We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/23/21
Hotels.com
$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/23/21
FindHotel
$25
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/22/21
Booking.com$34
Priceline$30
CheapTickets$30
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
14
46
56
16
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
14
46
56
16
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 134 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We aren't small and the room was cramped. The bed is not a double bed, but it has a very good mattress. There's nowhere for the person sleeping next to the wall to put anything, like water, and you have to crawl over your partner to go to the toilet.I hated the frosted window that you can't see out! What is the thinking there?
I paid ¥300 a day for wi fi in our room and it worked brilliantly. Otherwise, there is free wi fi in the lobby. Breakfast costs ¥850. There is a 24 hour Lawson's small supermarket across the road - lots of chips, chocolates, beer, soft drinks, fruit and some bread and ham.
It's a fair walk to Asakusa station exit 7. Most taxi drivers don't know where Smile Hotel is, so take a marked map. You can hire bicycles from the hotel. It's not near the main things in Asakusa. However, it is good value for money in Tokyo. We appreciated the staff allowing us to leave a suitcase at Smile, while we went to Hakone for two nights. The staff are gently spoken.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk from the Asakusa Metro, which was a bit inconvenient to find at first. But as soon as we found our bearings (thanks to the lady on the street who whipped out her iPhone and located the hotel), we realised we could not have chosen a better area. The hotel itself is nothing to write about - small room, no non-smoking floor. On our first night, the sheets were clean but smelt of smoke. We didn't mind so we didn't complain. (The sheets got better the rest of our stay). The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood which we really appreciated. It is about 7-10 mins walk to Senso-ji and Asakusa Kannon Onsen, 20 mins walk to the new Tokyo Sky Tree. The neighbourhood is dotted with small shops and restaurants, though we prefered to eat and buy groceries around the subway (best ramen - Japanese Ninoshi Soup Noddle; best grilled eel - between Yosinoya and Starbucks, no English sign; groceries - Ozeki).

Some reviews here wrote about the lack of English-speaking staff but we didn't find that to be in our case. We booked a non-smoking floor but we were told that the hotel is fully-booked and could only give us a room on a smoking floor. They promised to move us after the first night but we didn't think it was that bad so we never changed our room.

Overall, good value for money.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chungwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Tokyo is great, but it's tough to find a good value in a hotel for budget travelers. This place was great. The location isn't central but there are many things to see around the hotel in the same district. The walk from the metro station isn't too far, but you should make sure you have direction so you're not walking in circles trying to find the place.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

not so far from Metro and Tokyo Tower, 10 mins by walk and u can look at Tokyo Tower on the way to hotel from Metro and so close to Roxy department and Temple, 24hr Lawson Super, in the midst of Ramen Shop and many restaurant, bicycle rental available.

rooms are bit small but no problem for central of Tokyo, so clean as all hotel in Japan, u may try twin bed that better.

However, here is great with good price and nice area... love

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarn2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in a Sky tree view room. I am very satisfied with the cheap accommodation rate. Though it locates a bit far from rail stations but i love the quietness neighbors. In fact, it makes you to explore the neighborhood as you travel back to hotel. Like in my case, I had spent some time at Sumida park nearby and realized it has a spectacular view of Cherry Blossom during spring.

Also, it has few good features like a Lawson convenience shop across the street, laundry service and bicycle rental.

The only thing i whine about though is the room is not really soundproof.

Room tip: Stay at higher floor.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimuraa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews