakfast served in a beautiful period dining room with lovely china. Good choice of rolls, croissants, jams, charcuterie and yogurts and cereal and warm boiled eggs. Good coffee and chocolate easter chickens - a pleasant end to our holiday before returning to work! Natalie also showed us the gites on site which would be a good basic stopover for a family with younger children.
Near enough to go into Saint Omer where ther are some lovely restaurants so didn't try the local bistrots.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horacesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A beautiful home in a beautiful garden, ideally situated off the beaten track but not far from the channel tunnel (about 30 mins).
Run by a lovely lady who shares her stunningly beautiful home with travelers, this is a little gem of a place. We were shown 2 rooms from which to choose and it was a hard choice as both were gorgeous and both had excellent bathrooms. WiFi too and although reception on the top floor was poor to non-existent, downstairs in the sitting room it was fine.
The public rooms included a sitting room, dining (breakfast) room and conservatory and like the bedrooms, all beautifully furnished with antiques and family heirlooms.
We were not brave enough to try the local bar for dinner and after a long 9 hour drive we really did not want to get back in the car to search for a restaurant. Luckily we had done a little French shopping and were able to have a lovely picnic in our room. The lady of the house had said that we would have been welcome to enjoy our meal in the elegant dining room or conservatory and if the weather had been warmer it would have been lovely to sit outdoors and watch the sun go down as we ate and sipped our wine on the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargyIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our overnight stay at Le Chateau. The brick exterior hides a wonderful interior. The two rooms we had booked (we were two couples travelling together) were beautifully furnished and very comfortable indeed. Everywhere was very clean. Natalie and her husband were charming hosts. We ate at Cafe de Bistade which was brilliant. Hearty French cooking at around 12 euro a head.
Breakfast at Le Chateau was well prepared and again very good value..more than we could possibly manage. We will definitely make this a location for starting / finishing continental holidays in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have just had a 2 night stay at Le Chateau and were delighted with what we found! Natalie was most welcoming and helpful. The house is beautiful and had all the usual amenities that you need in a B & B. Breakfast was amazing, continental breafast is not usually anything to shout about but here we were tempted with home made smoothies and mini apple crumble as well as delicious breads and croissants. We visited the 2 restaurants in the village that are both walkable and had good honest french fare with excellant wine for a great price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank where next 99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for one night after crossing the channel. When we found the hotel, we were delighted. The welcome was warm and charming, and the atmosphere and look of the place were delightful. We felt like royalty! Despite the country house antique charm, we had every modern comfort, including wifi and a kettle. Some of the old photos on display, such as wedding portraits, were of family members, which is a lovely touch.

Breakfast was elegant and delicious, and included a homemade plum crumble using plums from the garden. Unfortunately the weather was not very warm, but I could imagine it being lovely to sit out in the large garden.

The surrounding area is not very interesting. After driving all day, we only wanted to walk. Eventually we found an open bar by the canal bridge, which we found very friendly.

I would be very happy to return here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boraxwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau

Property: Le Chateau
Address: 287 rue de la Bistade, Saint-Pierre-Brouck, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Saint-Pierre-Brouck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Pierre-Brouck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE CHATEAU guest house and self catering is located in the heart of a small village on Flanders'opal coast and is surrounded by grounds of lush greenery covering approximately 5 acres/2 hectares. This imposing bourgeois residence is notable for its height and its red brick constructiontypical of the "nord" region.Completely renovated but retaining all of its authenticity, you'll discover an elegant interior of antique and period furniture. The 5 bedrooms, fully equipped with all modern conveniences, can be found upstairs in the main residence. There are 3 rooms on the first floor and 2 on the 2nd floor. All are appointed with antique and period furniture-beautiful wardrobes, dressing tables, armchairs. You'll find quality bed linnen on queen or king size beds and numerous ornemantal items, including mirrors, clocks and various curios. Some rooms have four poster or canopy beds and all 5 of them are equipped with private facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing