We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi was on par with other midrange placds”

Sushi Zammai Asakusa Kaminarimon-ten
Ranked #6 of 366 Restaurants in Asakusa
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Ueno, Asakusa
Description: Along immediately next to the Kaminarimon Gate and Kaminarimon street shopping area. It's put together 2 F 1 F in the store, and, 103 seats. The menu which has abundant more than 150 kinds including proud tuna. If inexpensive and good sushi is eaten, ", SUSHIZANMAI!!"
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Had two types of the the tuna and salmon nigiri. The tuna was melt in mouth perfection. This place also has a few rolls to choose from beyond the traditional set nigiri options. Affordable for that sushi knack and even though it had a line it moved quickly. English was spoken and an English menu exists. If you’re in the mood for sushi try it out.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank drchasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 181 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Terrible service and horrible food. I will NOT recommend this place to anyone. You could find better sushi elsewhere. The staff all seemed to be in a bad mood with grumpy faces.

The sushi was not fresh at all. The look of it and the taste was bad. I can find better sushi back at home in Singapore.

We ordered fried oysters and they were not fresh at all, extremely mushy.

Even the seafood miso soup was bad. It's not even seafood, all that were in the soup was remains of the fish bones.

Disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank butterandfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Disappointed and overcharged. They gave us some pickled octopus to go with our beers which wasn't very nice. The waitress didn't bring some of the stuff we ordered, we thought maybe she didn't understand. The bill however included all the missing items and some extras which we couldn't understand. When you go be extra careful so they don't add on or overcharge you. Don't expect anything special, the sushi was very average. I have eaten better sushi in Europe.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 231luciak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

If you really like sushi, of course you tried it so many time and in many places, specially when you go to Japan it will be another experience to try the original sushi, there is so many sushi bars and restaurants, sushi zanmai is one of the famous restaurant which is specialized in sushi ... this branch of sushi zanmai near asakousa temple I thinks is the best between all of this branches. I think it is the idol sushi to compare with

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Mohamed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

The atmosphere in this place is great and cheerfull. We loved the fact it is a bit loud.

Sushi was really fresh, directly from the fish market, and the hall is clean.

Tuna, Salmon, Squid, Sardine - they do it all and it is tasty and moderately priced.

Loved it.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guy-sh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Zammai Asakusa Kaminarimon-ten also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Zammai Asakusa Kaminarimon-ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing