We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
$156
View deal
Trip.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
147
120
28
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
147
120
28
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foot massager great shopping hotel is modern great amenities mobile phone small room ueno train station minute walk space baths tokyo sauna data sakura akihabara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 302 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in this small, nice hotel. Location is perfect for tourists, well deserved by subway and trains. From your room you have a view on beautiful Ueno Park across the street. Easy travel from and to Narita airport. The room is clean, though very small, but who cares? You are only here to sleep! They serve continental breakfast as well.
Reception desk team very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLSLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Coco Grand Ueno is ideally located just a 5 minutes walk from Ueno station (connection for Narita airport via skyliner in 41 minutes), and even closer to the Ueno-Hirokoji station of the Ginza subway line. Nearly all rooms face Ueno park, an oasis in Tokyo's concrete jungle. On weekends it may get a bit louder, because Ueno is a nightlife district (avoid the street behind the hotel if your are not into hostess bars).The rooms are small, but very clean and full of all kind of gadgets, from loading stations for all kind of mobile phones to various electric massage machines. You will be surprised! The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was fine. I booked the room for less than 100 Euro per night including breakfast via a hotel portal, this is a better that excellent value-to-price relation for such a hotel in Toyko.

Room tip: Be careful to take a non-smoking room, higher floors will be quieter.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreddyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The room I booked for two people was about 6 ft by 12 ft. very small. But it is located right across the street from the Ueno Park. I was booked for a smoking room for 5 days because the non-smoking were booked, but when I got there, I found out a room was available for 4 days so we switched on our 4th night back to a smoking room. The smoking rooms were very smoky. I'm glad they were able to accommodate us. Breakfast was free, open Japanese buffet-rice, miso, udon, eggs, toast... great variety, even had yummy dessert!! They even gave us access to their spa section. Although the room was small, I liked the service and would stay again-only if there was a non-smoking room available.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were staying at the hotel for four nights at found it great. Although the room was a bit small (we had the smallest one) everything else was just excellent including the staff, the room, the sauna department and the breakfast. The park view was a big plus.

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Janne_Tampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I just spent a whole week at this hotel and it was better than I expected!
First, the location is great. Only 5 min walk from the Ueno station (Ginza & Hibiya Tokyo Metro line, JR Yamanote line and Skyliner train to the airport). There is also the Ueno-Okachimachi station for the Toei Oedo line nearby. Before my trip I thought the area would be a bit boring and far from the rest of the town but surprisingly it wasn't. It's actually a good compromise between the busy 'centre' (Roppongi, Shibuya, etc.) and the traditionnal/residential areas like Asakusa & Yanaka. The hotel is surrounded by nice restaurants & shops and has immediate access and view over Ueno park.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Some of them speak really good English, some of them don't but hey, you're in Japan! When I arrived they gave me a huge bag of 7 beauty packages (1 per day) including facial masks, body polishes, cleansing lotions etc. Although the room was quite small, it was not a problem at all for me because it was well-organised, very cosy and stylish. Same for the bathroom. Nice bed and cushion massage too.

Breakfast buffet was OK. It offers Japanese food mostly so it's perfect if you like to try out local dishes but if you don't they also have cereals, toasts and french pastries though not a lot.

The only 'not so cool' thing was that they still don't have any WiFi access (they only have wired internet in the room) which is a bit of a shame considering it's 2012. There are 2 computers at the reception lobby though.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leyla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews