We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$337
Booking.com$337
eDreams$337
Orbitz.com$337
Travelocity$337
Trip.com$336
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,093)
Filter reviews
4,093 results
Traveler rating
3,327
526
149
48
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,327
526
149
48
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new york grill lost in translation ny bar bill murray shinjuku station top floor amazing hotel mt fuji pool and gym shuttle service tokyo hype luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,090 - 2,095 of 4,093 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Amazing Service, Amazing Views. The Swimming pool at the 45th Floor is also a big advantage.
I rarely enjoy a city or a country because of the place I stay but I have to say that even if I loved Tokyo by itself, the Park Hyatt in Shinjuku just made my experience better ! It was an amazing stay.
You can also ask the hotel to lend you the Lost in Translation movie, no wonder why they shot the movie there...
If you can afford it, you won't be disappointed.
I hope I'll be back there some days.

Room tip: a room with a view ?
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julilali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and all of the staff really tried to be helpful and courteous. We checked-in in our room (made us feel like VIP :D) and the rep was really friendly and helpful. He also arranged to book the limousine bus to Haneida airport for our last day. He refused when we tried to give him a $$ tip since he said it's not allowed!! The setting inside the hotel is quite confusing since you have to take a lift up to 40th floor then walk through a restaurant and the library then take another lift to your room (level 41 and up), but you'll figure that out in no time. The bathroom is super clean and provided with everything you might need (hair brush, toothbrush, shower cap etc). The only think I didn't get was a dental floss. I wrote a note but I think they didn't understand what I meant. They gave me a listerine instead.
The guy who works at the gym came to me and corrected my position when I was trying on an equipment while I was waiting for my husband exercising. Before getting on the limousine bus they even offered us cold bottled waters!! We checked out too close to the limousine bus' arrival time but the guy really tried his best to bring down all of our suitcases. Those little things really made a big impression!! The only drawback, as other reviewers wrote, is the location since it's pretty far from Shinjuku station. The hotel shuttle starts at 9:00 am and ends around 9:00 pm if I'm not mistaken. We had to take a taxi several time since we left/came outside those time. One way costs about 710 yen which is not that bad since there were 3 of us.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JavaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We know that this well-known hotel has been recognized by a number of travelers as the most favorable hotel in Tokyo. Regarding a hotel with such reputation, our comments, therefore, will not be new for most of you, but, let us share with you some of our findings.

Delicatessen (1st floor ) & Pastry Boutique ( 2nd floor )
You will be able to purchase here its home-made dishes and sweets, and to your pleasant surprise, maybe, to ask a delivery to your room whenever you feel like eating them. There are also rillettes and kitchen miscellaneous-goods of simple but with excellent quality.

The Peak Lounge ( 41st floor )
We would highly recommend you to spend some time in this glass-ceiling spacious lounge for afternoon tea, and while you are there, please do not miss the little sweets served as free of charge, on top of the tea set.

Girandole ( 41st Floor )
As for its buffet-style breakfast, we should comment that variety of foods will be slightly limited, but that every item is carefully selected in quality and, needless to say, very fresh.

Spa ( 45th Floor )
There are spacious Jacuzzi and 3 types of sauna. Its large rocker room has a space where, after exercising, you can put yourself at full ease with freely served tea and snacks.

Swimming Pool & GYM ( 47th floor )
What you find here is a panoramic view through surrounding windows while swimming and doing exercise. Some free exercise programs, such as yoga and aerobics, are available.

New York Bar ( 52nd floor )
Why not enjoy, during your sojourn, live jazz music here while savouring nice wine and relishing Tokyo night view. No table fee, normally Yen 2,200 per guest, is charged for the hotel guests. We highly recommend you to drop in this renowned bar.

Hotel Facilities
The rooms are simply designed but, particularly for business use, functionally organized. We assume that having two same chairs for a desk, as our room does, could be of convenience for short in-room business talks. There is, of course, good-size bathtub for relaxing.

You will find a sort of “art” everywhere you go in the hotel, by which you will notice the tastes of Mr. John Morford who designed the interior. It is unfortunate that the hotel library, which seems to be a symbolic part of his design, is not actually in use.

Hotel Staffs
We appreciate, let us describe it, the “mixture of Japanese and European hospitality”. The staff’s services are felt as wholehearted and reliable.

Just for your information, the film, “Lost in Translation” by Sopia Coppola, was made by fully utilizing the rooms of this hotel. You may able to reminisce about your stay, if, after your enjoyable visit, you have a chance to see it.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chocolate_Library
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am traveling around the world with my fam and only staying in top hotels-this it not one of them
It all stated when we arr with attitude from the staff that was terrible -it took me about one sec to understand that they did not like kids in this hotel. we arr at 2.30 and room were not ready-they recommend a restaurant we could go to for lunch-afthe 20 min walk we came to the rataurante that were closed-we then went back to the hotel.time were now 3.30 and the room were still not ready. the kids here really hungry but we could not get any food in the hotel because my wife had slippers on and we would disturb other guest with this-nice ??? ( not easy to change when you don't have a room and r´they had our luggage ) we called on a manager and she said we could eat punch, but told us the we could not eat there in slippers again-my wife did feel wery good after this-we got our room around 5 in the afternoon-
this attitude followed us during the hole stay and we triad to get out of there before to get to four season but have to stay there for a hole terrible 5 nigths
the hotel is perfect for business men ( many japanese 50 plus with call girls )
If you are going to Tokyo with kids stay away from this hotel

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jarle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knishiyama, Manager at Park Hyatt Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were very concerned to read that you had felt that the Park Hyatt Tokyo did not provide a welcoming environment for children. Please accept our most sincere apologies.

In the last few months, we have worked very hard in trying to look after our younger guests. An extensive healthy children room-service menu, a large choice of safe amenities for toddlers, video games, children yukatas, slippers and specific concierge recommendations are an example some of the things that we thought would express our warm welcome to children. We are truly sorry that you and your family did not feel this. We understand that you are still travelling at this time, but will continue to try be in contact with you directly in order to discuss this regretful experience in greater details.

Philippe Roux-Dessarps
General Manager
Park Hyatt Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

During our trip of Japan we stayed one here one night to celebrate our anniversary.

The location of the hotel is, perhaps, its biggest flaw. It is in Shinjuku, it is in the "Skyscraper District" but getting to it still requires a 20 minute walk from JR Shinjuku Station. I'm sure there are shuttles going to it, but we did not look into it beforehand, and just keep this in mind when making day-trips from the location.

The room we got had "Mt. Fuji Views" and was on the 45th floor. It was not clear enough to see all the way there, and I have a feeling that the name is optimistic, but it was such a gorgeous view either way.

The room was ready when we walked in to reception so they took us up and showed us all the great things about the room before he asked me to sign in, since all of the information that hotels all over japan had been making me write down had already been typed up for me.

He asked about our plans so that we would not be bothered when they came around for turndown service, and I told him about our reservation in the hotel's New York Grill, a little after when he said turn down had to be performed by, and he said that it was not a problem that they would stop by the room then. He also asked about our plans the next morning, which included catching a train so he went ahead and made a reservation for us on one of the next morning's shuttles.

We headed to the pool area that again, had amazing views of Tokyo (I'm in love with the city if you have not realized by now) and we were amongst the only ones there. At one point, we were the only ones there. We had the pool to our selves but all we did was lounge by it and looked out the glass walls.

Checkout was a breeze, we had to go to the cashier in the back to pay for some of the items from the minibar (fresh cranberry juice was delicious) and then we were on our way to the shuttle that was waiting for us to take us to the JR station.

Service was top-notch, and we felt like we were royalty the whole time there. It is amazing how you can be surrounded with views of Tokyo and at the same time forget where you are. It was certainly one of the highlights of our trip and it made our first anniversary even more magical.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morouxshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews