We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Review Highlights
Nice experience if you never try

Bare in mind, it will take around 1000 yen round trip transport cost from Tokyo. But still worth it... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
waihong
,
malaysia
Fun place to check out and relax for a bit

My adult son and I tried this place as it is close to the city and we wanted to try an onsen. It... read more

Reviewed August 10, 2019
TravelFamily118
,
San Francisco, California
Read all 1,084 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Aomi
from $71.32
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
Reviews (1,084)
Filter reviews
1,084 results
Traveler rating
505
377
138
30
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
505
377
138
30
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foot bath hot springs theme park your feet men and women locker key food stalls japanese experience bathing area dead skin main hall relaxing experience bath house arcade games after a long day central area free shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 1,084 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was brought up in Japan and returned on holiday with 2 Spanish friends. We came across this by chance in an area which, when I lived in Tokyo, was virtually waste land. Great fun, not to be taken seriously. The baths are great and the individual massages are fabulous. Set up to be like a town summer festival with public baths. Great for foreigners

Date of experience: August 2012
4  Thank lainglesa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

it's funny to go and try it but it's nothing like the real place. They try to recreate a traditionnal Japanese village; it feels more like a theme Park but onsen is nice and it's good stop for a day trip in Odaiba.
NB there is a discount after 6pm!

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank Dfastener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is more of a "theme park" than a traditional Japanase public bath. In addition to the bath facilities, they have a central area with a food court, some carnival games, and gift shops. Nonetheless, it was a really fun experience.

We stopped here after an afternoon walking around Odaiba Island We were hot, tired, and hungry.

We enjoyed the foot-bath area, especially the "fish therapy". I also visited the men's bath and enjoyed the hot tubs. The place is spotlessly clean. inside and out. It is very family-friendly.

We ate dinner in the food court, afterwards. The food was decent and not too overpriced. The service was good.

Date of experience: June 2013
3  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It might seem a bit cheesy just reading about it in the guidebooks, and certainly shouldn't be your sole experience with a hot spring bath in Japan, but if you want a relaxing afternoon or evening in Tokyo after you've seen all the sights, the Oedo Onsen Monogatari is a great option.

It's pretty tastefully done and easy to navigate.

It's sort of a water park, the place Knott's Berry Farm would design. Family- and kid-friendly. There's a smattering of Westerners enjoying themselves among the many Japanese families spending the day, or weekend, there (there's an adjacent hotel).

The onsen park is located in the Odaiba district of Tokyo, an artificial island in Tokyo Bay filled with modern shops, parks and attractions. The park is a short walk from a subway station and for a single entrance fee that tops out at about $20 for adults and $9 for children, you can enjoy a well-appointed bathing area with spring-fed waters that is at the heart of a big food and entertainment complex that is designed to hearken back to ancient Edo.

Hours for the park are 11 a.m. to 8 a.m. The park is closed from 8 to 11 in the morning. We stayed about five hours in the afternoon. With the general admission rate, you apparently can stay all afternoon, into the night, and overnight if you wish.

With your wristband-key you can charge food, drink, souvenirs and midway-type games as you wander around like a native in your robe and bare feet. There's scheduled live entertainment, musical troupes and magicians and such. A bit like a cruise ship or Sandals in that sense.

Various kinds of massages are also available, including a treatment in which you dip your feet into a pool full of little fish that nibble away at your dead skin. My wife and I got a package body massage/food massage that was great after a week of walking around seeing the sights.

If you are unfamiliar with the traditions and routines associated with an onsen, everything is described via bilingual signs and printed guides. The main thing is, you wash yourself before entering the baths proper, and walk around the baths with nothing but an oversized wash cloth which you can use to cover your junk as you walk about. I read about the necessity of covering one's genitals when not in a bath; not getting the "modesty towel" wet; and keeping it atop your head, but here the Japanese don't seem to have any hard and fast rules. Some don't cover up and they all get the towel wet and only a few might put it atop their head. Just follow the natives' cues.

There is a foot bath area where both sexes, and families, can mingle before each gender heads to his/her bath area, where there a variety of settings and temperatures. Whirlpool baths, cold baths and an outdoor bath area.

There's a changing room where you leave your clothes and valuables and get into your robe (instructions are provided on how to wear it) with just your choners on underneath. You leave the changing room and head to an area where you shower before entering the baths.

You really should experience an onsen in a traditional setting up in the mountains if you can, or at a ryokan, but this is a perfectly fine fall-back position and, especially, a good option if you just want a relaxing day toward the end of your vacation.

Date of experience: May 2013
4  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After having researched Onsens in Tokyo prior to arrival I chose this one because of its proximity to my hotel in Ginza and was glad I made time in my schedule as it was for me a really pleasant way to build in a break from a busy city and warm up after a cool day of sightseeing the day prior.

The attraction operates a free shuttle bus from a stop across from Tokyo Station but the timing didn't work well for me so just hopped on New Transit Yurikamome which is a rail connection that will take you over to the onsen on Odaiba island. You may use your Suica card on this line so access is pretty easy though there is a connection at Shimbashi Station you must navigate but luckily it's pretty well signed in English.

The re-created old Edo shops are a nice diversion before & after soaking in the hot pools and prices were fairly reasonable. Sure it's a quite touristy but I enjoyed a beer or two and a bite to eat while watching families interact and there are more traditional onsens if you prefer that style instead. Having a comfy yakata and charging everything to a bar coded wrist band means not having to fumble around for bills or change and is efficient. The entrance fee changes depending when you enter but during the day is a flat 1480 yen regardless whether you stay for an hour or all afternoon. I opted to stay for several hours and relax at what was the end of a 10 day stay in Tokyo and with a few drinks & bites to eat paid a bill of around 3100 yen which I didn't think was too bad a value.

It took a little getting used to using the pools naked but that lasted only a few minutes and it then it just seemed like walking around my gym change room & showers at home, especially since men & women use completely separate facilities. There are several pools around 38 Celsius that are plenty hot including one outdoors plus a cold one at 20 Celsius which makes for a bracing dip along with a steam room. There were massage and other treatments available in a separate area if you wanted to have those but I gave them a pass.

Overall a very nice afternoon escape at a good value with friendly, helpful staff and I'd definitely return if I were back in Tokyo again.

Date of experience: April 2013
4  Thank tcook052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews