We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$138
View deal
Hotels.com$138
Booking.com$141
Priceline$138
CheapTickets$138
Travelocity$138
travelup.com$177
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,860)
Filter reviews
5,860 results
Traveler rating
3,185
1,923
497
139
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,185
1,923
497
139
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge marble lounge junior suite shinjuku station shuttle bus breakfast buffet diamond member excellent hotel complimentary shuttle busy hotel lounge access an upgrade narita airport business district hotel lobby mount fuji convenience store
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,642 - 3,647 of 5,860 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Japan is expensive so no shock there. However the Checkers buffet the most basic form of dinning in the hotel is outrageously expensive for a poor selection of luke warm tired looking food that was mostly fish based.

The staff seemed indifferent to the suggestion of a hot buffet being just that not warm and dry because it had been standing for too long.

Being made to wait for 8 minutes until the official check in time of 14.00 "Japanese system sir" is hugely irritating and just puts you in a bad mood!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your review and sharing you overall good experience at Hilton Tokyo.

Your comments on Checkers Brasserie and check in time is however concerning as I have never had anyone comment to wait the exact minutes to check in time. We always try our very best to get guests into their rooms as soon as possible and would never make guests wait a few minutes for check in time. This is definitely not the Japanese way, yes this country likes systems however service, common sense and guest satisfaction always takes precedence.

Checkers is also our most popular 'western' restaurant and has consistently high satisfaction ratings. I do apologise if you did not find the selection to your personal preference and will follow up with our chef to ensure temperatures are maintained at all times.

Thank you again for choosing Hilton and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed in Hilton for 9 nights starting from the 3rd of october, the staff were of great help and always served with smile. I got 20% discounts on dining and services for my long stay.

The bus service to the Shinjuku station was super and we loved the breakfast. I only wished if the pharmacy staff spoke english as I had difficulties getting some prescriptions.

Regards,

Hamed

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank-you for your great feedback! My team and I are so very pleased you had a great time in Tokyo and at our hotel.

Next time please ask any member of my team if you need assistance in the pharmacy. We do not operate this store and unfortunately the pharmacist on duty does not always speak English.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We treated ourselves to one night in what was billed as a top class Tokyo hotel and we were not disappointed. Everything from breakfast, to sports and spa facilities, to the deep muscle massage was exactly as it says on the tin, top class.

The room was spacious and comfortable with a view of the Japanese sunrise peeking through the neighbouring buildings.

The staff were attentive, courteous, polite and efficient without being overbearing.

The only thing that i could criticise it for is £11.50 for a half of lager, yes i did say HALF. but that may not be fair as drinks prices in every establishment throughout the trip were horrendously priced. Don't that put you off, its well worth the trip.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank T8984QPdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Your rating of 'Fabulous' really is well received and we thank you for your very complimentary review.

My team and I really appreciated that you enjoyed your stay and loved Japan. Next time you may find that an Executive Floor room may represent good value as breakfast, evening drinks/canapes and afternoon tea is included in the rate plus other benefits.

I trust you had a good trip home and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Arrived at the hotel at midday, very tired after a long flight from the UK.

We couldn’t find the hotel shuttle bus from the west exit of Shinbuku station and ended up getting a taxi from the station until we got our bearings.

To get the shuttle bus you need to go up a level and go left when exiting from the station, round the corner and look for bus stop 21. {Its easy to find when you have done it once}

Check in was a painless process and people at reception spoke very good English.

We were offered a room upgrade to a deluxe room on the 32nd floor on arrival for 3000 Yen for our first stay of 1 night. We already had breakfast included in our rate. 32nd floor was a good option as it was room with a great view.

The room itself was very spacious and had a big TV, mini bar/fridge. Also very clean.
The bed was nice and comfy and provided a good sleep after our long trip.
The bathroom was very clean and had a shower over the bath. Although a general criticism of all similar arrangements; why does the shower screen never seem to stop water going onto the bathroom floor?

Air conditioning is very quiet and the room itself was very quiet for such a large and busy hotel.

For alternative breakfast, SB is right across the road from the hotel next door to another well know American eating establishment.

There is also a 7/11 store directly across the road in underneath the Hyatt.

Would stay here again if could get a good room deal including breakfast.

Room tip: Breakfast is very expensive if not included in your room rate. Superior rooms on 33nd/33rd seemed to be refurbished when compared to floor 12.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkAddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for the great comments and I am glad our hotel was able to welcome you to Japan.

JR Shinjuku station is a very large station and to find our shuttle stop we suggest all guests take the West Exit to ground level and the stop is in fron of the landmark Keio Department Store #21.

From January 2013 all of our guest rooms will have been refurbished as we continue to ensure Hilton Tokyo remains as one of Tokyo's pre-eminent hotels.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in Japan and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerley

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our experience was excellent from the time we checked in (October 14th, 2012) to the time we checked out (October 20th, 2012). We were impressed with the overall cleanliness of this hotel and the hotel in general. The staff, especially in the Executive Lounge, were always very kind/friendly, polite, eager to serve us, etc. etc. etc. The daily housekeeping of our room was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The staff at the Concierge desk were always very helpful and their tips and recommendations for places to go, restaurants, etc. were excellent/much appreciated. The staff of this hotel all work together in serving you, the customer, the best way they can - First Class service.
The location of the hotel is pretty much in Central Tokyo. It is easy access to the subway which is very efficient. We would take a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the Nishi Shinjuku subway station to go anywhere in Tokyo. They also have a Hilton shuttle bus to and from the hotel to Shinjuku Station. The best way to get here from Narita is by Bus - a cost of 3000 YEN ($37) each way/person. It takes about 1 1/2 to 2 hours to or from Narita. Also take in the Tokyo Government Buildings (North and South Towers) close to the hotel - it is free to go to the 45th floor and get some excellent views of Tokyo. Tourist information is also located on the bottom floor of this building. There is good shopping in and around Shinjuku station.
The restaurants in the hotel are very expensive. Perhaps if they were to lower prices slightly they would have more customers. There are lots of choices in and around the hotel especially in the Shinjuku Station area which is very modern. Recommend JoJoEn restaurant in the Odakyu Halc on the 8th floor. A very enjoyable stay!!!!

Room tip: Taking a room on the Executive Floors includes a larger room, breakfast, fitness, afternoon tea, hor's de oeuvre/appetizers in the evening including drinks.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Your review title "Excellent Hotel" is so pleasing to a hotelier, and my team and I sincerely thank you for your detailed review on tripadvisor.

I will also have your comments translated and shared with all team members.

Our restaurants are currently impacted by the strong Japanese yen and the restaurant positioning/quality is upscale - however pricing is comparable with all other premium restaurants in Tokyo. We do however have great value lunch course menus in all outlets starting at JPY 3000 per person which represents good value for the quality of food offered. Our Marble Lounge and Checkers also have a la carte menus with meals for under USD$20. Alternatively as you mentioned there are many casual dining restaurants around the hotel where you can get a good meal for USD$10-$20 giving our guests ample choice. Our concierge is also able to direct guests to many restaurants as there are over 160,000 in the Tokyo metropolitan area.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews