We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$49
View deal
Priceline
$52
View deal
Agoda.com
$25
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/21
Trip.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
55
128
64
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
128
64
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ueno park room was small but clean small street station space yokocho
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 267 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel entrance is along a main road, so even when i returned at nearly 12am alone, i felt safe. This is a quaint boutique hotel, very modern, and very clean. Like all typical Japan hotels, room is small but functional. There is free internet from the room. Recep area/public internet/breakfast area is tight, so i just brought food from the breakfast area back to my room. Simple toast, buns and juice, but good comfort food. I will recommend this place to friends as it is a 5 min walk away from Ueno station.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siangjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Conveniently located very close to Iriya Exit however, we could never find this exit when we were going back to the hotel from the station.

Great sized bathroom with full bath and a toilet with all the bells and whistles. It's a pity the room was not in proportion to the bathroom. We had a twin room which was very crowded for two people and two suitcases. There was a small fridge in the room but one had to move the bed to access the fridge.

Breakfast was average. I don't eat inch thick toast and jam at home.

The basement had washers and dryers and a microwave and vending machines for free tea and coffee and ice and water.

The dryers were expensive at JPY100 for 10 mins. I used JPY1000 to dry our clothes. Perhaps the dryers were just inefficient.

The only internet connection is in the lobby. We took our laptop so we could use it in our room because there is a point in the room but we were told we could only use it in the lobby which was inconvenient.

We were on the 8th or 9th floor. Still got the road noise and could hear what sounded like the subway as well. Also heard the person above us having an orgasm at three o'clock in the morning. I was concerned we had booked the wrong type of hotel. Very offputting!!

The cost was JPY13000 per night.

Room tip: I am not sure what to suggest as I had emailed the hotel direct to see if I could get a quiet room. Maybe pay extra and get the suite.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caramellokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Overall, an average, western style hotel situated 2 blocks from Ueno station. Recommend if you're spending most of your time in Taito and want a quiet neighborhood.

If coming from Narita airport, take the Keisei Skyliner. 45-minute ride and takes you directly to Ueno station with no need to transfer. Hotel is two blocks away from the North West exit.

Not much nightlife which makes for a quiet, business neighborhood. There was only a handful of places to eat nearby. Try the place with Popeye as its logo! It's a ten min walk to Ueno park located on the opposite side of Ueno station. The park has museums, street performers, a zoo, small shrines, beautiful gardens, and even a Starbucks in the middle of it all!

Hotel staff was friendly and spoke decent English. Check-in only took 2 minutes! Room was small for western standards, but if you plan to mostly explore Tokyo, this is a non-issue. They offer a continental breakfast, but I didn't get a chance to try it. No wi-fi, so bring a laptop with an ethernet jack. Sorry iPads!

Full size bed was comfy. Bathroom was small and clean, but is not a "separate" room per se. They offer really nice complimentary shampoo/conditioner/body wash, nemaki, slippers, toothbrush, and shaving razors. Not much room to maneuver around and there is no closet space. At most, 2 adults with 2 luggage. If you have kids, size up!

My room was on the 3rd floor in front of the hotel and it looked directly at the freeway. It's not Los Angeles busy/loud as it's only 2 lanes, but get a room on the other side of hotel if you need something quiet.

Room tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor in front of the hotel overlook the 2-lane freeway
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HQlikesTacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good location near the train station even though the neighbourhood around the hotel left something to be desired. Unfortunately, I was assigned a smoking room which was so impregnated with smoking scent, it caused breathing problems by the morning. Bath amenities were very nice; slippers, yukata, good products were all supplied. Breakfast was minimal but tied me over to lunch.

Room tip: If you want no-smoking, make sure to get no-smoking.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed the junior suite with two other friends...large room with couch

Pros:
Good location just 200m from Ueno station
Large room for Japan
Free wifi in lobby

Cons:
Small breakfast, no meat
Room had no real curtain, only Luxaflex
Water cooker did not do a good job

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Rdrummen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews